RadX Moderator March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 *remark: no death of smrt personnel but many jumper okok OPERATIONAL deaths ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 see, run by civilian boh taijiDon't need do maintenance of cause no one die. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 despite Saw the civilian's gross incompetence, no staff ever died under her watch, after general Desmond brought his SAF culture into MRT, 2 men died under his watch If they heck care about maintenance and don't do anything, of course less chances of an accident like that lah. The more you do, the more risks you take what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 yes! no deaths SInce operation in 1987 Maybe no major deaths since operation in 1987?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 If they heck care about maintenance and don't do anything, of course less chances of an accident like that lah. The more you do, the more risks you take what. breakdowns were no less infrequent under Desmond Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 If they heck care about maintenance and don't do anything, of course less chances of an accident like that lah. The more you do, the more risks you take what. less chance of maintenance accident but more chance of operational accident? imagine the signalling junction cock up due to lack of maintenance, 2 trains head on collision, which one more jialat? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 less chance of maintenance accident but more chance of operational accident? imagine the signalling junction cock up due to lack of maintenance, 2 trains head on collision, which one more jialat? I am not saying that I prefer more chances of operational accident. My point was in response to your comment that under Saw, there were no deaths. Therefore, all I am saying is that if they don't go all out to ensure that maintenance is done properly, they won't risk much in terms of such accidents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 Maybe no major deaths since operation in 1987?! deaths BEFORE operation and DURING construction in areas like Bishan, Yishun were there. that is why those stations, need particualr attention at night and August. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 deaths BEFORE operation and DURING construction in areas like Bishan, Yishun were there. that is why those stations, need particualr attention at night and August. hmmmmm at nite did you had a hand in making it happen 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 I am not saying that I prefer more chances of operational accident. My point was in response to your comment that under Saw, there were no deaths. Therefore, all I am saying is that if they don't go all out to ensure that maintenance is done properly, they won't risk much in terms of such accidents. I didn't know he and goldbug are same person. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 hmmmmm at nite did you had a hand in making it happen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 breakdowns were no less infrequent under DesmondThat's the result of Decades Long poor maintenance.Not that I like or support Desmond, but facts remains as facts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 That's the result of Decades Long poor maintenance. Not that I like or support Desmond, but facts remains as facts. take over so long liao still never rectify? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 take over so long liao still never rectify?you not engineering train?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 take over so long liao still never rectify?Singapore train run at least from 6am to 1am, the window where the real maintenance work can be done is so short, that's why taking so long. But the problem is, the commuters couldn't wait, so while long term maintenance like changing of sleeper is being done gradually, many short term fix also have to do. With so little time every night, this is challenging. Empress Saw really create a big hole for the current and any future CEO of smrt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 (edited) Singapore train run at least from 6am to 1am, the window where the real maintenance work can be done is so short, that's why taking so long. But the problem is, the commuters couldn't wait, so while long term maintenance like changing of sleeper is being done gradually, many short term fix also have to do. With so little time every night, this is challenging. Empress Saw really create a big hole for the current and any future CEO of smrt. A big hole that never able to mend. Lol. Edited March 24, 2016 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count_duku 4th Gear March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 Straits times has an article with coworker's account, should be more accurate than the initial media releases : They had been "best buddies". But the friendship between two SMRT maintenance staff came to a tragic end on Tuesday when Mr Muhammad Hatin Kamil saw Mr Nasrulhudin Najumudin killed by a train as they went to inspect the track near Pasir Ris MRT station. It was the first time 24-year-old Mr Hatin and 26-year-old Mr Nasrulhudin were on the tracks during the day. The trainees joined the train operator only in January. They were part of a 15-strong team sent to investigate a possible fault after high voltage was detected from a point machine there, said Mr Hatin. They walked in single file, with Mr Nasrulhudin and Mr Muhammad Asyraf Ahmad Buhari, 24, second and third in line respectively behind a supervisor. Mr Hatin was the fifth person. To reach the point machine, Mr Hatin told The Straits Times, the group had to cross the third rail supplying power to trains - which was still live - to get on the track. "We didn't realise that there was a train coming towards us from this second track, going to our track, the first track," he said. "After I put my foot over the rail my senior technical officer behind shouted: 'Train is coming! Train is coming!'" Mr Hatin saw the train nearing and his friend running towards the sidewalk. Mr Hatin quickly put his foot back on the walkway and hugged the railing. SMRT says safety procedure to stop train not followed in accident that killed 2 staff at Pasir Ris Relatives and friends gather to bid a final farewell to Mr Asyraf. The body of Mr Nasrulhudin being brought to the burial plot at a Muslim cemetery in Lim Chu Kang yesterday. Nearly 500 turn up at cemetery to say goodbye to 2 SMRT staff killed in train accident CLOSE FRIENDSHIP He was my best buddy. He was my everything... my work buddy. We worked nights together...ate breakfast at4am together. MR MUHAMMAD HATIN KAMIL, on Mr Nasrulhudin Najumudin When he took a second to check on Mr Nasrulhudin, he saw the trainee crushed by the train. But Mr Nasrulhudin was not the only casualty. Mr Hatin said: "Aysraf's body flew over behind me, like 5m away." The supervisor walking in front of them avoided the train by jumping onto the walkway and squatting. "This happened right in front of my eyes," said Mr Hatin. "I couldn't think. I went back to the platform, I couldn't do anything." No one knew a train was coming, he recalled. "Our environment up there is different - you wouldn't be able to hear the train coming," he explained, adding that their supervisor had not said anything in the moments before the accident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 Singapore train run at least from 6am to 1am, the window where the real maintenance work can be done is so short, that's why taking so long. But the problem is, the commuters couldn't wait, so while long term maintenance like changing of sleeper is being done gradually, many short term fix also have to do. With so little time every night, this is challenging. Empress Saw really create a big hole for the current and any future CEO of smrt. Saw needs to shoulder her share of blame for the situation, but she is not the sole culprit, though I'm sure many in the establishment would LLLUUURRRVVVV to have that idea planted deeply in the public mind. However, Desmond and his backers doesn't deserve any slack or excuses at all. Putting a serving General and his team in charge of a listed transport Co facing serious engineering problems cannot be called a "commercial" decision... not sure it can even be called "rational". ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...