Helloworld99 1st Gear February 13, 2012 Share February 13, 2012 Did they move to Volvo showroom? Please lor...Wearnes Automotive nornmally distribute higher end cars. Not some cheapo China brand. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear February 13, 2012 Share February 13, 2012 Unlikely Mitsubishi will be gone. Its Lancer model is still a popular car here, and fairly reliable too. How is the Lancer popular when there were less than 5 Mitsubishis sold in January?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Refresher76 Clutched February 13, 2012 Share February 13, 2012 You working in Volvo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear February 13, 2012 Share February 13, 2012 Don't play play. Geely do have good cars. They call it 'Volvo'. haha.. you forgot.. good and safer ones also.. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greyminswift 1st Gear February 13, 2012 Share February 13, 2012 i think Chevrolet is struggling. Haha. Their product lineup only Spark/ Beat, Cruze, Orlando, Captiva, Epica. Cannot compete with Hyundai lah. See the number of Elantra VS Cruze and i45 VS Epica, you know liao. The Cruze seems to be faring well against the Cerato in terms of popularity. Chevvy registered 55 cars in January. But i must admit i got a shock when i sat in the Spark and saw the instrument cluster... One of the reviews even termed the instrument cluster "futuristic"... Chevrolet are doing quite ok too ( http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/lta/Corp...20by%20make.pdf ) I think next to take the exit is Suzuki. Yeah sad Suzuki only sold 5 cars in Jan. They need to bring in the Swift Sport soon, so that the current generation of Sport owners will gian and want to get the facelift! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear February 13, 2012 Share February 13, 2012 Drove past Geely showroom this morning at Ubi.... gone. The high COE really drove many agents to fold. Not surprising. At the rate if COE keeps going up, only the well to do can afford. There will be more luxury cars like Mercs, BMW etc. Not careful, korean motor companies maybe affected followed by Jap motor companies. At this stage, the number of BMWs or Mercs sold is more than Toyota becasue of the high COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eds Neutral Newbie February 13, 2012 Share February 13, 2012 The Cruze seems to be faring well against the Cerato in terms of popularity. Chevvy registered 55 cars in January. But i must admit i got a shock when i sat in the Spark and saw the instrument cluster... One of the reviews even termed the instrument cluster "futuristic"... Yeah sad Suzuki only sold 5 cars in Jan. They need to bring in the Swift Sport soon, so that the current generation of Sport owners will gian and want to get the facelift! Wun be gian as i dun like the shape of new SSS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 13, 2012 Share February 13, 2012 Yeah sad Suzuki only sold 5 cars in Jan. They need to bring in the Swift Sport soon, so that the current generation of Sport owners will gian and want to get the facelift! By looking at the current super high COE, how to gian even though the car design is nice and super power?! Now only the rich can afford to gian on the cars they like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greyminswift 1st Gear February 13, 2012 Share February 13, 2012 By looking at the current super high COE, how to gian even though the car design is nice and super power?! Now only the rich can afford to gian on the cars they like. Mabbe you two will have a different idea when you go for a test drive? haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iiiusion 2nd Gear February 13, 2012 Share February 13, 2012 Chevrolet are doing quite ok too ( http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/lta/Corp...20by%20make.pdf ) I think next to take the exit is Suzuki. SSS faster launch, last hope Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wubb Clutched February 13, 2012 Share February 13, 2012 Alpine Motors which sells Chevrolet and Opel will be taking over the ex-geely showroom at ubi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wubb Clutched February 13, 2012 Share February 13, 2012 How come newspaper didnt report Geely close down in s'pore?! So now left only one china make chery? got lah its in last saturday straits times Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear February 14, 2012 Share February 14, 2012 I've been seeing more Kia Sportage on the roads lately. When the new model was launched, the take up rate wasn't that good. But now, it seems that people have taken liking to the new looks. As long as your products are competitive, high or low COE sure sell. Hyundai is a very good example. Remember the Hyundai Matrix? That was launched when COE was around $30-$45k, with pricing as high as $86,888 [My teacher bought it new then, in YR2003]. People still buy it like hot cakes, even if it had a very high fuel consumption. Fast forward now, we would have thought the Elantra wouldn't be selling anywhere as near as hot as the Avante launched during the low COE period [Avante then was going from as low as $40k even]. Now the Elantra is going from $85k thereabouts, more than twice the price of the Avante, but it's still selling so well. So really, it's not about the COE price. If your product is really competitive [don't need to be good/ great], it'll continue to sell. May not be as good as low COE price, but it won't be as bad as you think too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged February 14, 2012 Share February 14, 2012 Drove past Geely showroom this morning at Ubi.... gone. The high COE really drove many agents to fold. Gone for quite some time liao. Heard from friends that sales were so low (like only sell a few cars a month) that it has to close BUT if they have hold on slightly longer for COE to shoot skyhigh now, maybe they can survive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged February 14, 2012 Share February 14, 2012 got lah its in last saturday straits times Sorry didn't manage to buy Sat papers... What did the Sat newspaper report about Geely? Can you give us a summary? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear February 14, 2012 Share February 14, 2012 I've been seeing more Kia Sportage on the roads lately. When the new model was launched, the take up rate wasn't that good. But now, it seems that people have taken liking to the new looks. As long as your products are competitive, high or low COE sure sell. Hyundai is a very good example. Remember the Hyundai Matrix? That was launched when COE was around $30-$45k, with pricing as high as $86,888 [My teacher bought it new then, in YR2003]. People still buy it like hot cakes, even if it had a very high fuel consumption. Fast forward now, we would have thought the Elantra wouldn't be selling anywhere as near as hot as the Avante launched during the low COE period [Avante then was going from as low as $40k even]. Now the Elantra is going from $85k thereabouts, more than twice the price of the Avante, but it's still selling so well. So really, it's not about the COE price. If your product is really competitive [don't need to be good/ great], it'll continue to sell. May not be as good as low COE price, but it won't be as bad as you think too. But with the high COE which affects the bread and butter man, can he afford ? If this category of people going for BnB cars cannot afford the COE, no matter how competitve the brand is that they still cannot afford to pay or buy. There is a budget for everything especially for cars. People more likely to go for resale cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear February 14, 2012 Share February 14, 2012 Then how do you explain when the Matrix was such a huge seller?? Same for the Elantra too. A normal 1.6L family sedan, but people will still change when it's time to or when they want to. Singaporeans are a bunch of people with tonnes of money. haha. Strange but true. *I'm not rich. I'm still a student. Haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wubb Clutched February 14, 2012 Share February 14, 2012 Sorry didn't manage to buy Sat papers... What did the Sat newspaper report about Geely? Can you give us a summary? basically the article just says that premium brand dealers are rebuilding and upgrading their showrooms, the report did not focus on geely closing down New Opel agent Alpine, which also holds the Chevrolet franchise, will start renovating a showroom it acquired at 7, Ubi Close, previously occupied by Group Exklusiv's defunct Geely franchise. 'We need to revamp the whole place because all the fittings are quite old,' said Alpine managing director Albert Pang. 'It will cost us at least $1 million.' http://cars.st701.com/resources/index.php?...hrinking-market ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...