BanCoe Hypersonic June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 On 6/18/2024 at 12:22 PM, mersaylee said: When my late father was diagnosed with early demantia...the doctor said it'd be either a gradual or steep decline from that point...medication was just an attempt to slow down the process if it worked... I could only hoped he had also forgotten all the misfortunes in his life journey all the way till our nation independence...nearly die a few times since young...survived several unrests...the war...the arrests...the covid...a true survivor...i can write a memoir on his life...but i guess no publisher dare to do it...zero record...all words from the horse mouth... I had the preface written in my head few years ago...now forgotten liao 😅 What was the name of the medications they gave him for Dementia ?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 On 6/18/2024 at 4:31 PM, BanCoe said: What was the name of the medications they gave him for Dementia ?? My mother was given this. Very expensive medication but I buy from JB pharmacy. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 (edited) On 6/18/2024 at 4:27 PM, BanCoe said: My mom’s going to be 89 in a couple of months time.......She was "reasonably well" until she had a fall (hip bone fracture) and after nearly a 1/4 year in hospital , things went south (all her comorbidities started acting up) and docs also gave up and said after treating her with so many strong medications with so many detrimental side effects because tying to keep the numbers correct or within baseline ...... Take her Home to Rest in Peace..... was the prognosis ..... now coming to 3 months and still surviving in a her own " switch off " World of complete darkness.... an abyss.... Totally understand what you meant. It’s depressing actually. Not to mention clearing pee and shit, feeding, dealing with bed sores, etc. Edited June 18, 2024 by Fcw75 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 (edited) On 6/18/2024 at 12:19 PM, 13177 said: Forgetful and dementia, many times i also cannot tell the difference. Esp the tell tales sigh too early to conclude. 😅 Looks like nowadays dementia is something even more scary than cancer. As some cancer still can be curable, but once you got dementia, not curable at all and the journey of suffering is very long. It’s a sickness of the brain. It’s like you have a desktop with working parts but a spoilt CPU chip. Edited June 18, 2024 by Fcw75 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 (edited) On 6/18/2024 at 4:31 PM, BanCoe said: What was the name of the medications they gave him for Dementia ?? Like I'd remember liddat...maybe i should have taken some for myself...😂 Edited June 18, 2024 by mersaylee 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 (edited) On 6/18/2024 at 4:47 PM, Fcw75 said: My mother was given this. Very expensive medication but I buy from JB pharmacy. Actually generic donezepil is not expensive (subsidised merdeka). I paid around $5.25 for 70 tabs. This is the original brand. Not sure what the EVESS means. My mum is currently taking 10mg. KIV add memantine after this review. Edited June 18, 2024 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 On 6/18/2024 at 4:52 PM, Fcw75 said: It’s a sickness of the brain. It’s like you have a desktop with working parts but with a spoilt CPU chip. Haha never thought about it that way. More correctly would be hard disk cannot store any new information and is slowly being corrupted. Everything is held in RAM and the RAM is shrinking too. So you ask them to do something. They can't store it, it just ends up somehow deleted in the process. Often they end up doing something half way and forgot what they are doing. They keep checking back cos they really can't remember what they last did. For the more able ones, they are constantly in a loop of being surprised by what they are doing now, what they are supposed to be doing next. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 On 6/18/2024 at 3:01 PM, 13177 said: Actually i not bad in memorsing things, but only recent years getting more and more forgetful, so scare i might get dementia soon. 😅 You seems to have every problem on the topic of discussion. 😅 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 (edited) On 6/18/2024 at 3:22 PM, Sosaria said: As far as our middle age group is concerned, it's not really dementia that makes us forgetful. It's mainly our cluttered minds these days with so many multi tasks, instant messages, e-mail..... If going by the standard of the 70s and 80s or even 90s speed of working then we won't appear to be so forgetful as things move at "human pace" in those days. That's why I am always in the process of decumulating and minimising....the less things I have, the less to maintain and store, the less things to worry about and hence, more bandwidth for the brain to focus on things that matter to me. But to do that, one must learn to detach from material things. Also, not having social media accounts to distract me helps a lot. Edited June 18, 2024 by Stary 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 On 6/18/2024 at 5:31 PM, Lala81 said: Haha never thought about it that way. More correctly would be hard disk cannot store any new information and is slowly being corrupted. Everything is held in RAM and the RAM is shrinking too. So you ask them to do something. They can't store it, it just ends up somehow deleted in the process. Often they end up doing something half way and forgot what they are doing. They keep checking back cos they really can't remember what they last did. For the more able ones, they are constantly in a loop of being surprised by what they are doing now, what they are supposed to be doing next. To me, it’s like her brain is busted but her organs like heart, lungs, liver, digestive system are still working. 😬 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 On 6/18/2024 at 5:36 PM, Ender said: You seems to have every problem on the topic of discussion. 😅 Since young i am a problematic kid, even until old liao still a problematic ole. 🤣 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 On 6/18/2024 at 3:01 PM, 13177 said: Actually i not bad in memorsing things, but only recent years getting more and more forgetful, so scare i might get dementia soon. 😅 hmmmm.... but that disease doesnt take years to start right? once it comes, its rather fast ... 🤔 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 On 6/18/2024 at 6:05 PM, Fcw75 said: To me, it’s like her brain is busted but her organs like heart, lungs, liver, digestive system are still working. 😬 sometimes i wish we could have some AMD... just give some nice morphine...... im a strong beliver that life is about living... if i am not "living" anymore, let me log out. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 On 6/18/2024 at 6:07 PM, 13177 said: Since young i am a problematic kid, even until old liao still a problematic ole. 🤣 Give or cums with problem? 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 On 6/18/2024 at 5:31 PM, Lala81 said: Haha never thought about it that way. More correctly would be hard disk cannot store any new information and is slowly being corrupted. Everything is held in RAM and the RAM is shrinking too. So you ask them to do something. They can't store it, it just ends up somehow deleted in the process. Often they end up doing something half way and forgot what they are doing. They keep checking back cos they really can't remember what they last did. For the more able ones, they are constantly in a loop of being surprised by what they are doing now, what they are supposed to be doing next. I wonder if a hard CAD reset would help...macam induce coma then AED the brain to jumpstart brain battery liddat 😅 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 On 6/18/2024 at 6:44 PM, mersaylee said: I wonder if a hard CAD reset would help...macam induce coma then AED the brain to jumpstart brain battery liddat 😅 Brain volume shrunk liao. Inside the neural connections are damaged. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 On 6/18/2024 at 6:58 PM, Lala81 said: Brain volume shrunk liao. Inside the neural connections are damaged. Looking forward to AI brain chip implant...ala neuralink...hope Elon's piggy with chip in the brain is still alive...and has becum smarter...😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 18, 2024 Share June 18, 2024 On 6/18/2024 at 6:30 PM, Playtime said: hmmmm.... but that disease doesnt take years to start right? once it comes, its rather fast ... 🤔 Maybe have some symptoms first before the big one comes? 😅 Like people always say, before you kena stroke, you would feel some symptoms on and off before that. 😅 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...