15% inflation BkBt233 food center.

SimonTan

Today went to my favourite Chai Tao Kwey stall at Bukit Batok 233, the foodcenter with Botak Jones.

Just few days back one plate of CTK was $2. It was at this price for the past years. And I enjoy it once or twice per week on my mum-in-law place.

Suddenly today the stall holder increase the price to $2.3 per plate. 15% increase!!!

KNN.

Somemore today this entire food center become the FIRST in Singapore to implement the Health Promotion Board "Healthy Food" with less sugar, healthier oil, brown rice, etc.

I assume that the healthier oil that the CYK stall used is more expensives, and the carrot cake raw material is organic? Some more....this stall sign board claimed one plate of the CTK is only 160kCal( which I think. Is unbelievable low figure).

Haiz.....everything the gov does....gives the businessman reasons to inflate profits.

Today went to my favourite Chai Tao Kwey stall at Bukit Batok 233, the foodcenter with Botak Jones.

Just few days back one plate of CTK was $2. It was at this price for the past years. And I enjoy it once or twice per week on my mum-in-law place.

Suddenly today the stall holder increase the price to $2.3 per plate. 15% increase!!!

KNN.

Somemore today this entire food center become the FIRST in Singapore to implement the Health Promotion Board "Healthy Food" with less sugar, healthier oil, brown rice, etc.

I assume that the healthier oil that the CYK stall used is more expensives, and the carrot cake raw material is organic? Some more....this stall sign board claimed one plate of the CTK is only 160kCal( which I think. Is unbelievable low figure).

Haiz.....everything the gov does....gives the businessman reasons to inflate profits.

Talking about food. Recently noticed a lot of food stall standards dropped. Asked them they say because raw material prices had gone up and to maintain, they either had to increase food prices or reduce quantity or quality. Which one would you prefer? Lower quality/quantity or increase prices?

KNN.

Oh common, $2.30 for a good plate of CTK and you complained?

Just remember the hawkers are working hard to make ends meet, and with the rising cost, please spare them a though. $2.30 is damn cheap my friend.

Oh common, $2.30 for a good plate of CTK and you complained?

Just remember the hawkers are working hard to make ends meet, and with the rising cost, please spare them a though. $2.30 is damn cheap my friend.

Yalor.. Even $2.50 also hard to find nowadays...,$2.30 is cheap...

I did not check with the other stall.

One ahpeh sitting behind me, also told his kakis that the price has increase for his plate of CTK.

Not that I cannot afford or the stall cannot increase profit.

But the coincidence with the HPB certification of the foodcourst as a healthy choice is ironical

I think in sin,the inflations are still better than in malaysia.I've mentioned in another thread,their makan at least $3.20(penang and Ipoh)ringgit.Sin,u still can find $2.50 consider very good liao.

Weren't u asking where to buy viagra few months back? I

I am not rich. I just got a job after jobless for some months.

Money is tight.

Yes...I may be one poor miser.

I am not rich. I just got a job after jobless for some months.

Money is tight.

Yes...I may be one poor miser.

then take bus/mrt. better dun let us see you driving

15% increase is normal lah.

One Kopi O used to be 70 cents. Now is 80 cents. Increase of 10 cents. U convert it into %, isn't it 15% increase?

Don't be so alarmed.

And who says our annual inflation is only 5%???!

Yes...you remember well.

Only rich can buy Viagra?

Not sure your point is what.

Weren't u asking where to buy viagra few months back? I

I always reply in context, unlike most pple who anyhow shoot and run.

My point is that if money is tight, it's strange that ur spending priority is not enforced.

Anyway, it's ur life, just my take on it.

Yes...you remember well.

Only rich can buy Viagra?

Not sure your point is what.

I never complained its OUT of my budget or too expensive that I cannot afford.

I am just just statingr what happen this morning breakfast at the coffeeshop.

Please read my initial post again. Buying Viagra has nothing to do with priority over 30cents increase.

You assumed too deeply into my initial post.

Generally i dont tend to blame the stallholders.

Ask anyone doing retail and they will tell you that they are at the mercies of landlords nowadays who find any excuse to jack up the rent. This along with the rising prices of ingredients explains why these food stalls have to raise their prices

Yes.. it it the ever increasing rental rates that cause prices to go up..

Just take a look at some older hawker centres where the 1st gen hawkers own the stall.. the prices there are rarely high.. at most $2.50 to $3 for a decent meal... compare it with those hawker centres where the stalls are sub-let at rates of 1,000 or more.. the prices there would be much higher.

Just do some simple math on the rental cost per day and see how much profit the hawker muz make per customer and you'll know the impact of higher rental... I think we're heading towards $4-5 per hawker meal very soon when the govt stops rental subsidy..