Pchmj Clutched February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 I think of it this way. Low fertility rate is just an excuse to import. If there is no stop at 2 policy, I don't think our population can reach 5.2mil now, from 3mil in the 80s. How is it possible for 3mil population to have enough babies to reach their target of 6.5mil in 30 years? There is a need to import, definitely. But at such a rate? It's not to replace the lost population growth, but to spur GDP growth in the shortest time possible. PM already said govt. will not provide more incentives for us to have babies. As we all know, they always take the easy way out. They know we won't protest, won't go on strike. So just got to force it down our throat and give us some lozenges to smoothen it, does work for some people and continue voting for them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 my period is due today...but nothing yet. *worried* Who ask u wan to let him shoot inside?.. song bo.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zech Neutral Newbie February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 Alamak, why government is so quiet on why the economy needs so many immigrants to spur per unit of GDP growth? And please dont say "singapore has no resources" etc. Many other resource poor countries like Singapore do not bring in immigrants the way Singapore does to prop up economy. But many people here still blur blur,and have not woken up yet. Yup very agree. The message signal is so determined that if Singaporeans still produce low fertility, prepare to get replacement by Immigrants. So this is what the FT Policy about. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MDK Neutral Newbie February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 (edited) For those ppl who voted for the PAP and belong to the 60.1% during the last GE, you have another 5 years to repent. I forsee more votes will go to the opposition like WP and etc for the next election in another 5 years. You wont want your country to be filled with too many foreigners outcasting the locals here, do you? Don't be surprised that old man still continue to top up more foreigners like another 1-2 million over the years to compensate for the low birth rates as an excuse just to bring in more foreigners. I dont mind foreigners to come in but many of these foreigners are not talents and they have already created more social problems than whatsoever in here. The old man said the same reason like low birth rates and etc not gonna work everytime. It will backfire instead. In fact, he always repeat the same lines over and over again like low birth rates and economy and so on. Singapore seems like an united nation now. Edited February 6, 2012 by MDK Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 I think of it this way. Low fertility rate is just an excuse to import. If there is no stop at 2 policy, I don't think our population can reach 5.2mil now, from 3mil in the 80s. How is it possible for 3mil population to have enough babies to reach their target of 6.5mil in 30 years? There is a need to import, definitely. But at such a rate? It's not to replace the lost population growth, but to spur GDP growth in the shortest time possible. PM already said govt. will not provide more incentives for us to have babies. As we all know, they always take the easy way out. They know we won't protest, won't go on strike. So just got to force it down our throat and give us some lozenges to smoothen it, does work for some people and continue voting for them. Lets be frank, if there is not stop at 2 policy, will you want to give birth to more than 2 given the situation now? Stop at 2 is already 30 years or more old liao. what is important is now. what are you going to do? go for more than 2? if still stop at 2. then the fault rest with you and not the policy already since its already been abolish. so instead of keep harping on the past. look forward now, how many want to give birth (not even talking about 2 now) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 (edited) Friends and collegues around me generally have 1 kid, few have 2 nia. 3 & above is NONE!!! The rest(quite a number of them) dont even have any........and dont intend to make any. Local born Singaporean will be a rare breed very soon. Edited February 6, 2012 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 Lets be frank, if there is not stop at 2 policy, will you want to give birth to more than 2 given the situation now? Stop at 2 is already 30 years or more old liao. what is important is now. what are you going to do? go for more than 2? if still stop at 2. then the fault rest with you and not the policy already since its already been abolish. so instead of keep harping on the past. look forward now, how many want to give birth (not even talking about 2 now) You have point there. Guess the stop-at-2 did have an effect and somehow changed people mentality. But ultimately, people now can decide if how many kids they want and mange their lifestyle expectation accordingly. I see it as some are not willingly to make sacrifices to have more kids or any kid at all. If talking about olden days, as many as 10 people can stay in a 2=3room flat...but know I doubt people can tahan that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 (edited) I think of it this way. Low fertility rate is just an excuse to import. If there is no stop at 2 policy, I don't think our population can reach 5.2mil now, from 3mil in the 80s. How is it possible for 3mil population to have enough babies to reach their target of 6.5mil in 30 years? There is a need to import, definitely. But at such a rate? It's not to replace the lost population growth, but to spur GDP growth in the shortest time possible. PM already said govt. will not provide more incentives for us to have babies. As we all know, they always take the easy way out. They know we won't protest, won't go on strike. So just got to force it down our throat and give us some lozenges to smoothen it, does work for some people and continue voting for them. I have ever posted my ideas of SG procreation : 1. Sometime back ST said that SG garment spent yearly U$5B on promoting family values , marriage and babies. Frankly I don't know how many years they are spending this WASTED money thru INEFFICIENT companies promoting using probably same USELESS methods year after year. If I'm at the receiving end of this $$$, I would not complain... 2. Using alot of money on Advertising, awareness, roadshows, etcetc - which had FAILED, why can't they give this money to the family directly instead ? If they need 50,000 babies each year, give the family $25k for 1st child/year, $30k for 2nd child and $35k for 3rd child for 5 years, and family do not pay much income tax for these 5 years. 3. Those women who stopped work to be housewife are to take up upgrading lessons so that when they return to the workforce they are skilled. 4. To address the shortfall of women workers, they can IMPORT workers. Edited February 6, 2012 by Tigerwoods Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 I have ever posted my ideas of SG procreation : 1. Sometime back ST said that SG garment spent yearly U$5B on promoting family values , marriage and babies. Frankly I don't know how many years they are spending this WASTED money thru INEFFICIENT companies promoting using probably same USELESS methods year after year. If I'm at the receiving end of this $$$, I would not complain... 2. Using alot of money on Advertising, awareness, roadshows, etcetc - which had FAILED, why can't they give this money to the family directly instead ? If they need 50,000 babies each year, give the family $25k for 1st child/year, $30k for 2nd child and $35k for 3rd child for 5 years, and family do not pay much income tax for these 5 years. 3. Those women who stopped work to be housewife are to take up upgrading lessons so that when they return to the workforce they are skilled. 4. To address the shortfall of women workers, they can IMPORT workers. Which will not affect i sarpork no. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 You have point there. Guess the stop-at-2 did have an effect and somehow changed people mentality. But ultimately, people now can decide if how many kids they want and mange their lifestyle expectation accordingly. I see it as some are not willingly to make sacrifices to have more kids or any kid at all. If talking about olden days, as many as 10 people can stay in a 2=3room flat...but know I doubt people can tahan that. I will think its hasten the process rather than the cause like what other like to think. Since most first world country all facing the same problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HJAngus Neutral Newbie February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 definitely need to increase young population or will end up like Japan.....to lose 30% by the year 2030? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 I have ever posted my ideas of SG procreation : 1. Sometime back ST said that SG garment spent yearly U$5B on promoting family values , marriage and babies. Frankly I don't know how many years they are spending this WASTED money thru INEFFICIENT companies promoting using probably same USELESS methods year after year. If I'm at the receiving end of this $$$, I would not complain... 2. Using alot of money on Advertising, awareness, roadshows, etcetc - which had FAILED, why can't they give this money to the family directly instead ? If they need 50,000 babies each year, give the family $25k for 1st child/year, $30k for 2nd child and $35k for 3rd child for 5 years, and family do not pay much income tax for these 5 years. 3. Those women who stopped work to be housewife are to take up upgrading lessons so that when they return to the workforce they are skilled. 4. To address the shortfall of women workers, they can IMPORT workers. 2) i think is the best. I think one country have this and its working.. was it Australia? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pchmj Clutched February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 Lets be frank, if there is not stop at 2 policy, will you want to give birth to more than 2 given the situation now? Stop at 2 is already 30 years or more old liao. what is important is now. what are you going to do? go for more than 2? if still stop at 2. then the fault rest with you and not the policy already since its already been abolish. so instead of keep harping on the past. look forward now, how many want to give birth (not even talking about 2 now) I mean even if 30 years ago govt. didn't introduce stop at 2 policy, population now is still not enough in the eyes of PAP. The lack of babies is just an excuse to mass import now. Main reason is their greed and they blame us for not producing enough. Now it's already too late, I'm sure I will not have more than 2 kids. I'm already suffering and don't want to add more misery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 I mean even if 30 years ago govt. didn't introduce stop at 2 policy, population now is still not enough in the eyes of PAP. The lack of babies is just an excuse to mass import now. Main reason is their greed and they blame us for not producing enough. Now it's already too late, I'm sure I will not have more than 2 kids. I'm already suffering and don't want to add more misery. ah then that is a legimite excuse. there is always something wrong when bonus is tight to GDP only. ( If its Minister of Finance then of course that is exception.) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pchmj Clutched February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 PM make it clear they will not give more incentives, so don't even dream about that. I don't think they will make effort to encourage us to make babies. As I said, they go for easy way out. Importing still the fastest, doesn't matter if they do not want citizenship. When they leave this country, it's easy to get a replacement. There will still be foreigners who want SG citizenship. Since they run like a corporation with no human touch, everything is about $$. What for give us incentives? Any benefits to them? Babies need 20+ years to contribute, imports can contribute immediately. Which will they choose? Locals either slog for life or leave the country, why would they care. The bottom line about this govt. is the lack of human touch. We will see no improvement if their objectives (GDP) are unchanged. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 2) i think is the best. I think one country have this and its working.. was it Australia? ACtually 2, 3 ,4 are my solutions to the falling birth rates. However, Some friends say that this scheme will only attract the Low Income families, imagine Pop pop pop Year 1, 2 ,3 continuous got 1 baby each, then they can have : Total = $460k by Year 7. But instead of paying marketing agencies and companies to promote unsuccessful campaigns, might as well put the money at the horse's mouth. Furthermore, the number of FTs can be regulated and these FTs can generate the lost GDP of these stay home mothers. This way, not only we have increasing population that has relationship and commitment to this country (instead of importing floodgates of workers who just touch and go) we can create the organic growth to replace ourselves and more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 PM make it clear they will not give more incentives, so don't even dream about that. I don't think they will make effort to encourage us to make babies. As I said, they go for easy way out. Importing still the fastest, doesn't matter if they do not want citizenship. When they leave this country, it's easy to get a replacement. There will still be foreigners who want SG citizenship. Since they run like a corporation with no human touch, everything is about $$. What for give us incentives? Any benefits to them? Babies need 20+ years to contribute, imports can contribute immediately. Which will they choose? Locals either slog for life or leave the country, why would they care. The bottom line about this govt. is the lack of human touch. We will see no improvement if their objectives (GDP) are unchanged. If they do the easy way to import, they have serious problems. What are the Pros and Cons of these 2 types of Population expansion ? 1. an Organic growth in population 2. An imported growth in population Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 ACtually 2, 3 ,4 are my solutions to the falling birth rates. However, Some friends say that this scheme will only attract the Low Income families, imagine Pop pop pop Year 1, 2 ,3 continuous got 1 baby each, then they can have : Total = $460k by Year 7. But instead of paying marketing agencies and companies to promote unsuccessful campaigns, might as well put the money at the horse's mouth. Furthermore, the number of FTs can be regulated and these FTs can generate the lost GDP of these stay home mothers. This way, not only we have increasing population that has relationship and commitment to this country (instead of importing floodgates of workers who just touch and go) we can create the organic growth to replace ourselves and more. I think we don't have to give like 20k. Just give say 500 to 600 a month per baby for 18 years. Not too much not too little just nice to bring up the child. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...