Stary Turbocharged November 9, 2024 Share November 9, 2024 (edited) I see there is a lot of post mentioning the importance of keeping our mind active during old age. That's logical and certainly helpful. But I think what is more important, and like all health matters, is to build and develop a good mental health foundation during our younger years. If someone is always easily angered/triggered, worried, stressed, depressed, OCD and fussy, etc...for 30-40 years, I believe his/her risk of mental health issues during old-age is going to be far more significant than someone who is positive, gracious, easy-going, contended, etc all his/her life, albeit there will always be outliers in every situation Edited November 9, 2024 by Stary ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic yesterday at 02:38 AM Share yesterday at 02:38 AM Trying to get my mum to accept dementia daycare services at the nearby center and getting a helper. She has zero insight of how reliant she is on my dad and the rest of us. Driving my dad mad. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged yesterday at 02:48 AM Share yesterday at 02:48 AM On 11/9/2024 at 6:45 PM, Stary said: I see there is a lot of post mentioning the importance of keeping our mind active during old age. That's logical and certainly helpful. But I think what is more important, and like all health matters, is to build and develop a good mental health foundation during our younger years. If someone is always easily angered/triggered, worried, stressed, depressed, OCD and fussy, etc...for 30-40 years, I believe his/her risk of mental health issues during old-age is going to be far more significant than someone who is positive, gracious, easy-going, contended, etc all his/her life, albeit there will always be outliers in every situation I may be wrong... a regular mahjong group should be very good. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged yesterday at 02:50 AM Share yesterday at 02:50 AM On 3/30/2025 at 10:38 AM, Lala81 said: Trying to get my mum to accept dementia daycare services at the nearby center and getting a helper. She has zero insight of how reliant she is on my dad and the rest of us. Driving my dad mad. Still early stage? As the "self" slowly disappears, eventually would accept 🤔 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic yesterday at 02:55 AM Share yesterday at 02:55 AM On 3/30/2025 at 10:50 AM, Playtime said: Still early stage? As the "self" slowly disappears, eventually would accept 🤔 She's already moderate dementia at time of diagnosis and worsening year on year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged yesterday at 02:59 AM Share yesterday at 02:59 AM On 3/30/2025 at 10:55 AM, Lala81 said: She's already moderate dementia at time of diagnosis and worsening year on year. Sigh... it's very hard on your dad to see a life long partner slowly "disappears". Must be careful 由爱生恨😬 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic yesterday at 03:03 AM Share yesterday at 03:03 AM On 3/30/2025 at 10:59 AM, Playtime said: Sigh... it's very hard on your dad to see a life long partner slowly "disappears". Must be careful 由爱生恨😬 She's already very difficult at times. My dad buay tahan liao. Of all the headaches in my life, this one far outranks everything else. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged yesterday at 03:12 AM Share yesterday at 03:12 AM On 3/30/2025 at 11:03 AM, Lala81 said: She's already very difficult at times. My dad buay tahan liao. Of all the headaches in my life, this one far outranks everything else. It's probably not appropriate to say it... I've seen how the disease progresses and it's a one way train. I tell myself I would NOT let myself... let alone my family go through with it if it ever happens to me.😑... personal choice. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic yesterday at 03:18 AM Share yesterday at 03:18 AM On 3/30/2025 at 11:12 AM, Playtime said: It's probably not appropriate to say it... I've seen how the disease progresses and it's a one way train. I tell myself I would NOT let myself... let alone my family go through with it if it ever happens to me.😑... personal choice. I keep telling her u will only get worse and worse. But it's like talking to a brick wall. Doesn't really matter one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic yesterday at 03:33 AM Share yesterday at 03:33 AM On 3/30/2025 at 10:38 AM, Lala81 said: Trying to get my mum to accept dementia daycare services at the nearby center and getting a helper. She has zero insight of how reliant she is on my dad and the rest of us. Driving my dad mad. It's very tough on the caregiver...even with a helper...have seen enuf around me...really no joking matter...can't do much about the fallen ill...do go with the best option of respite you may get for your healthier father...hope it wont be too prolonged a misery...best wishes...🙏😔 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged yesterday at 03:33 AM Share yesterday at 03:33 AM On 3/30/2025 at 11:18 AM, Lala81 said: I keep telling her u will only get worse and worse. But it's like talking to a brick wall. Doesn't really matter one. That could end up stressing her out no? When they get stressed, it get worse, like a hard disk insufficient space plus massive bad sectors liao still give complex operations to run. If at the stage of unable to hold memory, might as well just agree let them happy in their own here and now reality, don't argue, few minutes later forget anyway. 😔 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic yesterday at 03:37 AM Share yesterday at 03:37 AM On 3/30/2025 at 11:18 AM, Lala81 said: I keep telling her u will only get worse and worse. But it's like talking to a brick wall. Doesn't really matter one. It's normal...don't be too hard on yourself...even specialist can't do much...just play along and soothe their emotions as much as possible...they don't know any better...always take it as an outlet of their mood on their closest companion...there's no other way... Just enjoy the moments when she's better...she may not remember...but you and your other loved ones will... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic yesterday at 04:28 AM Share yesterday at 04:28 AM (edited) On 3/30/2025 at 11:33 AM, Playtime said: That could end up stressing her out no? When they get stressed, it get worse, like a hard disk insufficient space plus massive bad sectors liao still give complex operations to run. If at the stage of unable to hold memory, might as well just agree let them happy in their own here and now reality, don't argue, few minutes later forget anyway. 😔 how not to argue. everything major is No. Wu nai lor. Edited yesterday at 04:28 AM by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic yesterday at 04:42 AM Share yesterday at 04:42 AM On 3/30/2025 at 12:28 PM, Lala81 said: how not to argue. everything major is No. Wu nai lor. I always find dementia is some illness even worse than cancer. Seeing and taking care of a person that memory is slowly going away is not an easy path. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged yesterday at 04:48 AM Share yesterday at 04:48 AM On 3/30/2025 at 12:42 PM, 13177 said: I always find dementia is some illness even worse than cancer. Seeing and taking care of a person that memory is slowly going away is not an easy path. Can't imagine in the coming decades... those single child family how to cope with taking care of dementia parents. Also those unmarried ones who no children to be care giver. Who can have the time and money😬 Building cheap retirement compounds in JB is sounding like the only viable option. 🤦♂️🤷♂️ 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged yesterday at 04:54 AM Share yesterday at 04:54 AM (edited) On 3/30/2025 at 10:48 AM, Playtime said: I may be wrong... a regular mahjong group should be very good. Mahjong group will only keep the mind active. A positive & easygoing mindset, calm emotions that are not easily triggered, and a personality that is forgiving and can let things go easily will be important in developing a healthy mental state into old age. Edited yesterday at 04:55 AM by Stary 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic yesterday at 04:55 AM Share yesterday at 04:55 AM (edited) Was just reading an email from HPB on Vascular Dementia and went further to Google ….there seem to be OVER 💯 types of dementia it seems……. Damn scary man !! Edited yesterday at 05:24 AM by BanCoe 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic yesterday at 05:14 AM Share yesterday at 05:14 AM On 3/30/2025 at 12:55 PM, BanCoe said: Was just reading an email from HPB on Vascular Dementia and went further to Google ….there seem to be OVET 💯 types of dementia it seems……. Damn scary man !! Yes, vascular dementia seems like a common one...while our blood vessels tend to thin out during old age...it may not lead to stroke but...haiz...enjoy while it lusts...not sure if it's actually a good thing for those who have more bad than good memories...🤔 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...