Kb27 Supersonic July 11, 2023 Share July 11, 2023 (edited) I watched a video https://youtu.be/yuFjwfP4nGo and this prof says the only thing they did to reverse type 2 diabetes, was get them on a low-calorie for a period of time. What if your weight is possibly causing all these ills, dementia, etc.. years down the line, and that no one has studied on it ? Would you start a low-calorie diet from today ? 😄 Edited July 11, 2023 by Kb27 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic July 11, 2023 Share July 11, 2023 On 7/11/2023 at 2:27 AM, 13177 said: Tell you singpass also no use, as i have pathetic amount of money in my cpf account. 😪 😂 Expand at least we "test" and do "dry run" for U and also can do some shielding also and here got many CONsultan gib free advice also and also do FOC LPA also .... got so many people so CONcern for you 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 11, 2023 Share July 11, 2023 On 7/11/2023 at 2:57 AM, Kb27 said: I watched a video https://youtu.be/yuFjwfP4nGo and this prof says the only thing they did to reverse type 2 diabetes, was get them on a low-calorie for a period of time. What if your weight is possibly causing all these ills, dementia, etc.. years down the line, and that no one has studied on it ? Would you start a low-calorie diet from today ? 😄 Expand Like so troublesome, no one would go calculate and take note on all the foods that eat daily. Maybe only dietitian or professional athletic would do such thing. People would just eat freely whether or not have illnesses. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic September 21, 2023 Share September 21, 2023 Dementia care: 7 in 10 say it is a struggle that takes a toll on emotional and mental well-being https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/dementia-care-7-in-10-say-it-is-a-daily-battle-that-takes-a-toll-on-health-relationship-and-mind 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 21, 2023 Share September 21, 2023 (edited) Before you want to judge a caregiver who had to resort to doing part time, don’t. One will never understand the pain and hassle the caregiver have to go thru’ until he go thru’ it himself. Use mouth to talk is easy because talk is free! Medical advancement made people live longer but at what cost? Not just to the person with dementia but also the people around him/her. No quality of life. Just legalize euthanasia or assisted suicide. That’s all I want to say. Edited September 21, 2023 by Fcw75 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear September 21, 2023 Share September 21, 2023 On 9/21/2023 at 12:39 PM, Fcw75 said: Before you want to judge a caregiver who had to resort to doing part time, don’t. One will never understand the pain and hassle the caregiver have to go thru’ until he go thru’ it himself. Use mouth to talk is easy because talk is free! Medical advancement made people live longer but at what cost? Not just to the person with dementia but also the people around him/her. No quality of life. Just legalize euthanasia or assisted suicide. That’s all I want to say. Expand well said bro, not so sure on the last part though, try to stay positive! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Confusedboi Supercharged September 21, 2023 Share September 21, 2023 On 9/21/2023 at 11:57 AM, Blueray said: Dementia care: 7 in 10 say it is a struggle that takes a toll on emotional and mental well-being https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/dementia-care-7-in-10-say-it-is-a-daily-battle-that-takes-a-toll-on-health-relationship-and-mind Expand my mum suffered from frontal temporal dementia from 2017 onwards, she wasn't even 60 at the time ( by the time we got her diagnosed was 2018 already), then she kena cervix cancer in 2020 until she passed away in mid Dec 2022, me, my dad plus my sister and our domestic helper all chipped in to help look after her. We send mum to dementia daycare at Tan tock seng annex renci from Monday to Friday 9am-5pm for most of 2020 until mid 2022 before her condition worsened and had to stay at home for palliative end of life care for last couple of months. Its still damn tough and really drains you out emotionally and psychologically. You will just feel so tired and burnt out and its very easy to want to give up. Luckily was working from home mostly during this period, so can go and pick her up from daycare to bring her back home ( that time still got car), and all the various chemo therapy sessions, plus numerous hospital visits. Outsiders will never understand the toll the caregivers suffer, really is no joke. I can personally understand why some people can choose to harden themselves and refuse to look after their own family members who suffer from dementia when no one else wants to help and just send the patient to full time nursing homes. ( Cost a lot of money as well) 7 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 21, 2023 Share September 21, 2023 (edited) On 9/21/2023 at 12:53 PM, Gunzy said: well said bro, not so sure on the last part though, try to stay positive! Expand Actually the last part is for me. Just don’t hope to go thru’ what my mother went thru’ or burden my wife. Just to add on one more thing, having a parent who has dementia BUT other siblings are taking care AND taking care of one who has dementia everyday is a totally different ball game. I ever saw a CNA program about caregivers. A 72 years old is taking care of her 99 years old mother. 😵 And another caregiver said this: Take it one day at a time Which also means I don’t know how long my personal life will be on hold And so, everything in my personal life is a big question mark Perhaps I’m grieving the non-existence of my personal identity Because right now I feel like I’m just living in the service of others Edited September 21, 2023 by Fcw75 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear September 21, 2023 Share September 21, 2023 On 9/21/2023 at 1:19 PM, Fcw75 said: Actually the last part is for me. Just don’t hope to go thru’ what my mother went thru’ or burden my wife. Just to add on one more thing, having a parent who has dementia BUT other siblings are taking care AND taking care of one who has dementia everyday is a totally different ball game. I ever saw a CNA program about caregivers. A 72 years old is taking care of her 99 years old mother. 😵 And another caregiver said this: Take it one day at a time Which also means I don’t know how long my personal life will be on hold And so, everything in my personal life is a big question mark Perhaps I’m grieving the non-existence of my personal identity Because right now I feel like I’m just living in the service of others Expand I tend to agree on euthanasia too but it might not be the best option too as the next of kin may not be able to take it well... Indeed a different ball game when one is doing ownself, 24/7, no rest days, no time to go anywhere except for grocery, not much time to sleep, must ensure not to fall sick, still got house chores to do to ensure cleaniness and hygiene...... single or married also have different effects i also took it one day at a time, tried to stayed as positive as possible 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged September 21, 2023 Share September 21, 2023 On 9/21/2023 at 12:58 PM, Confusedboi said: Outsiders will never understand the toll the caregivers suffer, really is no joke. I can personally understand why some people can choose to harden themselves and refuse to look after their own family members who suffer from dementia when no one else wants to help and just send the patient to full time nursing homes. ( Cost a lot of money as well Expand As families become more and more single child. No one can just quit work to stay home to look after. Nursing home will have to be the default in future. Hard truth. Though not dementia... Had a elderly relative who had a stroke and became bed ridden and unresponsive for the last few years of his life. A meaningless slow torturous death that's all 😖. Funny how what would be considered animal cruelty for our pets is normal for humans. 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged September 21, 2023 Share September 21, 2023 On 9/21/2023 at 12:39 PM, Fcw75 said: Medical advancement made people live longer but at what cost? Not just to the person with dementia but also the people around him/her. No quality of life. Just legalize euthanasia or assisted suicide. Expand Not dementia.. but have gone through a loved one at end of life ICU. Already terminal and unresponsive. But kept alive to die "naturally" over several agonising days. Should've just switched off the machines. But hospital had its policy I guess. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/21/2023 at 10:44 PM, Playtime said: Not dementia.. but have gone through a loved one at end of life ICU. Already terminal and unresponsive. But kept alive to die "naturally" over several agonising days. Should've just switched off the machines. But hospital had its policy I guess. Expand He didn’t do AMD I guess. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 (edited) Heard over news report that more people are being diagnosed with dementia at a younger age, this is worrying and scary. Really wonder what the causes of is getting dementia at young age in this era for people?! Edited September 22, 2023 by 13177 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 To all the commenters here ….. I empathize your situations ……mine’s 88 years old and it’s setting in since last 1-2 years …… and with a litany of other issues like diabetes for 55+ years and BP and glaucoma and kidney issues ….. come to MCF to release the pressures ….. dunno what’s gonna happen to us in the next 10-20-30 years time with nuclear families….. no kids….. and still no euthanasia…… all the stress…… oh well life goes on or rather the world goes on 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 12:25 AM, Fcw75 said: He didn’t do AMD I guess. Expand AMD ….. seems like simple suka suak switch to us laymen …..but still has “red tape” also ….. not so like within a few days ….. still also got protocols 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 1:25 AM, BanCoe said: AMD ….. seems like simple suka suak switch to us laymen …..but still has “red tape” also ….. not so like within a few days ….. still also got protocols Expand Yes, need 3 doctors to approve. But at least won’t need a few years I suppose. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 1:23 AM, BanCoe said: To all the commenters here ….. I empathize your situations ……mine’s 88 years old and it’s setting in since last 1-2 years …… and with a litany of other issues like diabetes for 55+ years and BP and glaucoma and kidney issues ….. come to MCF to release the pressures ….. dunno what’s gonna happen to us in the next 10-20-30 years time with nuclear families….. no kids….. and still no euthanasia…… all the stress…… oh well life goes on or rather the world goes on Expand Ya lor, got time come MCF talk cock lor. 😁 Cheaper way is to go pattaya shooting range. 🤣 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic September 22, 2023 Share September 22, 2023 On 9/22/2023 at 1:31 AM, Fcw75 said: Yes, need 3 doctors to approve. But at least won’t need a few years I suppose. Expand By the time a few weeks already patient kaput also already ……but the trauma on the family seeing the patient shrivel up ….. it really traumatic on the family …. The slow death is like not even a journey celebration of life to say the least ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...