QQDreamer 4th Gear February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 heard that geely will be shifting to alexandra road ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richard_Peh 1st Gear February 17, 2012 Share February 17, 2012 somehow i am reminded of DK Donkey Kong? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stooky 6th Gear February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 They may have entered the market with a bang six years ago, but the future of China carmakers looks bleak in the local motoring scene. The rising of COE prices made it almost un-economical to purchase these cars. With the current hike, the certificate would have cost more than the car itself. Records from LTA shows that Geely has experienced a sharp drop in new car registration, from 505 in 2007, to 178 in 2008, and down to 78 and 26 in the subsequent years. There are signs pointing towards the demise of Geely and Dong Feng in Singapore, notably, both brands did not register any new car last year. In addition, their showroom has been vacant, with the second storey taken over by Auto Germany, which is the new dealer for Opel cars. Exklusive Auto Services, the local authorised distributor for Geely and Dong Feng cars, has also been uncontactable since last August. http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/article.php?AID=5282 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 I've been seeing more Kia Sportage on the roads lately. When the new model was launched, the take up rate wasn't that good. But now, it seems that people have taken liking to the new looks. As long as your products are competitive, high or low COE sure sell. Hyundai is a very good example. Remember the Hyundai Matrix? That was launched when COE was around $30-$45k, with pricing as high as $86,888 [My teacher bought it new then, in YR2003]. People still buy it like hot cakes, even if it had a very high fuel consumption. Fast forward now, we would have thought the Elantra wouldn't be selling anywhere as near as hot as the Avante launched during the low COE period [Avante then was going from as low as $40k even]. Now the Elantra is going from $85k thereabouts, more than twice the price of the Avante, but it's still selling so well. So really, it's not about the COE price. If your product is really competitive [don't need to be good/ great], it'll continue to sell. May not be as good as low COE price, but it won't be as bad as you think too. Back then when it was around 2001 to 2003, korean cars consider quite popular. Many people buy korean cars, like the Accent, Matrix or even the Atos. Dont know whether because it was consider the cheapest car around if you compared with jap cars, that's why people buy korean cars? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Remin Neutral Newbie February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 geely now at alexandra road old mazda showroom Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 i thought its gone? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 Wrong. Cos they don't have competitive products to sell. The next I worry is Chevrolet. Haha. Hyundai and Kia are doing pretty well though. Chevrolet still can survive, next should be Suzuki, then followed by Subaru, then Misubishi, then Mazda, then Nissan, then Honda..., Jap cars only Toyota also can survive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newkidontheblock Clutched February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 Chevrolet still can survive, next should be Suzuki, then followed by Subaru, then Misubishi, then Mazda, then Nissan, then Honda..., Jap cars only Toyota also can survive im not a suzuki fan... but are u kidding me? i see swifts all over the roads and its popularity is only increasing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 im not a suzuki fan... but are u kidding me? i see swifts all over the roads and its popularity is only increasing It would be a laughing stock if suzuki (champion Motors) closed down. [laugh] [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 Chevrolet still can survive, next should be Suzuki, then followed by Subaru, then Misubishi, then Mazda, then Nissan, then Honda..., Jap cars only Toyota also can survive actually, subaru, mitsubishi mazda nissan and toyota can survive. subaru is under big backing(tan chong intl) same for nissan Mazda under trans eurokars(conti dealer) Mitsubishi under C&C(mercedes dealer) Toyota got lexus to back up. first to go is either honda or suzuki chevrolet will stay alive coz of the taxis Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 its near impossible to market mazda as a premium brand unless they market a super car or something like nissan which has the gtr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 (edited) its near impossible to market mazda as a premium brand unless they market a super car or something like nissan which has the gtr erm then what is the RX8 and MX5 for? not really super cars. but sporty Edited February 18, 2012 by Mllcg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 honda cars so expensive... but yet still got people buy leh.. suzuki? hmm just like any budget jap cars lor.. but still find it funny if champion motor were to close shop. [laugh] [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MadDog70 2nd Gear February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 SGCarMart also cannot find Geely brand liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 I've been seeing more Kia Sportage on the roads lately. When the new model was launched, the take up rate wasn't that good. But now, it seems that people have taken liking to the new looks. As long as your products are competitive, high or low COE sure sell. Hyundai is a very good example. Remember the Hyundai Matrix? That was launched when COE was around $30-$45k, with pricing as high as $86,888 [My teacher bought it new then, in YR2003]. People still buy it like hot cakes, even if it had a very high fuel consumption. Fast forward now, we would have thought the Elantra wouldn't be selling anywhere as near as hot as the Avante launched during the low COE period [Avante then was going from as low as $40k even]. Now the Elantra is going from $85k thereabouts, more than twice the price of the Avante, but it's still selling so well. So really, it's not about the COE price. If your product is really competitive [don't need to be good/ great], it'll continue to sell. May not be as good as low COE price, but it won't be as bad as you think too. It's not just the price, but the perceive value of the product at the point of time, Hyundai pricing strategy seems like to have the best bang for bucks. But the design and look really cannot last than 5 years. Maybe that's how they make people change cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eng40765 1st Gear February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 It's not just the price, but the perceive value of the product at the point of time, Hyundai pricing strategy seems like to have the best bang for bucks. But the design and look really cannot last than 5 years. Maybe that's how they make people change cars. "Seemed" best bang, thats right. Bought matrix in Jan 2004 as its seemed best bang, sold off at huge depreciation in 2007. Regretted as depreciation per year = Jap car per year. Not only the looks cannot last, maybe my standard too high, that car was falling apart. Hopefully, quality has improved since matrix days. The looks and interior definitely has improved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nf0rc3r 1st Gear February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 Gone for quite some time liao. Heard from friends that sales were so low (like only sell a few cars a month) that it has to close BUT if they have hold on slightly longer for COE to shoot skyhigh now, maybe they can survive What are you talking about. Its high COE that is killing them.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zesty Neutral Newbie February 18, 2012 Share February 18, 2012 government chased them out of the league =) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...