Advice needed - Starhub contract

Solar

guys.. wanna seek your advice.. lagi better if u commercial lawyer one.. [laugh]

i'm a starhub subscriber for tv, voice and internet since years back. initial contract was 2yrs, then renewed again, and finally late last year renewed again, verbally.

here's how it went:

the cso called to ask me if i wanted to renew.. with the info he provided over the phone, i agreed, hence the contract was renewed verbally.

here's the issue: when the guy called, he didn't tell me the free voice subscription is going to end in july. i agreed based on my understanding that everything was supposed to be the same as previously offered.

called the cso today.. he claimed they have recording of my verbal agreement, and is considered a binding contract..

early termination charges will be slapped on me, even though this was a misrepresentation.

here's the question.. is this true? there a case for me to terminate this verbal contract? go complain to case?

knn all the while my clients sign contracts with me in black/white, 2 copies at least for keeping and on every page.

this starfug only need voice taped down and stored in their database and i don't even have anything. ridiculous! [hur]

is there such a thing outside?

guys.. wanna seek your advice.. lagi better if u commercial lawyer one.. [laugh]

i'm a starhub subscriber for tv, voice and internet since years back. initial contract was 2yrs, then renewed again, and finally late last year renewed again, verbally.

here's how it went:

the cso called to ask me if i wanted to renew.. with the info he provided over the phone, i agreed, hence the contract was renewed verbally.

here's the issue: when the guy called, he didn't tell me the free voice subscription is going to end in july. i agreed based on my understanding that everything was supposed to be the same as previously offered.

called the cso today.. he claimed they have recording of my verbal agreement, and is considered a binding contract..

early termination charges will be slapped on me, even though this was a misrepresentation.

here's the question.. is this true? there a case for me to terminate this verbal contract? go complain to case?

knn all the while my clients sign contracts with me in black/white, 2 copies at least for keeping and on every page.

this starfug only need voice taped down and stored in their database and i don't even have anything. ridiculous! [hur]

is there such a thing outside?

okay let me tell u something which is called offer and acceptance. The cso called to offer u the contract and when u agree and accept the contract, the contract has been binding in contract and lagi worse they got record one. the party who wish to termintae the contract might get sued or need to pay compensation. so bo pian lor

these callers sometime is quite irritating especially they offer something you want but they never explain clearly over the phone, this is what you can use as argue for your case.

But dun go to the extent of suing cos it is only a small amount and you will always be at the losing end.

assess what your needs and what they did not provide due to the misunderstanding, prepare to compromise if they can't meet half way. Go to their office and talk to someone who can decide. I only did it over the phone but still get what i want. The key thing is dun get mad which you can't think straight and probably make further mistake for your case.

caveat emptor

the tele-marketeer has it weakness, i can always claim the person on the other end didn't explained the terms and conditions in full and in detail (they can't possibly read out 30 pages of the agreement [:p] )

the other thing i claimed was i can hardly understand the english of the person i spoke to, i know what i want and what they offer (the main offer less the hidden detail!), ask them to play back the recorded conversation :D

wow guys, that's fast!

yes, those explained to me and i agreed, and i accept.

what i cannot is the fact that they are going to terminate the free voice in july..and not mentioned to me at all.

it is just an extra $10 a month when the service is over, of course i won't go an sue them for it.

what i'm pissed is the mis-representation.

(like when u buy a car spa package, everything bao kau leow. then 3 months down they tell u they don't use car shampoo to clean your car. need pay extra before they'll use it)

and even more pissed is the cso i spoke to earlier told me they got the voice record of my acceptance.

walan.. this wasn't told to me either. only thing i heard was the record for training purposes. wtf they use it as a legal tool against me?

learning experience.. next time never talk to them over the phone.. walk-in and talk f2f.

thanks bro cerano. i'll email her.

wow guys, that's fast!

yes, those explained to me and i agreed, and i accept.

what i cannot is the fact that they are going to terminate the free voice in july..and not mentioned to me at all.

it is just an extra $10 a month when the service is over, of course i won't go an sue them for it.

what i'm pissed is the mis-representation.

(like when u buy a car spa package, everything bao kau leow. then 3 months down they tell u they don't use car shampoo to clean your car. need pay extra before they'll use it)

and even more pissed is the cso i spoke to earlier told me they got the voice record of my acceptance.

walan.. this wasn't told to me either. only thing i heard was the record for training purposes. wtf they use it as a legal tool against me?

learning experience.. next time never talk to them over the phone.. walk-in and talk f2f.

thanks bro cerano. i'll email her.

bro dont worry. sometimes we need to bring the big guns out but dont ever forget, you are the customer and you need to be treated with respect,dignity and courtesy no matter what.

Remember who is the boss and be the boss.

Even a mistake by the boss isnt a mistake

Sorri to hear that bro..... should have come here ask then proceed.... yes, lesson learn.... go to shop talk f2f..... most of the time you get better deal.... I learn that many years back.... tell you even diff shop also diff policy..... so sometime got to change shop.....

Give you an example.... that time I wanted to change my smart surf 100 back to PV100 and add BB plan... SS plan cannot add Blackberry.... first slow hub shop I go to... tell me must pay this pay that... come up to S$100++.... NBCCB.... told them think about it... then go to another slowhub shop... tell me no problem, just pay a nominal fee of S$20 to $25... change to PV100 and add Blackberry plan......

If I gong gong that time go and pay the $100++ dollar... nbccb, think I will go and chew that fella head off.... [rolleyes]

bro dont worry. sometimes we need to bring the big guns out but dont ever forget, you are the customer and you need to be treated with respect,dignity and courtesy no matter what.

Remember who is the boss and be the boss.

Even a mistake by the boss isnt a mistake

The thing is they don't treat us like a boss... they take us like a ball and kick around... [rolleyes][laugh]

Starhub the lower ones yes... i always request for the local CSOs... i found out they outsource front line service partially to malaysian company! terrible. malaysians with access to all our data. not only that, alot of them go okok but dont do work.

Ask them nominate line, they say ok but never do. End up check bill find out then need call and fire them. Make sure u take down time date and person name

okay.. got a bit of free time and googled up

Singapore law - Misrepresentation

quoted

"If a party makes a positive but incomplete disclosure, the omitted disclosure may amount to a misrepresentation if it has the effect of distorting the truth of the information disclosed."

i was 100% darned sure the cso did not tell me the voice will be terminated in july 2012..

first, i'm gonna write to the lady..

wish me luck, and thanks again guys! [cool]

okay let me tell u something which is called offer and acceptance. The cso called to offer u the contract and when u agree and accept the contract, the contract has been binding in contract and lagi worse they got record one. the party who wish to termintae the contract might get sued or need to pay compensation. so bo pian lor

"the call may be monitored and recorded for training purposes" sounds familiar? there is no disclaimer to say that the recording will be used as a binding legal contract. Can fight one. Bang table can already. sure win one. If they say want to send in their lawyer, say, "fine, I will send in mine too" and they will back off as they have no case.

okay.. got a bit of free time and googled up

Singapore law - Misrepresentation

quoted

"If a party makes a positive but incomplete disclosure, the omitted disclosure may amount to a misrepresentation if it has the effect of distorting the truth of the information disclosed."

i was 100% darned sure the cso did not tell me the voice will be terminated in july 2012..

first, i'm gonna write to the lady..

wish me luck, and thanks again guys! [cool]

Yah u can sue based on misrepresentation as u goes into the contract relying on the statement. Did he say the contract is the same to be renewed? That will be stronger ground to prove that he really misrepresent te fact by creating a false statement. At most either starhub give in or contract will be void...

alamak relax la guys wont go to sue. dont even need to think so far. u write in i confirm will settle the problem. been there done that many times

"the call may be monitored and recorded for training purposes" sounds familiar? there is no disclaimer to say that the recording will be used as a binding legal contract. Can fight one. Bang table can already. sure win one. If they say want to send in their lawyer, say, "fine, I will send in mine too" and they will back off as they have no case.

No as long as u said u agree even without the recording, the contract still formed... Using recording just to make it even more strong only that a contract has been formed. In this case, there might be a misrepresentation as cso didnt state the new term of contract which misled the plaintiff in this case our bro here into believing the contract still the same

If they send lawyer, u just say fine! I pay the 10 bucks haha just joking :D

alamak relax la guys wont go to sue. dont even need to think so far. u write in i confirm will settle the problem. been there done that many times

This one i agree, better if u r a platinum member, any request will be fulfilled!

update/closure:

a manager from starhub called today, in response to the mail i wrote to the vp yesterday.

yes, they will honor the agreement that my phone won't be charged till the end of my agreed contract.

kudos to her. this is how people should do business, be it big or small fry, honor and goodwill is important.

thanks to everyone who offered suggestions, and to bro cerano for her email contact. she is efficient [thumbsup]