Hyundai Avante 1.6A Maintenance Cost

BengGaBoy

agree with the rest advise that if your car is already running fine then no need to overhaul engine.. you can just do injector and throttle body cleaning.. will make a big difference in driving smoothness.

engine oil change every 10k and is good to change yr atf oil every 20k

my 08 avante mileage 175k.

Why need to overhaul engine even you want to renew coe for your car? I think car should be able to run well for another 5 years without any engine overhaul.

More like trying to craft a total cost of ownership for worse case scenario view if Coe is to be renewed likely for 10 yrs. So budgeting in the potential wear/tear components

So major repair items

- engine overhaul

-gearbox

So worse case scenario, renew 10 yrs plus repairing the above

Assuming Coe holds at 50k by end 2017

Renewal :50k

Parf rebate lost: 7.5k

Engine/Gb up lorry: 5k

TCO for worse case excluding minor wear/tear: 62.5k

TCO for new car eg mazda3: 110k less parf rebate: $103

More like trying to craft a total cost of ownership for worse case scenario view if Coe is to be renewed likely for 10 yrs. So budgeting in the potential wear/tear components

So major repair items

- engine overhaul

-gearbox

So worse case scenario, renew 10 yrs plus repairing the above

Assuming Coe holds at 50k by end 2017

Renewal :50k

Parf rebate lost: 7.5k

Engine/Gb up lorry: 5k

TCO for worse case excluding minor wear/tear: 62.5k

TCO for new car eg mazda3: 110k less parf rebate: $103

5 years renewal is better. Gearbox n engine unlikely to last so long

I won't say that the engine and gearbox won't last so long... actually I am confident that it will last so long... cos other than Singapore, many other countries run their cars for more than 10 years... so I am sure that your engine and gearbox will last as long as you take care of it.

5 years renewal is better. Gearbox n engine unlikely to last so long

My kia rio lasted me till 240kkm when sold and engine still smooth like butter. Gear box also ok. Just took the i40 or whatever that taxi is, uncle say 2 years old already hit 400kkm than he overhaul engine, gearbox still running fine. Overseas people consider overhualing when reaching 300kkm.

Since still smooth, never continue driving it?

COE up plus see a new love so change car. Maybe my love for the car not deep enough.

I won't say that the engine and gearbox won't last so long... actually I am confident that it will last so long... cos other than Singapore, many other countries run their cars for more than 10 years... so I am sure that your engine and gearbox will last as long as you take care of it.

My tots exactly. And the worse part is i can't find a new car to fall in love with. Call me old school but Avante is using proven design

4AT

DOHC

Mathematically the lesser the parts the lesser the chance of things falling apart.

While I love the new Mazdas, I'm adopting wait and see on the durability on their new gb and the high compression skyactiv engine.

And the new Elantra dun offer a big jump in my driving experience.

With my freq trip to jb, a hyundai Avante hardly attracts any thieves. Damn Coe. Lol

I think you'll find that having a 6-speed transmission makes a lot of difference to your fuel consumption... your Avante is already very fuel efficient. I think the new Elantra is even better. That's one point to consider. Also the pick up and cruising will be smoother and more powerful as well... some reasons to upgrade. But if you like your car keep it. I was really hoping to buy this Avante back then except for some stupid salesman who thwarted my plans... should have gone back my usual SE then... so end up with an Impreza. Not bad but the Avante is so much more refined lor...

This Avante is truly a very decent car for the money. Back then, compared to the rest of the competitors in its class, none has a 1.6l engine with 122hp. Not forgetting it has a rear multi-link suspension. It is also a low maintenance and reliable model. Spare parts is really cheap. With reference to original parts, an oil filter is only $6. A set of rear brake pads $58. A set of front brake pads $90 or so (if i recalled correctly). If u want more performance, just do up a proper CAI and RSChip. Its performance will be much better than even the latest stock Elantra/Avante.

Edited by Dinkydong

Totally. It's sets a really hi bar. Refined driving exp. decent soundproofing. Low maintenance. Was comparing Vios, old mit lancer and got Avante. Back then aunts, mum, frens all ask y hyundai lol. Then 3 yrs on they bought Avante also. Can see y it was once a top seller.

Did a mid life refresh and installed ice and 8 pt spkr with activ sub. Everything I need. Think 5 yr might b a good option if I hv concerns on wear tear of engine. At 15 yr mark should hit rd 300k.

I think you'll find that having a 6-speed transmission makes a lot of difference to your fuel consumption... your Avante is already very fuel efficient. I think the new Elantra is even better. That's one point to consider. Also the pick up and cruising will be smoother and more powerful as well... some reasons to upgrade. But if you like your car keep it. I was really hoping to buy this Avante back then except for some stupid salesman who thwarted my plans... should have gone back my usual SE then... so end up with an Impreza. Not bad but the Avante is so much more refined lor...

Can't beat the handling of awd! And very Zheng able!

My ride is 2008 model at 230kkm at current and still going strong with another 20 plus months to go. Probably will reach 300kkm when times is up. Totally agreed with bros as per stated that Avante is a all rounded car. Maybe is time for me to familize our bus/mrt routes..

Hi folks, I just bought a 2nd hand Avante. Car key remote still does not work after replacing the batteries.

Anyone encountered such problems? Hope u can shared with me where u get it fixed and how much it cost? Thanks..

on a side note, i got a hunch that a car's drivetrain might not last as long as we would like it to. may be deliberately designed to have certain useful lifespan taking into consideration biz sustainability concerns. with the use of new tech gearboxes like dual clutch, it may only last if significant maintenance cost is factored in. i'm oso not sure how those direct injection engines will end up after few yrs, as i recalled mitsubishi used to have gdi engines but few yrs later no sound. still rmb those fridge, tv n washing mc that lasted more than a decade? now these appliances' lifespan may be shortened by some 1/3 to 1/2.