13177 Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 10:28 AM, BanCoe said: I guess you never heard of the saying….. Money is the root to all Evil ….. don’t leave too much ….. enuff for the spouse to get by is fine U can choose the timing meh ??….. waaah steady lah …. U know here MCF in house “ got one “ ….. the one whose tyres also give up on HIM 🤣🤣 True, good to leave some money but no need so much. Esp in this era most spouse is working and maybe some of them, their earning power and saving is even higher than hubby. So, no need to worry so much. 😂 Maybe our parents' era then needs to worry more since most wife is not working after married and is a housewife. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 1:26 PM, Starry said: maybe too much bubble tea? 😁 Could be true hor, since too much refined sugar is really no good for our health. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 11:00 AM, Lala81 said: my dad asked me if its due to covid vaccine lol. Could it be the covid brain fog? Supposed to be possible long term side effect if kenna +ve right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 10:52 AM, Playtime said: sometimes, when it comes to freedom to choose our ending. i think the powers in charge are different. when you are so rich and powerful, a life times of privilege and enjoyment knowing no obstacles. you probably want to live to 100, maybe work to 95. whats medical problems? your mindset changes. so they will never want to give others the power to decide for themsleves, cos themselves want to hang on forever.🤨 True, if a person is rich and powerful, they don't want to die too fast and want to live as long as possible to enjoy the world. Even anything happens to them, they have the money to treat and lessen their suffering, no need scare. Maybe only those people who have no money don't want to live too long life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 10:16 AM, Lala81 said: Think my mum is starting down this road. Get her to watch TV...drama or shengsiong show...can also exercise the lungs by shouting pai pei pai pei...if she can remembers the airtime for those shows...she's good...my MIL over 90 oredi still religiously fall in before the TV at her favourite show times...fully coherent and can shout loudly when someone stands in front of the TV for too long...😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 1:34 PM, Playtime said: Could it be the covid brain fog? Supposed to be possible long term side effect if kenna +ve right? haha my parents never got covid, at least that we are aware of. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 11:00 AM, Lala81 said: Last 2 years. she has been getting increasingly forgetful. She also feels her own memory is not reliable. Tell her something, she can't retain well. So my sis who stays near them, often has to keep repeating. She can still function, go market and cook. But can see definite difference as compared to 2 years ago. She's 70 only. my dad asked me if its due to covid vaccine lol. I told him, it's cos she has been a very light sleeper and constantly sleep deprived for decades lol. Being forgetful and might not be able to focus well, could be like you said, due to long term sleep deprived. And now people could also blame it on covid vaccine or covid if you kena before. Maybe still need to go thru series of test and scan then can confirm if it is dementia. I think even for very early stage of dementia, it is quite difficult to diagnosis, as it could be due to other health condition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 1:39 PM, mersaylee said: Get her to watch TV...drama or shengsiong show...can also exercise the lungs by shouting pai pei pai pei...if she can remembers the airtime for those shows...she's good...my MIL over 90 oredi still religiously fall in before the TV at her favourite show times...fully coherent and can shout loudly when someone stands in front of the TV for too long...😂 Hearsay people who might easily get dementia is because they lack communication and interaction with people and also not using their brain much. Watching TV consider 'alone' activity which may not help much? That's why people always say must go to interact with people, as it stimulates your brain and keep your brain working well. Like playing mahjong and 'quarrelling' with people once a while also good way to keep your brain active. 😂 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 (edited) On 9/22/2023 at 12:16 PM, zipping said: https://news.cgtn.com/news/2023-09-21/Chart-of-the-Day-Learn-more-and-spread-Alzheimer-s-awareness-1nhk0un5UYg/index.html The article says, sometimes forgetting which word to use is typical age-related changes! Sometimes i also got experience this le, esp when i do not have enough sleep. Lucky it is not signs of AD. 😅 Edited September 22, 2023 by 13177 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 1:39 PM, mersaylee said: Get her to watch TV...drama or shengsiong show...can also exercise the lungs by shouting pai pei pai pei...if she can remembers the airtime for those shows...she's good...my MIL over 90 oredi still religiously fall in before the TV at her favourite show times...fully coherent and can shout loudly when someone stands in front of the TV for too long...😂 @Jamesc MIL is the bestest …… here’s wishing her happy 100 🎂🎂🎂🎂in advance ….. May the Force be with her 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 1:32 PM, 13177 said: True, good to leave some money but no need so much. Esp in this era most spouse is working and maybe some of them, their earning power and saving is even higher than hubby. So, no need to worry so much. 😂 Maybe our parents' era then needs to worry more since most wife is not working after married and is a housewife. Actually our parents of the old Gen don’t really have to worry much as living under one roof in the old days ……so each other “ chip in “ and lookout for each others ….. but now with nuclear families is more worse for the lone spouse even though they may be independent from the beginning ……. But nothing beats the multi gen families ….. just like the Sheng Shiong family ….. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Somewhat1975 6th Gear September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 1:26 PM, Starry said: maybe too much bubble tea? 😁 maybe, Alzheimer's disease has even been called "type 3 diabetes" https://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/whats-the-relationship-between-diabetes-and-dementia-202107122546 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 There is an official dementia test to take. One of the tests is remembering address. Signs of dementia besides forgetfulness 1. Cannot button shirt straight, 2. Finding things totally unrelated to the storage space. E.g. Finding car keys in the fridge, or wallet in the microwave 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie26 Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 3:49 PM, Somewhat1975 said: maybe, Alzheimer's disease has even been called "type 3 diabetes" https://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/whats-the-relationship-between-diabetes-and-dementia-202107122546 Not just dementia, many age related brain diseases too and also nerve problems 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 2:53 PM, BanCoe said: Actually our parents of the old Gen don’t really have to worry much as living under one roof in the old days ……so each other “ chip in “ and lookout for each others ….. but now with nuclear families is more worse for the lone spouse even though they may be independent from the beginning ……. But nothing beats the multi gen families ….. just like the Sheng Shiong family ….. Indeed, now the generation is ownself care for ownself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 (edited) On 9/22/2023 at 2:53 PM, BanCoe said: Actually our parents of the old Gen don’t really have to worry much as living under one roof in the old days ……so each other “ chip in “ and lookout for each others ….. but now with nuclear families is more worse for the lone spouse even though they may be independent from the beginning ……. But nothing beats the multi gen families ….. just like the Sheng Shiong family ….. if rich enough, just engage 3 people to take care of the elderly. My late 姑妈 have that. One nurse, one caregiver and one helper. My cousin did that for her. Go everywhere the entourage will assist her. Shower, change diapers, etc. Edited September 22, 2023 by Fcw75 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 5:29 PM, Fcw75 said: if rich enough, just engage 3 people to take care of the elderly. My late 姑妈 have that. One nurse, one caregiver and one helper. My cousin did that for her. Go everywhere the entourage will assist her. Shower, change diapers, etc. Yes the very rich can afford to….. will cost easily 7-8k monthly ….not forgetting ongoing medical costs ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...