How To Avoid Dementia.

2BDriver

On 9/22/2023 at 8:22 PM, BanCoe said:

Yes the very rich can afford to….. will cost easily 7-8k monthly ….not forgetting ongoing medical costs 

That’s why no money better die faster and don’t fall sick and cannot die. 😅

On 11/4/2023 at 11:43 AM, Lala81 said:

My mum only 70. So long way to go... 

Good luck and welcome to the club unfortunately.

Hope you have strong siblings relationship.

My mum initially was MILD COGNITIVE IMPAIRMENT OF THE AMNESIC TYPE and was given ARICEPT EVESS.

Whats your mum diagnosis?

Edited by Fcw75

On 9/22/2023 at 10:09 PM, 13177 said:

That’s why no money better die faster and don’t fall sick and cannot die. 😅

Yes, if no money, take care of diet and go exercise more.

Eat less sugar, eat less meat, eat less fried food and eat more veggie.

That's why I love caipng, usually with 2 veggie and no to little meat....

😁

On 11/4/2023 at 12:03 PM, Fcw75 said:

Good luck and welcome to the club unfortunately.

Hope you have strong siblings relationship.

My mum initially was MILD COGNITIVE IMPAIRMENT OF THE AMNESIC TYPE and was given ARICEPT EVESS.

Whats your mum diagnosis?

Have to do mri. But most likely just regular alzheimers. 

Probably will start donezepil (aricept) too. 

In my NZ sojourn, I was so impressed with how physically and mentally healthy the seniors are. They refused to be inactive when they aged. I met many men and ladies in their 70s and 80s who play tennis 3-4x a week, go long distance mountain biking (with battery assistance) in groups, and end meets with tea and cookies.  To socialise. There is truth in staying physically active and having a social network. From talking with them, they were mentally still very agile with an attitude of not slowing down. One told me of her story of falling from a MTB and cracking ribs. This did not stop her from getting on her bike again and riding. No signs of dementia.

My meeting with groups of them has motivated me to keep active and sociable. This unker will not be sitting at kopi shops to quaff beer/kopi, while complain about life in Singapore. 

On 11/4/2023 at 1:49 PM, serenade said:

In my NZ sojourn, I was so impressed with how physically and mentally healthy the seniors are. They refused to be inactive when they aged. I met many men and ladies in their 70s and 80s who play tennis 3-4x a week, go long distance mountain biking (with battery assistance) in groups, and end meets with tea and cookies.  To socialise. There is truth in staying physically active and having a social network. From talking with them, they were mentally still very agile with an attitude of not slowing down. One told me of her story of falling from a MTB and cracking ribs. This did not stop her from getting on her bike again and riding. No signs of dementia.

My meeting with groups of them has motivated me to keep active and sociable. This unker will not be sitting at kopi shops to quaff beer/kopi, while complain about life in Singapore. 

Very true.. I remember going hiking in nature parks,  felt almost  like climb mount biang.

Reach on top... see their seniors up there🤣

On 11/4/2023 at 1:49 PM, serenade said:

Nice!

Hence, I also advocate that those whose parents are still around try to bring them out jalan jalan more. Use the time to bond with them, but more importantly to let them be more active than just sitting at home.

As for myself, although I am fully retired,  I try to keep myself active by constant online learning in data analytics and AI.  Recently even certified  professionally in data analytics. lol 😄.  Retire young has its own challenges, and one of it is  to keep the mind active. Physical is less of an issue (since still relatively young) , but mind can age quickly if not active.

Edited by Starry

On 11/4/2023 at 11:43 AM, Lala81 said:

My mum only 70. So long way to go... 

More time to love her. What she likes? Mine like to eat wind and find cheap and nice food. One of the happy thing to do with me.

On 9/22/2023 at 5:29 PM, Fcw75 said:

if rich enough, just engage 3 people to take care of the elderly.

My late 姑妈 have that. One nurse, one caregiver and one helper. 

My cousin did that for her. Go everywhere the entourage will assist her. Shower, change diapers, etc.

In the old days those were considered mui zai aka 妹仔...

On 11/4/2023 at 3:47 PM, Datsun366 said:

More time to love her. What she likes? Mine like to eat wind and find cheap and nice food. One of the happy thing to do with me.

Unker ! “Eat Wind” means makan angin lah 

On 11/5/2023 at 9:16 AM, BanCoe said:

Unker ! “Eat Wind” means makan angin lah 

Also means tour travelling in a self deprecation in Hokkien. Free until walk here walk there. Eat wind full very power no?

Everyone lives in a perfect world…the statistical proof is there…

5% of a HDB block population will WILL get some form of dementia in their lives.

factory warranty run out.

very politely not disturbing the rich in condo and landed in their cocoon of self delusion.

do you remember when you knew what you were saying, I am sure you remember you were speaking way before you realise you had control of what you said. It was just switched on?

Dementia is the reverse. We lose it (our mind) suddenly and appear confuse at what happened. Something happened but we don’t know what.

we can appreciate the pathos in Lala post because we understand the depth of the words. It’s very hard because of our training as well as our emotional attachment.

eat wind will bring a smile and our parent back.

Please don't forget to eat your fiber

Getting plenty of fiber is recommended for digestive health. But a high-fiber diet may also be good for your brain. Two new studies found that the more fiber people tended to eat, the lower their risk of developing Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia in old age.