ALL consolidated SMRT/NEL/KT.. simisai BREAKDOWNS here!

New_Atlantis

10 years ago was around 2006, back then our FTs open door policy, population still haven't fully increased yet, mrt surely is so much better. Think the problems in our mrt now is due to these reasons, poor maintenance, overly increase of population and the train system is not being built to cater such high capacity.

i notice since the LTA regulate the vehicles that use for ferry FW, many company has chosen not to do that any more but to ask the workers to take public transport. Hence you will see many of them using the bus and train before 730am (clash with the student and others) , this is because if they reach before 745am, some stations are free and the other at discounted fare.

Quite true, the upgrading works that smrt is doing now, they thought train will improve and breakdown will be reduce or no more after all these upgrade works have completed. But so far seems like they have not started in tackling the power fault problem, and maybe they are waiting for another major power fault breakdown again?!

Though smrt wants to follow HK mtr system, but now they want to follow Taiwan mrt system? Think smrt also don't know what they want ah?

you sure they dont know what they want..

they probably want to justify how to increase fares and year by year increment of revenue %

so they probably now looking for a better beachmark to follow suit so that next fare revision, they can proudly say we are on par with HK/Japan/Taiwan railway standards.. so Pass me the money to upkeep it.

HK MTR std too high.. They know they cannot make it so choose a easier target to hit..

The Singapore brand used to be widely respected around the world.. Nowadays, mrt here breakdowns is like usual.. Lifts breakdown after inspection also common.. Newly install glass at Newly open museum can shatter.. Lights up trees can go on fire..

What is happening ?? Think we better take a gd lookn ponder..

Have we lose our sight & mojo everywhere ? :(

you sure they dont know what they want..

they probably want to justify how to increase fares and year by year increment of revenue %

so they probably now looking for a better beachmark to follow suit so that next fare revision, they can proudly say we are on par with HK/Japan/Taiwan railway standards.. so Pass me the money to upkeep it.

Maybe you are right. No matter what upgrade works they are doing now, which mrt system they are adopting from, ultimately profits still their priority on the list. I would not be surprise in future they will collect back all the money from commuters that they have spend on the current upgrading works that they have done.

Maybe you are right. No matter what upgrade works they are doing now, which mrt system they are adopting from, ultimately profits still their priority on the list. I would not be surprise in future they will collect back all the money from commuters that they have spend on the current upgrading works that they have done.

Profit of coz must have la, but can't we learnt from investigation team that investigate aircrash, see how professional they are that most of the investigation they found the root cause of problem and then sent to Boeing or airbus to rectify it. Human error, they highlight and then the training programme will include on these kind of scenario.

But look what what smrt, lta had done? Investigation done and end up root cause problem not solved and still running headless chicken. How can? If these were the people who investigate aircrash, I believe now flying will be very unsafe as there are a lot of manufacturing defects, human error etc that causes the crash are not found yet.

Looks like it is LTA that cannot make it, so it leads to smrt also cannot make it. Since LTA is the one who administrate the whole public transport, smrt also listen and take cue from them.

LRT this time. Not too bad already....

See... We are lowering our expectations to meet THEIR standards liao...

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/smrt-cuts-ceo-desmond-kueks-pay-by-nearly-20

What's the point of the report?

Will commuters be happy?

I don't think even shareholders will feel happy or confident too.

One word: Wayang.

At that kind of pay level, the shortfall is even less than a "peanut" or to put it perspective, price of say a S400, that it. Buy next year lor...

He is still awarded the same amount of share by the way, and once the reliability improved,share rice increased, he will still Huat !

Edited by Carbon82

One word: Wayang.

At that kind of pay level, the shortfall is even less than a "peanut" or to put it perspective, price of say a Mercedes, that it.

That's what I thought so too.

Just 2 big fines from LTA will have exceeded the payout to Desmond Kuek.

Investors would rather hear what is the string of measures that will prevent major breakdown and minimise the probability of getting fined by LTA as well as not affecting the mobility of the nation.

No good then just change him out for someone to do the job.

Cut pay is just wayang!

I would recommend free ridership as the most rewarding bonus to commuter on top of fine from LTA. Afterall, the commuters are the ones who suffer the most in the event non-operational train service, not LTA, not CEO. IMHO, pay cut of its CEO is irrelevant to commuters. But it will be if the cut is given back to commuters in the form of ridership. He he he.... 

I remember over the radio something about a team going over to Taipei to learn problem mgmt from them, re MRT.

How many of you here were around in 1997 and remember the 'teething' problems of their MRT system.

Supposedly at that time there was public acknowledgement that we helped to bring their system up.

Wah the horrors of the Taipei MRT at that time. Really transparent news report onTV, I recall, after a thunderstorm, your light tubes hanging off the roof, equipment not working, misalignment. Jialat plus plus. I remember this because after the report, someone said to me that your country helped to develop...

Now, going back to learn? Good idea, it was a pretty mess back then. And if you know their culture, same la same la.

Who took the first public MRT rides in Taipei? Right here got one.

He is trying, come on. Be nice.

Edited by Datsun366

HK MTR std too high.. They know they cannot make it so choose a easier target to hit..

The Singapore brand used to be widely respected around the world.. Nowadays, mrt here breakdowns is like usual.. Lifts breakdown after inspection also common.. Newly install glass at Newly open museum can shatter.. Lights up trees can go on fire..

What is happening ?? Think we better take a gd lookn ponder..

Have we lose our sight & mojo everywhere ? :(

The answer so obvious. If they don't go for the cheapest bid u have citizen kpkb say eat money. Or carrot why spend so much. So now all lowest quote now all problem come in Lor.. What to do? Go for reliable but expensive brand will kenna left right center from citizen why any how spend.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/smrt-cuts-ceo-desmond-kueks-pay-by-nearly-20

What's the point of the report?

Will commuters be happy?

I don't think even shareholders will feel happy or confident too.

They don't really care abt commuters lah...

They only care abt their fat pockets ...

This year is lower as compared to last year... But still very high despite not really reducing the breakdown frequency ....

Anyway, after another 2-3 years, he will step down to pass the baton to another person, while he retires a multi millionaire

Go for reliable expensive brands like 2k bikes via questionable tender ? Or $500 office chairs can solve ? :)

Am not saying cheap or expensive is gd but need to be fit for appropriate purpose ... This tax payers $$ !!