If PM don't hold by election means kiasu?

Without_a_car

The Straits Times

www.straitstimes.com

Published on Feb 16, 2012

http://www.straitstimes.com/print/Breaking...ory_767123.html

WP has let Hougang voters down: PM Lee Hsien Loong

PAP chairman Khaw questions WP's 'sudden U-turn' in Yaw saga

By Janice Heng

The Workers' Party (WP) has let down the voters of Hougang in its handling of Mr Yaw Shin Leong's alleged extramarital affair, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Wednesday.

Mr Yaw was the WP's MP for Hougang constituency until his expulsion from the party on Wednesday left the seat vacant.

Under the law, the Prime Minister decides whether to call a by-election. Mr Lee said he would consider the issue carefully.

'Now, the Hougang SMC (single-member constituency) seat is vacant, as a result of what Mr Yaw Shin Leong has done, and the way the WP has handled the matter,' he said in a statement to the media.

Copyright

Edited by Without_a_car

Din know that you have to be in a party to be MP.

Thought there is an option of being independent?

Worker party expelled him but he did not resign from the parliament. Effectively, he is still the MP?

I think the longer PM drag the by-election, the worse it will make WP look. Its like telling hougang voters "see lah, go and vote for WP and this is the type of MP you got! now your constituency can't even function properly".

Sub-consciously, it can create this psychological thinking into the hougang voter minds.

Din know that you have to be in a party to be MP.

Thought there is an option of being independent?

Worker party expelled him but he did not resign from the parliament. Effectively, he is still the MP?

Cos when Yaw was elected, he was still representing WP instead of standing in as an indy. The voters voted base on the WP banner.

I think the longer PM drag the by-election, the worse it will make WP look. Its like telling hougang voters "see lah, go and vote for WP and this is the type of MP you got! now your constituency can't even function properly".

Sub-consciously, it can create this psychological thinking into the hougang voter minds.

If Hougang residents start a petition to ask for immediate by election and PM ignore how???

Having a quick by election now may not work to PAP's advantage. It may end up having back fire effect on PAP. The feedback so far from internet and news are showing positive support to WP and LTK for doing it right. The gound sentiment is still very pro WP.

Doing a by election now is like a 'bao su' thing for PAP. Giving WP another opportunity to wack PAP during rally speech on nation issues.

If Hougang residents start a petition to ask for immediate by election and PM ignore how???

bro,

dun fool yourself la

we are in Singapore,

since when a peition works here?

Having a quick by election now may not work to PAP's advantage. It may end up having back fire effect on PAP. The feedback so far from internet and news are showing positive support to WP and LTK for doing it right. The gound sentiment is still very pro WP.

Doing a by election now is like a 'bao su' thing for PAP. Giving WP another opportunity to wack PAP during rally speech on nation issues.

I will go sound the idea to the CEC to ask Hougang residents to start a petition to bring pressure on PM.

it is stated in WP website that they will have other memebers coming in to the MPS session.

in a sense hougang ppl did not support Yaw, they support WP

bro,

dun fool yourself la

we are in Singapore,

since when a peition works here?

the idea is for it not to work, so got ammo to shoot the PM for not being responsive to ground sentiment.

i was thinking

if Yaw join whichever other party,

and contest in the by election can a not?

for all u know nicole seah party also will come chap ji kar.

free for all to contest right?

althouhg odds for opp winning decrease with more legged fight.

the idea is for it not to work, so got ammo to shoot the PM for not being responsive to ground sentiment.

icic

very sneaky fella ar