QwertyN Neutral Newbie February 7, 2012 Share February 7, 2012 theres like 20* 2008 gtrs for sale womdering why.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear February 7, 2012 Share February 7, 2012 I think you are referring to golf R, GTI, Scirocco R mini are all FF, think u miss out merc AMG models, Audi TTR(i not sure if it's FF or AWD) and the list goes on with audi's S and RS models Mini Countryman is AWD. All S & RS version of Audi is AWD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky61 1st Gear February 7, 2012 Share February 7, 2012 I think to identify japanese sports cars, u first have to define the word sports car. In my personal opinion, sports cars are 2doors, rwd, above 300hp, century sprint better than 6secs. Good handling would be a bonus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cdior 1st Gear February 7, 2012 Share February 7, 2012 integra type r perhaps? no fwd will be as gd as rwd. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 7, 2012 Share February 7, 2012 integra type r perhaps? oh, i forgot. yes but if we are only talking about roadsters, not coupe? coz civic type R etc are also good except its not roadster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 7, 2012 Share February 7, 2012 no fwd will be as gd as rwd. i guess they handle differently, not really a question of good/bad? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 7, 2012 Share February 7, 2012 I think to identify japanese sports cars, u first have to define the word sports car. In my personal opinion, sports cars are 2doors, rwd, above 300hp, century sprint better than 6secs. Good handling would be a bonus. oh no, handling must be included if we talk about true sports cars...... i know many chio sleek 'sports cars' which can be seen parked in front of clubs etc, but some dont really handle well when pushed hard.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 7, 2012 Share February 7, 2012 knn lah...the right term should be sporty car. tomica model car bread n butter car sporty car sports car race car coffin in this order. hotwheels counted? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cdior 1st Gear February 7, 2012 Share February 7, 2012 (edited) i guess they handle differently, not really a question of good/bad? fwd car = 60% of it weight at the front & 40% rear. as 60% infront, the handling will nv be as gd as rwd. Torque steer always happen in powerful fwd car. rwd front wheel do steering, rear wheel drive e car, the car will be better balance n no torque steer. n rwd can hv closer 50/50 weight distribution. acceleration will be better for rwd too. imagine a fwd = pulling the car & rwd = pushing the car. the other advantage of fwd over rwd is wet weather. the reason y they make fwd is becos it cheaper, lighter & create more space for the rear. Edited February 7, 2012 by Cdior Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Highmount Clutched February 7, 2012 Share February 7, 2012 I wouldn't classify Type R as a sports car, mainly bcos it's a FWD. Yes it looks sporty. If Type R is a sports car, den KIA Koup is sports car too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged February 7, 2012 Share February 7, 2012 Actually anycar that has 2 doors are defined as 'sports cars'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged February 7, 2012 Share February 7, 2012 Mini Countryman is AWD. All S & RS version of Audi is AWD. Countryman & Golf R are not full time 4WD,the rear drive only 'kick' in when the ECU sense the car is out of control,but most of the time,it drive only the front wheels.[to save fuel]. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 7, 2012 Share February 7, 2012 I wouldn't classify Type R as a sports car, mainly bcos it's a FWD. Yes it looks sporty. If Type R is a sports car, den KIA Koup is sports car too am glad you see the ratioinale too [laugh] u cannot have a FWD labelled exactly as a sport car....cos it would not be as nimble in the maneuvering as the RWDs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear February 8, 2012 Share February 8, 2012 how about SSS? Got the word "Sport" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear February 8, 2012 Share February 8, 2012 Honda S2000? RWD? Nissan 350Z? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear February 8, 2012 Share February 8, 2012 Countryman & Golf R are not full time 4WD,the rear drive only 'kick' in when the ECU sense the car is out of control,but most of the time,it drive only the front wheels.[to save fuel]. Well,you are right, athought I must point out that alot of cars like the Gt-R, the Aventador, or the new Ferrari FF are also not full time 4WD, & all wheel traction is only activate when the normally driven sets of wheels loses traction. My point is, there is nothing wrong with non full time 4WD. After-all, if you drive normally in Singapore fair climate, there is very little differences between 2 & 4 wheels drive system. You need the 4wd really only when you loses traction in 90% of the cases, which usually when you drive on track (wet or dry), or in snowy, muddy, or icy condition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear February 8, 2012 Share February 8, 2012 how about SSS? Got the word "Sport" Or latio sports, or lancer sports.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 8, 2012 Share February 8, 2012 Agree if the driver is going for almost out-and-out handling... thats why pro racing cars are usually rwd (if not awd) if they are purpose built and designed from scratch. for day to day average drivers, the advantage of rwd as mentioned may not be too critical if by using fwd the car can be priced more competitively (lower production costs) and achieve more interior space (absense of big hump to accommodate the front to back drive shaft) etc etc fwd car = 60% of it weight at the front & 40% rear. as 60% infront, the handling will nv be as gd as rwd. Torque steer always happen in powerful fwd car. rwd front wheel do steering, rear wheel drive e car, the car will be better balance n no torque steer. n rwd can hv closer 50/50 weight distribution. acceleration will be better for rwd too. imagine a fwd = pulling the car & rwd = pushing the car. the other advantage of fwd over rwd is wet weather. the reason y they make fwd is becos it cheaper, lighter & create more space for the rear. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...