ALL consolidated SMRT/NEL/KT.. simisai BREAKDOWNS here!

New_Atlantis

I don't understand why you all blaming the SMRT CEO leh.  He already made the following statement last year.    I'd say he's right on target.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/smrt-chief-desmond-kuek-apologises-for-train-disruption-promises-better-train

"We can shorten our mean time between failures, we can step up our maintenance regime and intensify the amount of maintenance checks that we do on a regular basis but it will still not be able to 100 per cent catch every one of this potential faults that can take place especially when the system is at the age that it is," he explained.

awesome, looks like KPI met, bonus 100% on target 

I don't understand why you all blaming the SMRT CEO leh.  He already made the following statement last year.    I'd say he's right on target.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/smrt-chief-desmond-kuek-apologises-for-train-disruption-promises-better-train

"We can shorten our mean time between failures, we can step up our maintenance regime and intensify the amount of maintenance checks that we do on a regular basis but it will still not be able to 100 per cent catch every one of this potential faults that can take place especially when the system is at the age that it is," he explained.

Increasing maintenance checks only places a Band-Aid on symptoms.  Desmond's job was to find and hire the right people to discover and resolve the underlying issues. 

I guess he outsources his thinking.  [laugh]

Beijing and Shanghai Metro quite old and goes longer distance, got repeated breakdowns boh ? Perhaps they don't need PRC trains, but PRC CEO and MOT.

beijing-subway.gif

Ya, I was in Guangzhou for 5 days recently. Everyday, I took their Metro several times. I don't encounter any delay, deruption, etc. In my opinion is not d weight of d trains. Is just tat our train system is operated by commercial companies to make profit. So, very minimal is spend on preventive maintenance or replacing essential parts. In short, cut corners. Best option is d running of d trains should go back to govt.

Our world class MRT is getting more reliable. :a-fun:

nbzzz correct  what....it is breaking down reliably...  [lipsrsealed]  [rolleyes]

how come power shutdown, fare gantry no breakdown?

13096079_224333271268598_147714022137426

Because we are efficient and fair in collecting money from everyone who uses a service?  [laugh]  :a-fun:

i kana stuck ccb khaw

hahahahah...see lah...disturb me summore lah.....next time walk oso you kena...kekeke

Tissue papers to wipe the sweat on our foreheads? :D

Or to wipe the tears from our eyes due to discomfort? :D

Hahha true true ... very hot u know if no airconn inside . And u notice there is no bin in the station . Tears of betrayed may drop for some .

You really smrt ... i mean smart.

The cleaner aunty also must be cursing under her breath..... got to clean off the hand prints and saliva stain after that... sianz

$_19.JPG

16846516.JPG?itok=1UfDW5GA

Cow scare chewren

From my engineering experience with vessels, they dont work this way. We have four sets of power supply but will not cut in just like that. Only emergency switchboard with be activated in case of power failure. Essential electrical equipment will be powered while you determine the fault.

It should never automatically cut in. It is like adding oil to a fire. Breaker already trip, you do not use an alternative power supply to power the breaker again!!! U have to find the fault, isolate the problem and then restore the power.

Just my two cents. :D

So it means whenever there is power trip/fault, no alterative plan can be done but only can wait and wait for the power to restore ar?! 

since they dun wanna copy HK MTR biz model, then it makes sense to nationalize smrt considering they own all the land ard d stations.

either that or cut their 2% dividend yield to zero n spend on more maintenance. Their operating cashflow up by $40M last quarter... obviously theyve been saving alot n not enough on maintenance

How to copy HK MTR biz model since our train system is already built like this donkey years ago. Unless they tear down the whole system and rebuild, maybe still have some hope?! Lol. SMRT has been trying to salvage the mess in their train system for quite some time liao, and yet it seems like not much improvement and hope for the train system, and think it is getting even worst! You can see that many of their breakdown are repeated cases, and yet not able to solve and allow it to happen again and again!

how come power shutdown, fare gantry no breakdown?

13096079_224333271268598_147714022137426

because :XD:  :XD: :XD:  

3.jpg

Sell rubber?

special rubber

those can melt one [sly]

Qik qik order more stocks. I am sure tis is not d last breakdown. As d cheng hu said more good years to come. Haha, I meant more breakdowns.

Third North-South Line breakdown in less than a week disrupts train service from Woodlands to Kranji on Tuesday morning

SINGAPORE - South-bound train service on the North-South Line (NSL) was crippled for close to half an hour early Tuesday (April 26) morning - the third time in less than a week that Singapore's oldest MRT line has suffered a disruption.

NSL operator SMRT said in a tweet at 6.31am that there was no service from Woodlands to Kranji stations, and advised commuters to seek alternative transport.

It said in a subsequent tweet that the breakdown was due to a traction power fault, while free public and shuttle buses were activated at affected stations.

Normal service resumed about 18 minutes later at around 6.49am, according to SMRT.

In its latest update at 7.20am, SMRT said some trains and stations were still crowded due to congestion.

In a statement on Facebook, SMRT apologised to commuters and said it was investigating the cause to determine if it was related to the disruption on Monday (April 25) evening. 

Tuesday morning's disruption comes less than 12 hours after a power dip caused an unprecedented breakdown of train services along three MRT lines and one LRT line, as the journeys of thousands of commuters were affected towards the end of the evening peak hour.

Along the NSL, stations from Jurong East to Kranji were hit.

Last Thursday, a stalled engineering train at Raffles Place station knocked out a stretch of the line from Marine South Pier to Newton for almost an hour.

How to copy HK MTR biz model since our train system is already built like this donkey years ago. Unless they tear down the whole system and rebuild, maybe still have some hope?! Lol. SMRT has been trying to salvage the mess in their train system for quite some time liao, and yet it seems like not much improvement and hope for the train system, and think it is getting even worst! You can see that many of their breakdown are repeated cases, and yet not able to solve and allow it to happen again and again!

err hk mtr model is that they own the land ard stations so that property rental etc will cover the train op costs. there is no need to tear any system, the solution lies in our garmen hands but they refuse to do so. Garmen can plan for this to happen but i feel nobody has the balls to bring this forward coz theyre so obsessed with GLS.

Edited by Duckduck