Davidklt Supercharged April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 Not everyone that do an MBA does it because of payraise or network. There are many other I know that did it for as a form of personal and skills development. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 (edited) Which part-time MBA in Singapore? I am not referring to a part time MBA in Singapore... I did quantify my statement with "top MBA schools". Edited April 3, 2013 by L_club23 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 I am not referring to a part time MBA in Singapore... Ya. But I am replying to someone discussing about the value of high class Executive MBAs which was supposedly attended by top management ppl. These ppl cant be attending a full-time course right? For Fulltime MBAs, the value is clear. Just check FT website can aldy. Those are facts posted online. Avg Fulltime MBA grad from a reputable sch in US min 150k USD when i last checked 3 years ago. Some ppl took such numbers into consideration when they did a part-time mba in sg and didn't find life so rosy after graduation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 Typically, MBA grads are snapped up at on campus recruitment events in top MBA schools, and you're talking about the big boys for example in consulting you'd be looking at names like BCG, McKinsey etc. Total comp in excess of 200k is highly likely. hmmm... fresh mba grad typically join as associate level. probably 100k nia lah. even for BCG and Mckinsey. and it's up or out every yr. so very stressful one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 Ya. But I am replying to someone discussing about the value of high class Executive MBAs which was supposedly attended by top management ppl. These ppl cant be attending a full-time course right? For Fulltime MBAs, the value is clear. Just check FT website can aldy. Those are facts posted online. Avg Fulltime MBA grad from a reputable sch in US min 150k USD when i last checked 3 years ago. Some ppl took such numbers into consideration when they did a part-time mba in sg and didn't find life so rosy after graduation. this came out in straits times before. http://www.salary.sg/2008/mba-not-so-good-after-all/ even chicago GSB MBa also not guaranteed a good job after grad. dont be too optimistic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 hmmm... fresh mba grad typically join as associate level. probably 100k nia lah. even for BCG and Mckinsey. and it's up or out every yr. so very stressful one I can tell you for a fact, total comp is not 100k for BCG and Mc Kinsey if you are a top MBA grad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 Ya. But I am replying to someone discussing about the value of high class Executive MBAs which was supposedly attended by top management ppl. These ppl cant be attending a full-time course right? For Fulltime MBAs, the value is clear. Just check FT website can aldy. Those are facts posted online. Avg Fulltime MBA grad from a reputable sch in US min 150k USD when i last checked 3 years ago. Some ppl took such numbers into consideration when they did a part-time mba in sg and didn't find life so rosy after graduation. Ahh, didn't see the context that you were replying to someone discussing EMBAs only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 I can tell you for a fact, total comp is not 100k for BCG and Mc Kinsey if you are a top MBA grad. What position were you referring to for a top MBA grad with comp in excess of 200k pa? Associate? Project leader? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 Ahh, didn't see the context that you were replying to someone discussing EMBAs only. Its ok. Most of us come to forums to self-entertain and getting or sharing some information. Who will read the posts so closely. However when I reply to certain ppl, somehow every word must be a fact or cross-checked, or else kena flamed like dunno wat. Maybe ppl working in bank needs to have an ability to dish out BS to protect themselves. Occupational Hazard I can understand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 What position were you referring to for a top MBA grad with comp in excess of 200k pa? Associate? Project leader? Engagement manager I think is like project leader? My sample size is small though so again, the 3 guys that I know might just have gotten lucky lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 (edited) Its ok. Most of us come to forums to self-entertain and getting or sharing some information. Who will read the posts so closely. However when I reply to certain ppl, somehow every word must be a fact or cross-checked, or else kena flamed like dunno wat. Maybe ppl working in bank needs to have an ability to dish out BS to protect themselves. Occupational Hazard I can understand. I work in a bank, maybe that's my problem, can't BS enough so my pay is so depressed. Edited April 3, 2013 by L_club23 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 I work in a bank, maybe that's my problem, can't BS enough so my pay is so depressed. Front, Middle or Back? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 Front, Middle or Back? So back until cannot back already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 (edited) Well you also mentioned that you did not send your CV and your HR filter was crap.. Its alright. I knew you couldn't make it happen. And your comment that after MBA can get 200-400k if one is lucky. I will be interested to find out how many % of MBA graduates in Singapore actually can earn 200-400k after attending a high class MBA when they are not earning at least 100k before the MBA. Land a great job bcos of connections? What is the probability that in a class of 20 people, that u have people who are in your industry or similar to your line of work? And even if there are, how many is actually top management and how many is middle management (similar to the average MBA student) ? I guess you need to be really lucky. If people follow your proposal to invest 100k in an mba and in the end got nothing, think they really v ai wan. Drive 3 cars after mba? Sure, maybe if you can already afford 2 in the first place. My opinion is that a high-class fulltime MBA is better than a part-time 1. Meet the rich kids and get them to invest in you. Maybe thats a better ROI. I am not a guru, just wanna learn more. As I said , I didn't send in a resume and I went through the unconventional approach as the hiring manager was a person I knew . Issue here is one I don't even know you in person , how would I be able to offer a job interview to someone behind an acronym? As for the MBA and job , it is true I had above 100k to start off with . In relations to the discussion , I believe the ts was asking for an opinion on whether to get an MBA for career advancement . Which I mention as long as your experience matches the expection why not? For me , I do not have the luxury to take a full time MBA and I do agree whatever they mentioned in the papers is true that it doesn't guarantee a higher pay but an MBA is a risk many are thinking to take similar to taking a gamble , if you make it , returns are always there. If you aren't capable , even if one gives you the tool , you can't do anything with it. That's why I said some guys with MBA cannot perform under stressful conditions . One probable reason is those normal full time MBA ( not top ) are pretty lax , all the time in the world to prepare . That said full time MBA are probably better if one has the time. Edited April 3, 2013 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 this one i can conduct Please lah, you should show more respect. The person you offered to teach is 10 time better than you in this. He is the expert in this subject matter! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 Please lah, you should show more respect. The person you offered to teach is 10 time better than you in this. He is the expert in this subject matter! he is principle mah.. i am only his lecturer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 he is principle mah.. i am only his lecturer CB Huat! Its PrinciPAL lah :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 So back until cannot back already I look back at my front, middle and back post and realised it might have come across as sexually suggestive :D ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...