Which part of SG is flooding now?

Vega

On 1/11/2025 at 10:55 PM, therock said:

That’s mind blowing.. I wonder why they can’t dig the canal much deeper or elevate the road.. maybe pros can share why 

even if this is a temporary flood, it really looks bad 

That stretch of bt timah default always flooded whenever heavy rain. Until now they still do not have solution for this.

That’s what I hope an engineer can help decipher..

is there no solution?

im not an expert but say we double the depth of the canal? Ie increase flow drainage volume 

also check the flow and any clogged drainage along the stretch especially since there’s plenty of construction 

since it’s a landed enclave the flow should be better than a built up again so I’m puzzled 

On 1/12/2025 at 9:29 AM, therock said:

That’s what I hope an engineer can help decipher..

is there no solution?

im not an expert but say we double the depth of the canal? Ie increase flow drainage volume 

also check the flow and any clogged drainage along the stretch especially since there’s plenty of construction 

since it’s a landed enclave the flow should be better than a built up again so I’m puzzled 

I am also puzzled. Call it a "Bukit", i.e. hill, high ground. But always flooded there [laugh]

Maybe some colonial cartographer's idea of a joke!

On 1/11/2025 at 10:48 PM, Jellandross said:

Watch out drive safe

Have seen better roads in rural Malaysia

On 1/12/2025 at 9:15 AM, 13177 said:

That stretch of bt timah default always flooded whenever heavy rain. Until now they still do not have solution for this.

IMHO.

Not sure which stretch. The  possible solution has been KIV'ed.   Some news information.

Bukit Timah Canal upgrade completion pushed to 2026 to sync with green corridor works

SINGAPORE – Completion of upgrading works for a 900m section of the Bukit Timah Canal will be delayed from 2024 to 2026 to align with the development of a green corridor in the same area, to minimise disruption.

Dovetailing both projects would avoid prolonged traffic diversion along Bukit Timah Road, and the inconvenience it would pose for residents, motorists and business owners, Minister for Sustainability and the Environment Grace Fu told Parliament on Tuesday.

National water agency PUB started work in 2019 to widen and deepen the stretch of Bukit Timah Canal from Rifle Range Road to Jalan Kampong Chantek to increase its rainwater capacity by 30 per cent.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/politics/bukit-timah-canal-upgrade-completion-pushed-to-2026-to-sync-with-green-corridor-works

Also more information on this thread.

https://www.mse.gov.sg/latest-news/oral-reply-to-pq-on-drainage-improvement-at-bukit-timah-canal

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rochor_River

The Rochor River is a continuation of the Rochor Canal, and begins beneath Victoria Bridge and empties into the Kallang Basin. The Rochor Canal continues upstream as far as the junction of Jalan Jurong Kechil and Upper Bukit Timah Road

https://landezine.com/rochor-canal-by-henning-larsen/R

Rochor River is an urban stormwater canal which flows from Bukit Timah all the way down to Marina Barrage 

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/19fwLguZGA/

Edited by Kklim

On paper all systems are perfectly designed…until something clog along somewhere…remember that flyover junction at tenpenis ikea…?😂

On 1/12/2025 at 5:59 PM, therock said:

I wonder if the list of flood prone areas is really updated.. certain areas haven't seen floods for a long time but are still on the list.. 

https://www.pub.gov.sg/-/media/PUB/Flood-Resilience/Documents/List-of-Flood-prone-Areas-in-Singapore.pdf

PUB just leave it there,never Flood,does not mean won't Flood,just in case really Flood,Residents there won't KPKB.

On 1/12/2025 at 6:23 PM, ER-3682 said:

PUB just leave it there,never Flood,does not mean won't Flood,just in case really Flood,Residents there won't KPKB.

Smart move...cover all grounds first to avoid kena butter on the buttock IF...😁

In that case, you might as well add all of SG except B Timah hill.... I hope we never get covered in water.... but honestly I like the wet and cold, feels like winter

No need to fly to Japan to get some cool weather... 

On 1/12/2025 at 6:56 PM, therock said:

In that case, you might as well add all of SG except B Timah hill.... I hope we never get covered in water.... but honestly I like the wet and cold, feels like winter

No need to fly to Japan to get some cool weather... 

I stay next Kallang River.

No flood here ever

Flooding at Jalan Seaview on Jan 10 due to 'heavy rain coinciding with high tide': PUB

pub_flood_singapore_0.jpg?itok=6-PBWcl-

A Quick Response Team (QRT) vehicle responded to the flooding along Jalan Seaview on Jan 10, 2025

The flooding that occurred along a stretch of Jalan Seaview on Friday (Jan 10) evening was due to "heavy rain coinciding with high tide", national water agency PUB said on Sunday.

The rain due to the ongoing monsoon surge and a high tide of 2.8m "temporarily overwhelmed the adjacent canal and surrounding roadside drains", it said in a Facebook post.

PUB had issued flood risk warnings for a few locations including Jalan Seaview, the junction of Mountbatten Road and Tanjong Katong South Road, as well as Jalan Pokok Serunai where the heavy rain resulted in high water levels in drains and canals.

pub_flood_singapore2_0.jpg?itok=CEh9HlwN

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/monsoon-surge-flooding-jalan-seaview-heavy-rain-high-tide-pub-4852436

• Sad 1

Want to buy landed property? 
better open your eyes and look carefully!

Properties in flood areas, make sure dont buy.  Or less, shorten your life!

On 1/12/2025 at 10:58 PM, Didu said:

Flooding at Jalan Seaview on Jan 10 due to 'heavy rain coinciding with high tide': PUB

A Quick Response Team (QRT) vehicle responded to the flooding along Jalan Seaview on Jan 10, 2025

The flooding that occurred along a stretch of Jalan Seaview on Friday (Jan 10) evening was due to "heavy rain coinciding with high tide", national water agency PUB said on Sunday.

The rain due to the ongoing monsoon surge and a high tide of 2.8m "temporarily overwhelmed the adjacent canal and surrounding roadside drains", it said in a Facebook post.

PUB had issued flood risk warnings for a few locations including Jalan Seaview, the junction of Mountbatten Road and Tanjong Katong South Road, as well as Jalan Pokok Serunai where the heavy rain resulted in high water levels in drains and canals.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/monsoon-surge-flooding-jalan-seaview-heavy-rain-high-tide-pub-4852436

Aiyoh, how to buy such properties?  

On 1/12/2025 at 10:58 PM, Didu said:

Indirectly blaming the 6 planets ensemble for causing the high tide hor 😁

On 1/3/2025 at 10:11 AM, inlinesix said:

If he don't do anything, ppl say Govt "Monitoring"

If he do something, ppl say Wayang to the max

HEADACHE

😂

Problem is,when he needs to do his duties, he didn't not the wayang people are looking for. 

On 1/12/2025 at 11:25 PM, Throttle2 said:

Want to buy landed property? 
better open your eyes and look carefully!

Properties in flood areas, make sure dont buy. Or less, shorten your life!

There are some areas known to be low laying and prone to flooding. Over the years, they have addressed some but wonder why only some whilst others nothing much done. No budget? All budget spent building cycling lanes?