Ford S-max ecoboost version

Lycanthrope

Visited the RM showroom a few days after the Motor Show, and heard from the SA that the indicative pricing for the new S-Max is at $180K (was shown the red unit).

The reason for their pricing (offered by the SA) was due to price controls set in by Ford and that the new S-max has a high OMV of $37K (due to pano. roof, ventilated seats, buttons to fold down/up 2nd/3rd row seats etc).

Told the SA straight in the face that the S-Max will not move at $180K as people rather buy the BMW 2 GT (was going at about $150-60K then) with change to spare.

That said, the new S-Max is a notch up from the previous version, but RM needs to price themselves right. Given current COE levels, a pricing of $130K thereabouts will be more realistic.

Kia sorento 4wd diesel with omv of 37k, whatever bells and whistle selling at 150++K.

I really like to see who pays 180k for the S-max.

Kia sorento 4wd diesel with omv of 37k, whatever bells and whistle selling at 150++K.

I really like to see who pays 180k for the S-max.

180k for smax is crazy. Not worth it imo. People will rather buy full size mpv like Alphard or go for brand like BMW 2GT which is cheapee eventhough it is smaller.

Visited the RM showroom a few days after the Motor Show, and heard from the SA that the indicative pricing for the new S-Max is at $180K (was shown the red unit).

The reason for their pricing (offered by the SA) was due to price controls set in by Ford and that the new S-max has a high OMV of $37K (due to pano. roof, ventilated seats, buttons to fold down/up 2nd/3rd row seats etc).

Told the SA straight in the face that the S-Max will not move at $180K as people rather buy the BMW 2 GT (was going at about $150-60K then) with change to spare.

That said, the new S-Max is a notch up from the previous version, but RM needs to price themselves right. Given current COE levels, a pricing of $130K thereabouts will be more realistic.

Agree. Pricing at 130k is unrealistic for a Ford full size mpv. But 180k will simply kill S Max from the market.

I doubt they will bring in the s max. C max grand brought in since car show in January... And yet no official launch :huh:

yesterday ST got review C-Max leh, and oso up on Regent's website, so should be launched liao bah?

i'll be a happy camper if RM would just bring in the 1.5L ecoboost Focus... the local agent doesn't seem interested in generating any sales with slow response to bring in newer engines. 

I am seriously considering the 2011 Galaxy ecoboost but was warned by my regular workshop guy that the model is plague with several big ticket issues ... power steering pump, fuel pump, and the dual clutch auto transmission.

Can any former owner verify if that's true.

Thanks!

Hi all, I'm a new owner of a S-max (2011)...Need to check if any of you faced with an error code p1934 before? It's the Vehicle Speed Sensor...Appreciate your sharing. Thanks in advance.

same for me, 2011 S Max i am thinking about too.'

Anyone owns the 2011 Ford S-max? I would like to find out the fuel consumption & reliability of the engine & gearbox. Has anyone changed the head unit to monitor type? Also can the ECU be tuned? I have registered in the ford forum but has not gotten the approval from the admin after 1 week, is the forum still active? Thanks in advance for any input.