How To Avoid Dementia.

2BDriver

When i went overseas last week, i drove to the airport T3 and met my parents there. They take over my car when i go overseas.

While my kids were finishing up lunch at the B2 food court, i brought my father to show him where i parked the car.

After i went past immigration, he couldn't figure out which floor the car was on and had to ask for help from the airport staff !!!  -_-:wacko:  :huh:

Just to add on. One of the signs that dementia is coming to us, that pertains to us drivers, is :

We cannot find the keys to house or car, and later find it in the fridge.

And we have no recollection of leaving the keys in the fridge means that short term memory loss and irrational behavior has started. Time to go for the memory exam and MRI for dead cells.

Later stages more jialat. There are sufferers who take bath fully clothed.  

When i went overseas last week, i drove to the airport T3 and met my parents there. They take over my car when i go overseas.

While my kids were finishing up lunch at the B2 food court, i brought my father to show him where i parked the car.

After i went past immigration, he couldn't figure out which floor the car was on and had to ask for help from the airport staff !!!  -_-:wacko:  :huh:

To be fair, some of the car parks really look the same so quite easy for anyone to forget where he had parked his car so not only older folk. That said, these days most of the cars parks have pillar markings but one easy way is to take a pic of the surroundings or pillar markings.

Once, I also lost my car at Vivocity [bigcry]  :a-panic:

I take photo of the carpark pillar every time.

To be fair, some of the car parks really look the same so quite easy for anyone to forget where he had parked his car so not only older folk. That said, these days most of the cars parks have pillar markings but one easy way is to take a pic of the surroundings or pillar markings.

no that's the funny part.

He knows how to walk to the car lot. He just couldn't figure out whether it was B1, B2, B3. Which could have been confusing if he was at say Departure and had to go down.

But we were at B2 food court and he took the lift with me to go to eyeball the carpark lot. So it's basically 50-50 (B1 or B3) and he somehow couldn't process it.

When i met him when i came back, he still blur about which level it was on! He said it was at B2 which was impossible. 

According to my mum, once he reached the correct level, he knew where the lot was.

refer to above. Haha it's not the lot position he was confused about.

I leave bread crumbs when I walk from the car.......

seriously even carpark pillar markings I have problem finding... some times walk round and round and follow the number count up cannot find.. the number like turn another direction but I keep walking in a straight line...

Vivo - This one took me 1 hour to find back my car. :a-confused:

Nearly died due to lack of oxygen. Quickly 'surface' up for fresh air, back track to my original entrance to reverse engineer the route to my parked car. [laugh]

My next car will be neon/luminous yellow, orange or green colour. :D No more ah pek silver or youthful black.

Edited by Kangadrool

Once, I also lost my car at Vivocity [bigcry]:a-panic:

Young man like you still lost the way to your parked car, I think I am condemned to leave my home sweet home liao..

Nearly died due to lack of oxygen. Quickly 'surface' up for fresh air, back track to my original entrance to reverse engineer the route to my parked car. [laugh]

My next car will be nean/luminous yellow, orange or green colour. :D No more ah pek silver or youthful black.

my wife once dated a guy who forgot where his car was in some carpark.

She felt he was so buay gan that condemn him after the incident  [:p]

Haha but nowadays, at our MSCP i also forget which level i parked at haha

My next car will be nean/luminous yellow, orange or green colour. :D

You spent 1 hour hopping to find your car in vivo?

I can only walking briskly and would spend at least one full day

no that's the funny part.

He knows how to walk to the car lot. He just couldn't figure out whether it was B1, B2, B3. Which could have been confusing if he was at say Departure and had to go down.

But we were at B2 food court and he took the lift with me to go to eyeball the carpark lot. So it's basically 50-50 (B1 or B3) and he somehow couldn't process it.

When i met him when i came back, he still blur about which level it was on! He said it was at B2 which was impossible. 

According to my mum, once he reached the correct level, he knew where the lot was.

refer to above. Haha it's not the lot position he was confused about.

Haha, sometimes the strangest things can happen [:)], aggravated by perhaps a state of panic can make your mind go blank but then again for your Dad abit strange cos even after the event he still couldn't process it!

Another situation which I feel can make us forget is when we are under stress be it work, personal, financial, health whatever cos worry in these situations can make us forgetful and blurr as well, sigh............

We've bought so many jigsaws over the years that we can change regularly.

She's very competitive doing them.

We put a clock in front of her and time her.

Or we challenge her to do them in one on ones.

I would highly recommend her to joining MCF forum and everyday read @Jamesc postings just to jig puzzle @Jamesc gender and his or her relationship with MIL.

@Jamesc had made world scientist hair looks so messy due to constantly scratching their head thinking about @Jamesc hidden agendas.

Edited by 2BDriver

Haha, sometimes the strangest things can happen [:)], aggravated by perhaps a state of panic can make your mind go blank but then again for your Dad abit strange cos even after the event he still couldn't process it!

Another situation which I feel can make us forget is when we are under stress be it work, personal, financial, health whatever cos worry in these situations can make us forgetful and blurr as well, sigh............

He probably has some early dementia liao.

He probably can still pass the mental test. One day, i go test him...

I only suffers dementia when bank statements asking for overdue outstanding repayments, so... You better don't lend me money.

Haha, I won't but maybe I'll borrow from you instead and hope you forget [laugh]

My next car will be neon/luminous yellow, orange or green colour. :D No more ah pek silver or youthful black.

Vivo car park layout quite confusing I feel and as it's big, quite easy to forget where exactly you park. Another confusing one is Raffles City!

@pinobii and me are still waiting for @enye chia us roost goose

Dunno who waiting for who dementia

Haha, I won't but maybe I'll borrow from you instead and hope you forget [laugh]

Vivo car park layout quite confusing I feel and as it's big, quite easy to forget where exactly you park. Another confusing one is Raffles City!

vivo carpark is bit confusing. I do understand it now, but initially very confusing how the 2 entrances to the carparks are linked.

Suntec to me, is the worst.

I have lost my car inside there before. But took me 15mins to find it.

Used to understand it then some renovations changed it again...

Yesterday was at suntec city "IT Exhibition" and the carpark flooded with cars, found a miserable lot then parked in and did a 360 degree camera bursting shot's just to remember the area, my wife said.. D, don't waste time, the glass entrance door's is over there, let's get in and mark the shop is very much easier!

I felt I am getting older than her day by day, sad!

Edited by 2BDriver