How To Avoid Dementia.

2BDriver

On 11/4/2024 at 10:08 AM, Playtime said:

how did your family manage that?

my grandma was same, very very long ago liao but back then its foot ball team sized family and many aunties were housewives so could still take turns take care.

these days, practically no one can afford to stay home full time liao. plus nursing home also very expensive for most families to do.

Everyone chipped in for nursing home as no one family can care for her full time. Decided nursing home was the best approach for 24/7 professional care.

if ur parents like to pak mahjong or buy 4D, let them be.. as long as not high betting stakes

it's good for old folks to keng their brains in the analysis (whether it's mahjong or deriving numbers to buy)

😁

On 11/4/2024 at 4:14 PM, Scion said:

if ur parents like to pak mahjong or buy 4D, let them be.. as long as not high betting stakes

it's good for old folks to keng their brains in the analysis (whether it's mahjong or deriving numbers to buy)

😁

I think people who like to pak mahjong often, likely not easy or won't get dementia. Looks like quite high chance i will get dementia since i don't know how to pak mahjong. Lol.

On 11/4/2024 at 4:22 PM, 13177 said:

I think people who like to pak mahjong often, likely not easy or won't get dementia. Looks like quite high chance i will get dementia since i don't know how to pak mahjong. Lol.

You willing to pay...  I'm sure many many willing to teach 😆

These 6 factors are interesting and mostly controllable.  The last factor even more interesting.

Edited by Ender

On 11/4/2024 at 4:22 PM, 13177 said:

Keep riding bicycle and focus on the speed, timing and mileages and power etc.... keep one active physically and mentally. 

On 11/4/2024 at 9:02 AM, Lala81 said:

Actually arguing with someone who has moderate dementia and sometimes no insight is dam frustrating. It's OK if the thing is not worth arguing about. But sometimes bo pian to have to set the point straight. 

Its actually not the going around outside that's any different from traveling with older folk. 

Its when return back to apartment. Then she will be endlessly looking for things. Everything is lost. Blame my dad etc etc. Come back bicker half the time.

My mum is not the chin Chai easy going type. She's actually bit of a control freak. But now no memory and insight. 

Put an AirTag in whatever she’s looking for and it will be much easier to locate the item. 

Purse, etc…

This is my personal experience.

Edited by Fcw75

On 11/7/2024 at 5:18 PM, Fcw75 said:

Put an AirTag in whatever she’s looking for and it will be much easier to locate the item. 

Purse, etc…

This is my personal experience.

Can be anything in her bag lol. 

Money, socks etc. 

On 11/4/2024 at 4:14 PM, Scion said:

😁

my late grandma was still playing mahjong few weeks before she passed away... at 108.

she started learning it only around 70...

On 11/7/2024 at 11:24 PM, Atrecord said:

my late grandma was still playing mahjong few weeks before she passed away... at 108.

Wah.... 38yr playing experience,   premier league player. 

On 11/4/2024 at 9:02 AM, Lala81 said:

Actually arguing with someone who has moderate dementia and sometimes no insight is dam frustrating. It's OK if the thing is not worth arguing about. But sometimes bo pian to have to set the point straight. 

Its actually not the going around outside that's any different from traveling with older folk. 

Its when return back to apartment. Then she will be endlessly looking for things. Everything is lost. Blame my dad etc etc. Come back bicker half the time.

My mum is not the chin Chai easy going type. She's actually bit of a control freak. But now no memory and insight. 

Actually what's the correct response?

I read never to lie to dementia patients.

But is it better just to agree with them and keep the peace since they'll forget later🤔

No point stressing them out also mah.

On 11/8/2024 at 11:18 AM, Playtime said:

Actually what's the correct response?

I read never to lie to dementia patients.

But is it better just to agree with them and keep the peace since they'll forget later🤔

No point stressing them out also mah.

They will just forget in a short while. 

But sometimes you need to scold them a bit. 

My last meal in penang. I pre-ordered the food since we we were waiting for table. waited about 25mins for table. 
Ordered a nasi ulam (steamed rice with herbs) for adults + 1 normal blue pea rice for the kids.
Food served already, my mum asked for normal blue pea rice.
Ordered another bowl, rice reach already, she gave what i ordered for her to my father, but refused to take from the bowl ordered specifically for her. Say give to the kids or what...
If order another bowl, we don't need so much rice.... So i scold her to take that bowl.

On 11/8/2024 at 11:33 AM, Lala81 said:

They will just forget in a short while. 

But sometimes you need to scold them a bit. 

My last meal in penang. I pre-ordered the food since we we were waiting for table. waited about 25mins for table. 
Ordered a nasi ulam (steamed rice with herbs) for adults + 1 normal blue pea rice for the kids.
Food served already, my mum asked for normal blue pea rice.
Ordered another bowl, rice reach already, she gave what i ordered for her to my father, but refused to take from the bowl ordered specifically for her. Say give to the kids or what...
If order another bowl, we don't need so much rice.... So i scold her to take that bowl.

Indeed it's truly frustrating...but try to absorb it...a waste of food it may be or tabao if possible...don't waste any opportunity to please her...we do not know what is messing up the brain at the very moment...that's what i have to constantly remind my wife when i see she's about to flare up on my mil...a personal experience...no matter how much we have tried our best...the sense of guilt about wish we have done more lingers...

On 11/7/2024 at 7:24 PM, Atrecord said:

That means you will easily break century ……. Must fren fren with you more 

On 11/8/2024 at 1:32 PM, BanCoe said:

That means you will easily break century ……. Must fren fren with you more 

That means has a very high chance to makan curry ayam at many funerals...better befriend many much younger peeps...if not old liao not many frens left...😂

On 11/7/2024 at 11:24 PM, Atrecord said:

wow 108yo! 👍

Singapore's centenarians only numbered about 1.5k, or 0.03% of population

On 11/8/2024 at 2:47 PM, Scion said:

wow 108yo! 👍

Singapore's centenarians only numbered about 1.5k, or 0.03% of population

i remembered at the wake, LHZH came to interview the family. think they doing some article on longevity... 😄