ALL consolidated SMRT/NEL/KT.. simisai BREAKDOWNS here!

New_Atlantis

Words of wisdom, from facebook.

To the world you are just a person. To a company you are just an employee. The day you resign, your work cubicle will be replaced. Your absence missed for a day then the company forgets you. They went on to make their money for they need to, and they have no time to grieve because of the expectations they have to fulfil. Occasionally they make mistakes and it may come with a price, you have to pay.

This is why, my friends, do not mix work with family. Do not take your work home, cast your family aside and forget about giving time to your children. Because in their hearts you are never replaced, because when you are gone, everyday you will be missed. If anything happen to you, it will be your family and friends crying like crazy for you. Because to them, even though you are just one person, you are their world.

So reset your prorities. Be a good worker but be a better father/mother/friend/daughter/son. #heartbreak

That's why its best to be self-employed. Take care of your ownself. Work/life is up to you.

Self-employed is not as rosy as it seems. I am in a SME.

Not only have to worry about profit and operations, also have to worry about customers, workers, suppliers and customers.

If 3 of them already reached the junction box and ready to open it, and maybe 2 of them were standing near or on the track, it does make some sense why the train hit them liao. I always thought all of them were still walking single file along the walkway towards the box, and then the train hit the 2nd and 3rd guy?!

Could be the train being on auto-pilot switched track and headed towards the men, some being on the track due to too many people and did not stop in time.

Self-employed is not as rosy as it seems. I am in a SME.

Not only have to worry about profit and operations, also have to worry about customers, workers, suppliers and customers.

Yeah. But how you allocate your time is up to you ma. And if you work hard, it benefits you directly. In a company, work hard doesn't mean sure get rewarded one.

My senior colleague told me this when I start work in the company. Do your job as best as you can but don't put yourself in harm's way to do the job. Cause if any thing untoward happens, the company ain't gonna grieve for you & will just get another person to replace you.

"Nobody is indispensable"

yeah, words of wisdom indeed, that's y i quit being a workaholic some months back

time to ownself sayang ownself :D

Ownself sayang ownself? :grin:

Last time I used to work hard and deliver

Then a wise old colleague told me:

Bro, you know who is the most well paid footballer?

I said: the top striker lor

He said: no, it's the..........

The most handsome one :grin:

deaths BEFORE operation and DURING construction in areas like Bishan, Yishun were there.

that is why those stations, need particualr attention at night and August.

U know this type of info the best.....

How to resign? where can they go?

Still got mortgage, kids, parents

Hard lah

Most will just suck it up and continue

This is why last time Goh CT got say actively disengaged people

They write email to the CEO to F him upside down and Cc to Khaw.

So how fast was the train going and were the train emergency brakes applied.  If not did the driver see anybody on the track?

So how fast was the train going and were the train emergency brakes applied. If not did the driver see anybody on the track?

He did apply e-brake but looking at the photo, the driver has little time to respond, the track change was about 20-30my away from the junction box. The driver probably doesn't know which track the station put him on.

And if you work hard, it benefits you directly.

i wish that were, but its not since most entrepreneurs fail. wat u read in media are success stories, almost zero reports on startups closing down, which is v oftern

The writer suggested smrt re-look its company culture? I thinking by the time smrt can really solve their company culture, don't know how many more incidence or major things could happen already?!

I think very difficult to change company culture. I know of a company that has tear report culture. If the manager not happy with your report, he will physically tear the report into half or tear the pages out and throw it into the bin. Then shout at you till the whole office can hear what you did wrong.

After 10yrs, change of manager/directors a few times, I still hear the same thing happening at that company. Employee turnover rate pretty high over there.

I think very difficult to change company culture. I know of a company that has tear report culture. If the manager not happy with your report, he will physically tear the report into half or tear the pages out and throw it into the bin. Then shout at you till the whole office can hear what you did wrong.

After 10yrs, change of manager/directors a few times, I still hear the same thing happening at that company. Employee turnover rate pretty high over there.

It means the manager who started this tear report culture still in the company after so many years? That's why very difficult to change this culture?

That manager left already. A few who replaced him have the same doing. Coming from the same country, South Asian.

The article suggests that former CEO Saw under invested in maintenance. Why still blame her? Kuek has been with SMRT since 2012 and that's nearly 4 years. So to say 4 years not enough to invest more in maintenance? Utter rubbish.