Privatised Public Transport Failed to Meet SG's Needs

Mustank

Buy new bus use tax payer $, LTA buy new MRT trains for SMRT also use tax payer $, yearly profit earn from tax payers. Tax payers pay for the transport equipments and r charge for using it. Really double whammy for the tax payers.... :wacko:

hard lah.....the boss wanna ram up the transport infrstructure but the 2 car kia say no marnie [:p] , boss bo pian ownself chut lui :ph34r:

dont understand y govt must buy the buses for them. they r profit driven, n yet, govt help them to buy buses...with OUR money.

and the best part is ALL profits from those buses goes into private pocket and not public pocket. IF they commit ALL profits from those buses goes into a fund in repairing the road or bus stop or blablabla which in turn improve the service, i think it make more sense but current situation is like my boss give me 1mil to go casino and i got to keep the capital and winning as well and the best part is the money is not from boss's own pocket but his public listed company.. uniquely singapore.... boleh land no figth this round...... [laugh]

If it is left to the two operators, they will not be able to gear up at the pace the Government wants. You need intervention to fast- track that process.

If the privatised public transport model cannot meet SG's needs, then can they be nationalised? I think obviously not.

Why should we taxpayer be funding the buying of buses when those companies are earning millions? I don't get it. If those companies are unable to keep pace, then don't let them increase bus fares. Make them wake up their idea.

When they are fined for bad service, only a few hundred thousands but when government gives, it's in millions and millions. WTF! <_<

hard lah.....the boss wanna ram up the transport infrstructure but the 2 car kia say no marnie [:p] , boss bo pian ownself chut lui :ph34r:

Yep, profits are privatised while costs are socialised.

Where does all these $$$ for new buses are coming from? Of course from you and me lah. But when SMART and SBS are reaping in profits annually, they are of course not passed on to the commuters as they are a profit driven organisation. Knn, how convenient~ [laugh]

Why should we taxpayer be funding the buying of buses when those companies are earning millions? I don't get it. If those companies are unable to keep pace, then don't let them increase bus fares. Make them wake up their idea.

When they are fined for bad service, only a few hundred thousands but when government gives, it's in millions and millions. WTF! <_<

Thebus companies millions earning cannot cope with the gahment projected expansion of the public transport infrastructure. The figure gahment put is billion, way beyond the capability of the the 2 transport company combine. But I also question why tax payer needs to pay. Since they privatise might as well go all the way to allow more private companies to join in the competition. More players means more buses on the road (although may have duplicate route), and also mean more competitions.

Yep, profits are privatised while costs are socialised.

Where does all these $$$ for new buses are coming from? Of course from you and me lah. But when SMART and SBS are reaping in profits annually, they are of course not passed on to the commuters as they are a profit driven organisation. Knn, how convenient~ [laugh]

Bro, i afraid not so simple......why do you need so many more buses? i scared the open the flood gate bigger [crazy]

and i dare not imagine how jam its going to be with 800 more buses on the road within 5yrs.... looks like they have plan to reduce private cars in order to free up more space for those buses and we all know what does that mean.... coe huat ah... [shakehead]

That is one of the reasons. SG's projected population target is 7 million lea, while currently we stand at 5 plus million only. An additional 2 million population will contribute significantly to our GDP, so of course the billions invested in buses will be well justified. [laugh]

Second reason is to ease the complains and unhappiness of the current population, the incumbent cannot be seen as doing nothing mah~

and i dare not imagine how jam its going to be with 800 more buses on the road within 5yrs.... looks like they have plan to reduce private cars in order to free up more space for those buses and we all know what does that mean.... coe huat ah... [shakehead]

they probably roll out all kind of bus lanes for bus. time to upgrade to bus! [sly]

That is one of the reasons. SG's projected population target is 7 million lea, while currently we stand at 5 plus million only. An additional 2 million population will contribute significantly to our GDP, so of course the billions invested in buses will be well justified. [laugh]

Second reason is to ease the complains and unhappiness of the current population, the incumbent cannot be seen as doing nothing mah~

all better buy house buy car! [laugh]:D

dont understand y govt must buy the buses for them. they r profit driven, n yet, govt help them to buy buses...with OUR money.

what i think is going on is that govt is subsiding what the public operators cant afford.

remember is not 100% of the buses are govt subsidised.

only 2/3 is

Thebus companies millions earning cannot cope with the gahment projected expansion of the public transport infrastructure. The figure gahment put is billion, way beyond the capability of the the 2 transport company combine. But I also question why tax payer needs to pay. Since they privatise might as well go all the way to allow more private companies to join in the competition. More players means more buses on the road (although may have duplicate route), and also mean more competitions.

i think the bigger question now is what defines the role and scope of such "private operators".

i understand that they do not have to provide the capital required to build the infrastructure required to kickstart the transportation process. now they don't have to scrounge for the funds required to purchase the buses?

i really think this is a very weird business model. it is too good to be true. any bros played an old RTS game from the 90s called Transport Tycoon? it was published by Microprose and Chris Sawyer. There is an open ended mode where one can play in ideal conditions ie 4x subsidies, no competitors and no natural disasters. i made "alot of money" playing in this mode (who wouldn't?) and then the Budget announcement came along and my impression of ideal business operating environment was altered.

I think you can figure out the answer from ministars oreadi lah.

If we did not provide FREE buses to these operators, commuters would have to pay much more - $10 average per trip versus $1 per trip average currently. [:p] [:p] [:p]

I believe last time people complain why govt wants to control everything which was one of the reason why alot of things is privatized now.

But at least it is only being leased out so still got chance to nationalised back.

1) Allow for 3rd private bus company

2) liberalize the route planning. any bus company should be able to provide routes where they want to go.

Like bees to honey, they will go where the crowds are, and provide relief to congested routes.