BMWs & Mercs losing Exclusivity ???

HP_Lee

The M series and AMGs are still exclusive.

M series yes.

Not for AMG, as agent is selling mercs with AMG kits. Most S Class on road now has AMG logos and kits.

even though bmw, merc and audi are getting more and more common on the road nowadays, if I were to see a friend drive for example a merc I will still "wah merc sia".

Agree. They arel good cars.

I guess more ppl are able to afford cars between 200k-250k bracket. Thus E-class and 5 series are getting common now, even in HDB cp.

300K onwards u start to find them less common, such as 7 series, S-class, u mostly see them around in private estate or CBD area. Exclusivity is when the price exceed 500K bah, such as top end model of Merc and BMW.

My Blk below got 1 lady that drives BMW 730i and I was thinking, can afford to buy BMW 7 series, y still stay at HDB flat?? :huh: :huh:

Days are not too far away when we can find RR/Bentleys in HDeeB carparks :blink:

Not everyone like to live in big house.

Big house with Garden & garage is more effort to maintain leh. You buy Condo, size also not bigger, just got swimming pool, & gym facility.

Edited by Kiadaw

have you been to Monaco?

Yes. But as a tourist about 3 years ago once. I used to travel to Swiss and German for business

u hav to take into account more ppl prob taking long loan to buy them.

cos high COE let buying low OMV cars not worth feel.

Honestly, I am not sure. But I did heard recently, there are more delay in repayment of loan. The banks did not report where is delay repayments comes from. Could be Credit Cards, home loans or car loans?? For my case, normally I cap my car loans to 5 year only. In my opinion, it does not make sense of 8 to 10 years loan.

I think nowadays it's easier to take loan as compared to say 10 or 20 years ago. I recall in the past banks do a lot of screening before they approve of any loans. Now you get a lot of calls from banks on whether you wanna take up loan or not. Whether you can service the loan is another issue.

Agree with you. I have often know of people buy first and whether can service loans, comes later. Just have to do our sum and ensure you can pay comfortably throughout the 5 years loans period. My case is never let the car to be my financial burden and always be 1/8 of my salary as a safety buffer.

Edited by HP_Lee

When I moved in to my HDB estate 3 years back, there were probably 2-3 BMWs & Mercs.. And they are 3 series and E Class kind..

Now, there's an S Class, 7 Series, Audi RS5 and probably and handful of 5 series and E classes and A4s..

People are getting richer man..

they prob rent out a few private property, buy a resale HDB with high COV, every month collect rent and stay in HDB....

To begin with, who buys such cars as BMW or Merc to be exclusive?

Buy an Alfa or Skoda for average people and Bentley or RR for rich people, if you want to be exclusive.

I think some of our bros have miss-read my initial message. What I meant, is we are seeing more wealth people in Singapore who can afford cars averagely above $150k. It used to be an rich men cars. But no more in Singapore. Because, we are all richer how than 10 - 20 years ago. Now a days more Singaporeans know how to invest and become more wealth.

I wouldn't be surprise of my neighbor is a millionaire who leave in HDB today. I too, started off with little money when enter the workforce just after education. I and old friends around me have also grew richer through invest in private properties and other alternative investments.

they prob rent out a few private property, buy a resale HDB with high COV, every month collect rent and stay in HDB....

Please lah .... for your information, if have private property, buy HDB ....... must sell away the private property ..... unless dont use his/her own name ....