Toh Yi residents - I got no place to play you know???

Rncw

i suggest in all estates, to set aside some plots for old folks housing

Not only old folks, poor folks housing also. I remember few yrs ago in tampines, HDB gg to build some new flats for the low income there, ppl living around there also gather and protest against the project. Some estate ppl very one kind... there r other estate that HDB build studio apartment and flats for low income sporean, those residents also take it as it is, juz a flat for sporean.

last wekk was woodlands now bukit timah -_-

this toh yi one lagi kokup, just spent $120k do up the basketball court now want to build the old folk centre, waste money :angry:

this is silly.. we are going to have alot of senior citizens here and why cant they build flats there??

even my new bto has studio apartments for the seniors .. i dont see the young owners kpkb there.. [rifle]

I think the residents are concerned abt space constraints plus that they wanted more space for their community gatherings.... the space demarcated by HDB could be too small to be considered...I trust the idea of ageing population is gaining recognition and I do not think ppl protest bcos it is going to be for old ppl but rather would there be a better choice available... Sometimes, paper read can liao... they dun tell u the full picture unless u go there to find out more... it could be unrealistic...

Yup there is this term call NIMBY Syndrome

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NIMBY

Interesting... there is really a term for that! [laugh][laugh]

"The term (or the derivative Nimbyism) is used pejoratively to describe opposition by residents to a proposal for a new development close to them. Opposing residents themselves are sometimes called Nimbies. " [laugh][laugh]