Vulcann 6th Gear February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 Caveat emptor. Sorry to hear that this old gentlemen had had a bad experience but he should have insisted to know the price instead of just relying on the owner's words. From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_767364.html Frequent visitor's crabby experience Published on Feb 17, 2012 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 I am happy to read such news. It shows that not all ang moh are big spenders. Also ang moh can be big loser whiner as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 17, 2012 Author Share February 17, 2012 As far as I recall, lobsters are always sold by weight. Why there isn't law to require all shops and restaurants in Singapore to clearly state all prices (including daily seafood prices) is beyond me. When GST was implemented, it was clear that prices including GST must be clearly stated, but I don't think we see them in restaurants (which also pays GST) or in some electronic stores which also claim to pay GST. I don't know if there is another consumer law here to enforce it, probably not. I think even with the new "Lemon" law which got many folks excited also cannot help this old man in this case. I think it is imperative for anyone, less those ultra rich ones or someone else will be footing the bill, to ask for the price before making a commitment to purchase something. There is no point to ah ka bin qi qi about stuff being too expensive when it is being delivered... Still, we continue to learn of such incidents happening. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 How about in restaurants that has menu without prices, then tell you "very cheap one lah, don't worry". actually if a person know the name lobster, he or she would also know the price is never low................cheap or expensive is subjective................asking for a per kg price is a more reasonable approach ............ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 17, 2012 Author Share February 17, 2012 (edited) Then I will say those who still go ahead to patronize it and then kena chop carrot head deserve it lo.. How about in restaurants that has menu without prices, then tell you "very cheap one lah, don't worry". Edited February 17, 2012 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 As far as I recall, lobsters are always sold by weight. Why there isn't law to require all shops and restaurants in Singapore to clearly state all prices (including daily seafood prices) is beyond me. When GST was implemented, it was clear that prices including GST must be clearly stated, but I don't think we see them in restaurants (which also pays GST) or in some electronic stores which also claim to pay GST. I don't know if there is another consumer law here to enforce it, probably not. mustafa got sell handheld weighing gadget (accurate to 50g +-)... can double check wt of lobsters also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 I am happy to read such news. It shows that not all ang moh are big spenders. Also ang moh can be big loser whiner as well. aiyo.. they are human also.. back in their home country, have u seen construction worker angmoh wearing shorts? my neighbor also angmoh.. in a 4-rm hdb. married a local auntie my boss angmoh also.. stingy like fug.. nice guy though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 17, 2012 Author Share February 17, 2012 In Singapore, I always find myself recce for decent restaurants before taking foreign guests and clients to eat .. if you bring guests, very pai seh not to eat. Pricing is one consideration, also need to consider their service attitude, and food quality. If bad attitude, bad service, they give Singapore a bad name. If chop carrot head, then they chop my head. But with Singaporean friends, I always recommend walking away. BUT, in other countries like Thailand and Malaysia, I usually find that their prices are more reasonable, even without price listing. I know where you are coming from: you do not want to embarrass yourself in front of your guests if you bring them to a joint that smacks of poor service & lousy food. If price is not an issue then there are quite a few reputable restaurants that offer excellent service plus good food. For me I will still inquire about the price in order not to have an heart attack later before ordering. Of course I would have done my homework before I even step into the joint. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 some local shops target tourists. not knowing some tourists are return guests. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 Haha.. not a bad idea. But then, they always include the weight of the shell. Another approach is to tell them, I only got $50, can eat lobster ? If the restaurant is decent, they will advice you on the weight you want i.e not more than 1.5kg. Also, they will bring it out and weigh it in front of you before cooking. There are even some with a huge glass window that you can look into the kitchen to see exactly what your lobster goes to if it pleases you. That, my friend, is transparency. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 no matter how huge it is, there is only so much of a part of a lobster tat is edible. but welcome to singapore, the top 10 most exp city in the world. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 Haha.. not a bad idea. But then, they always include the weight of the shell. Another approach is to tell them, I only got $50, can eat lobster ? good idea... best ownself buy fresh oysters and just steam or simple cooking..... no need to weigh even Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 no matter how huge it is, there is only so much of a part of a lobster tat is edible. but welcome to singapore, the top 10 most exp city in the world. outside japan, we are most expensive in whole of asia... free floods and MRT breakdowns are the only 'low cost' things... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 Yeah, hope for transparency, but rare in Singapore. Like I said, GST law actually requires retailers to display prices with GST, but not all restaurants are doing it. govt darent enforce.... scared of what? but enforce parking coupons 101%... not scared!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 I know where you are coming from: you do not want to embarrass yourself in front of your guests if you bring them to a joint that smacks of poor service & lousy food. If price is not an issue then there are quite a few reputable restaurants that offer excellent service plus good food. For me I will still inquire about the price in order not to have an heart attack later before ordering. Of course I would have done my homework before I even step into the joint. many highend customers eat/spend on company accounts, they dont care.... restaurants rely on them enough liao.... peasants customers they dont really bother, want to eat, must let them cut-carrot...?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 many highend customers eat/spend on company accounts, they dont care.... restaurants rely on them enough liao.... peasants customers they dont really bother, want to eat, must let them cut-carrot...?? yes.....that is it.....a truth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 outside japan, we are most expensive in whole of asia... free floods and MRT breakdowns are the only 'low cost' things... ya man...restaurant dining is very exp. last time my family could do $50per pax gathering meals, now its easily $60-70. seriously the ++ is damn misleading to the tourists, i honestly thk we and KL are the only 2 places in the world that practice this. i dun see such in the states, europe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 Just let these Boat Quay restaurants run out of business and close down lah... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...