Enye Hypersonic April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 hmmm...other than the rich folks MCF seems to full of banking and IT folks or IT folks in banking ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 I look back at my front, middle and back post and realised it might have come across as sexually suggestive :D Front then, always front, I'm kind of traditional that way... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 (edited) hmmm...other than the rich folks MCF seems to full of banking and IT folks or IT folks in banking Interesting... I'm part of the minority here then since I'm neither rich nor a banker nor in IT nor in IT-in-banking lol... Edited April 3, 2013 by L_club23 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vios-86 Neutral Newbie April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 dont waste time on MBA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 Waste of time unless you go to Harvard Business School and the likes. It's for networking. I have seen graduates from top business schools and alot are goons but somehow made it because it's about networking i would rather go Wharton. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 3, 2013 Share April 3, 2013 CB Huat! Its PrinciPAL lah :D what you want me to do?? spell correctly you all say someone hack my account. spell wrongly highlight big big... its difficult to be ah huat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged October 7, 2021 Share October 7, 2021 I did a quick search on MBA and came to this thread. The conclusion I get after reading a few pages is, "Don't waste time". Is Non-Ivy league Normal MBA really so useless? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged October 8, 2021 Share October 8, 2021 On 2/7/2012 at 5:32 PM, RadX said: that is true too. At least one from the reputable ones that holds their weight Don't like that leh, Uptron ACL can also land with an MNC's fat paying job. It boils down to who you know. Joke aside, 'reputable' is very difficult to justify nowadays. There are also executive MBA awarded by reputable uni by just 'mixing around for a couple of weeks'. Hope I didn't quote wrongly. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged October 8, 2021 Share October 8, 2021 12 hours ago, Albeniz said: I did a quick search on MBA and came to this thread. The conclusion I get after reading a few pages is, "Don't waste time". Is Non-Ivy league Normal MBA really so useless? I would say, very little of it is practical in a real world scenario. But it’s a test of your skills and ability and to see how you pare up with peers in the industry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 8, 2021 Share October 8, 2021 13 hours ago, Albeniz said: I did a quick search on MBA and came to this thread. The conclusion I get after reading a few pages is, "Don't waste time". Is Non-Ivy league Normal MBA really so useless? MBA is about networking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic October 8, 2021 Share October 8, 2021 13 hours ago, Albeniz said: I did a quick search on MBA and came to this thread. The conclusion I get after reading a few pages is, "Don't waste time". Is Non-Ivy league Normal MBA really so useless? Can only comment on Executive MBA (total about 14 weeks of lessons). Good for those professionals who know nothing outside their fields to learn about subjects like finance, economics, marketing even negotiation skills, and they plan to do beyond their professional fields or to venture into businesses. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear October 8, 2021 Share October 8, 2021 Usefulness of MBA to advance career was 20 years ago. Nowadays it is about specialised and targeted skills to get a good paying job, as long as the skills stay relevant. E.g. data analytics MSc. Although MBA may not further career, the people you meet in the course may help you in future by way of contacts. Especially if you do it at well known MBA universities that are popular with politicians and rich from around the world. Which means you have to go to USA, Switzerland, UK for a year of intense study. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged October 8, 2021 Share October 8, 2021 Actually, to say that MBA is about networking is very much a myth. If you intend to join for networking, don't. For a few reasons: 1) The course participants already come from such diverse backgrounds and fields. Even if you build up a relationship with them, not all would be useful in your professional circle. eg. different industries, fields and specialities. How is someone from the oil rigging field relevant to someone in banking in terms of professional contacts ? And some from other countries. 2) Most if not all, already so busy with existing workload, family, Covid issues and course work which needs to be done after work or on weekends, who got time to friend-friend with you. 3) With more online module deliveries, its even harder to have the physical handshake, coffee and connection If you are after networking, Linkedin Premium might be a better option. Share good industry insights and views, people would chat up with you. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged October 8, 2021 Share October 8, 2021 (edited) Say what you like. Maybe only in Singapore context, many of our ministers are from the same school. Only RI is poor according to one of the ministers. Edited October 8, 2021 by Victor68 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...