How To Avoid Dementia.

2BDriver

On 6/18/2024 at 8:17 PM, mersaylee said:

Looking forward to AI brain chip implant...ala neuralink...hope Elon's piggy with chip in the brain is still alive...and has becum smarter...😂

No need AI brain chip. Just carry a 555 note book to keep a "to do" list or these days use the phone to serve as the electronic 555 note book [laugh]

I always tell some colleagues, write down somewhere, and make a routine to check the list daily, then won't accidentally forget to do some things.

Edited by Sosaria

On 6/18/2024 at 6:34 PM, Playtime said:

sometimes i wish we could have some AMD... just give some nice morphine......

im a strong beliver that life is about living... if i am not "living" anymore, let me log out.

Yes, hoping to see the day when it is legal to say I want to end myself if medically the doc say I cannot function anymore, like bathing, clear shit, bed bound.  I don't want my children to take care of me this way.

• Sad 1

On 6/18/2024 at 11:28 PM, Sosaria said:

No need AI brain chip. Just carry a 555 note book to keep a "to do" list or these days use the phone to serve as the electronic 555 note book [laugh]

I always tell some colleagues, write down somewhere, and make a routine to check the list daily, then won't accidentally forget to do some things.

That's if can still remember where the 555 is kept 😅

On 6/18/2024 at 11:28 PM, Sosaria said:

But firstly must remember you have written it at somewhere and remember to check it. 😅

On 6/19/2024 at 6:39 AM, 13177 said:

But firstly must remember you have written it at somewhere and remember to check it. 😅

At work, i keep such logbook [laugh]

Old-fashioned.

Every day first thing i check it to see what's outstanding, important or not, etc.

Only can get lost if i bring it home then office, to and fro

The only problem i have is that it doesn't alert me, all scheduling matters, e.g. meeting, that i jot down there must still remember to transfer it to google calendar.

Edited by Sosaria

Traveling with my mum with dementia was an experience and sometimes just boil over with frustration. 

Honestly I dunno if she remembers the trip after this. Hopefully she can remember some fragments in time to come. 

My sis is bringing them to Switzerland next year (mainly cos think my dad wants to go). Challenging sia. 

• Sad 4

Human beings have a perfect ideal controlled situation in mind.

I think it was as from before, just walk away when you decide or wait to be taken away. It’s always free choice as from our monkey ancestors.

all the rules and laws are just fluff and don’t hold onto me, please don’t hold onto me, I am not drunk situation.

dementia is not something we have any control over. CPU spoil don’t need memo one.

can stroke and die on the spot without any indication prior. 
cest la vie.

On 11/3/2024 at 8:22 PM, Lala81 said:

Traveling with my mum with dementia was an experience and sometimes just boil over with frustration. 

Honestly I dunno if she remembers the trip after this. Hopefully she can remember some fragments in time to come. 

My sis is bringing them to Switzerland next year (mainly cos think my dad wants to go). Challenging sia. 

I understand people with dementia (not full blown) still have quite good long term memory, but short term start deteriorating. 

My paternal grandmother had dementia when she was 80 and started to be confined to bed until she passed away at 85. Can see the effect of gradual decline in the 1st 3yrs .... Then last two years was totally relying on the nurses care. 

Go travel when still mobile. It's more for your family memory of travelling with her than her remembering the trip. 

Take more photos.

On 11/4/2024 at 12:16 AM, Atonchia said:

I understand people with dementia (not full blown) still have quite good long term memory, but short term start deteriorating. 

My paternal grandmother had dementia when she was 80 and started to be confined to bed until she passed away at 85. Can see the effect of gradual decline in the 1st 3yrs .... Then last two years was totally relying on the nurses care. 

Go travel when still mobile. It's more for your family memory of travelling with her than her remembering the trip. 

Take more photos.

Actually arguing with someone who has moderate dementia and sometimes no insight is dam frustrating. It's OK if the thing is not worth arguing about. But sometimes bo pian to have to set the point straight. 

Its actually not the going around outside that's any different from traveling with older folk. 

Its when return back to apartment. Then she will be endlessly looking for things. Everything is lost. Blame my dad etc etc. Come back bicker half the time.

My mum is not the chin Chai easy going type. She's actually bit of a control freak. But now no memory and insight. 

• Sad 4

On 11/4/2024 at 9:02 AM, Lala81 said:

Actually arguing with someone who has moderate dementia and sometimes no insight is dam frustrating. It's OK if the thing is not worth arguing about. But sometimes bo pian to have to set the point straight. 

Its actually not the going around outside that's any different from traveling with older folk. 

Its when return back to apartment. Then she will be endlessly looking for things. Everything is lost. Blame my dad etc etc. Come back bicker half the time.

My mum is not the chin Chai easy going type. She's actually bit of a control freak. But now no memory and insight. 

Just have to exercise extreme patience and "play" along the patient's emotion...there's no other way...let them feel that they are been understood and cared for is the best we can offer...granted, it's not easy at all...try to divert their attention before any flare up...we need practise and im getting good at it with my mil...i learned the trick from cesar millan, the dog trainer...😂

On 11/4/2024 at 12:16 AM, Atonchia said:

how did your family manage that?

my grandma was same, very very long ago liao but back then its foot ball team sized family and many aunties were housewives so could still take turns take care.

these days, practically no one can afford to stay home full time liao. plus nursing home also very expensive for most families to do.

On 11/4/2024 at 9:31 AM, mersaylee said:

Just have to exercise extreme patience and "play" along the patient's emotion...there's no other way...let them feel that they are been understood and cared for is the best we can offer...granted, it's not easy at all...try to divert their attention before any flare up...we need practise and im getting good at it with my mil...i learned the trick from cesar millan, the dog trainer...😂

Some of the few tips I learnt from Caesar Milan:

1. he keeps using "psst" as a verbal warning and cue to get the dog's attention
  2. dogs have 4 phases of emotions - can't remember what they are - and different approaches to scale them down from high to low emotion
  3. using soft body nudges to snap them out of a fixation
  4. train the human to train the dog
  5. exercise them to burn out their excess energy - a tired dog is a happy dog

which of the above work on humans?

Edited by Kxbc

On 11/4/2024 at 10:10 AM, Kxbc said:

Some of the few tips I learnt from Caesar Milan:

1. he keeps using "psst" as a verbal warning and cue to get the dog's attention
  2. dogs have 4 phases of emotions - can't remember what they are - and different approaches to scale them down from high to low emotion
  3. using soft body nudges to snap them out of a fixation
  4. train the human to train the dog
  5. exercise them to burn out their excess energy - a tired dog is a happy dog

Try all the above-mentioned to find the right fit...not all dogs are the same...same with humans 😂

On 11/4/2024 at 10:10 AM, Kxbc said:
  1. exercise them to burn out their excess energy - a tired dog is a happy dog

ive heard that if they are tired, they kinda go into low batt mode and perform even worse.🤔

Good to vent.

i felt for the daughter of a loving mum.

the mum was having a hissy fit at mercury roxy nearby the old record shop. 
I am sure the mum was loving before she got old because the daughter patiently and calmly managed the ‘sun downing’.

can travel jin happy. Go Geylang eat frog porridge also good deal.

fly to Sewol also good deal.

anything they get to do with their babies whom they treasured is good enough.

Lala, Gambate yo.