Which part of SG is flooding now?

Vega

On 5/4/2024 at 11:09 AM, mersaylee said:

Dubai 2.0 here...? Mlmlwml...i no need undercarriage car wash 😅

I go test my ev can be like that taycan anot😂

On 2/5/2024 at 8:26 AM, Victor68 said:

Was all these ponding due to once in a 100 years downpour? Why orchard road no more such problem? They have fixed the once a thousand years now?

To me, it was the lack of drain maintenance and constant construction works causing the discharge of rain water issue. Also new developments being build where infrastructure not upgraded on time. Hope I am wrong.

IMHO.
The floods of the yester years.   I think some Newater pipes were removed around Delfi Orchard area. 

2.9 Presence of Services in Stamford Canal

2.9.1 The Panel noted that within the Stamford Canal, there exist numerous services such as potable water and sewer pipelines that cross various sections of the canal. These services were left in place when the Stamford Canal was reconstructed in the 1980s, and the capacity designed to include their presence. In addition, the Stamford Canal had been designed with a freeboard of 15%, and this was deemed to be a practical buffer to allow for contingencies. The Panel also noted that in 2004, in view of limited land and congested underground space within the Stamford Canal Catchment for pipe-laying, a decision was made to lay NEWater pipelines within the Stamford Canal. The assumption then was that these pipelines will not take up more than the buffer space provided by the 15% freeboard, and hence, will not affect the design flow capacity in the canal. As such, between Mar 2005  to Jul 2007, NEWater pipelines of diameter ranging from 160mm to 660m were subsequently laid in the Stamford Canal from Orange Grove Road to Raffles Boulevard.

2.9.2 Based on the evidence shared by PUB, the presence of these services accounted for not more than 8% of the canal flow capacity. Subject to further evidence, the Panel agreed that the presence of these services might have been a contributing factor in increasing the flood risk for the area due to the reduction in the freeboard/ buffer capacity of the canal. The extent of their effect will have to be further modelled and analysed. Notwithstanding this, the Panel opined that PUB should seriously consider removing some of these services so as to provide greater buffer in the canal flow capacity.

Conclusion 2I: The presence of the See 2.9services in the Stamford Canal might have been a contributing factor to the floods but further modelling and analysis are required to determine the extent of their effect.

Source : https://www.pub.gov.sg/-/media/Images/Feature/Content-Pages/Public/Singapore-Water-Loop/fullReport.pdf

On 5/4/2024 at 11:22 AM, RadX said:

I go test my ev can be like that taycan anot😂

Faster bring your i4 go swimming.  

On 5/4/2024 at 11:52 AM, Tohto said:

Faster bring your i4 go swimming.  

Then purposely find reason to change ah?😂😂

On 5/4/2024 at 12:03 PM, RadX said:

Then purposely find reason to change ah?😂😂

No need lah...isn't it always a spontaneous affair for you...reason or excuse readily available one lah...since full cash neber an issue...😁

So now how?

Okkkj

[Flooding incident at 6 Balmoral Crescent]

PUB was alerted by the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) to a flooding incident in a basement carpark at 6 Balmoral Crescent (The Twins) at 7.55am on 4 May 2024. 

PUB, together with SCDF and the building’s managing agent, deployed drainage pumps to pump out the water from the basement carpark. 

Based on preliminary investigations, a faulty valve in the basement’s sprinkler storage tank caused water to overflow and flooded the carpark.

This is an isolated incident not caused by rainfall. At the time of the incident, rainfall over the area was not heavy and the nearby drains were not flowing at full capacity.

On 5/4/2024 at 7:53 PM, RadX said:

So now how?

Okkkj

[Flooding incident at 6 Balmoral Crescent]

PUB was alerted by the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) to a flooding incident in a basement carpark at 6 Balmoral Crescent (The Twins) at 7.55am on 4 May 2024. 

PUB, together with SCDF and the building’s managing agent, deployed drainage pumps to pump out the water from the basement carpark. 

Based on preliminary investigations, a faulty valve in the basement’s sprinkler storage tank caused water to overflow and flooded the carpark.

This is an isolated incident not caused by rainfall. At the time of the incident, rainfall over the area was not heavy and the nearby drains were not flowing at full capacity.

Flooded cars to claim from condo mcst?  Mcst got insurance coverage for such things?

On 5/4/2024 at 8:23 PM, Tkseah said:

Flooded cars to claim from condo mcst?  Mcst got insurance coverage for such things?

Yes shd have.

KNN, don't say basement ponding only, up high at level 4A also can enjoy fishing after the evening rain. 

WTF, I going to send these photos to the new PM tomorrow as his welcome gift. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Screenshot_2024-05-14-20-27-06-41_965bbf4d18d205f782c6b8409c5773a4.thumb.jpg.770e869ab51ca66b08e9c06d0c1422bb.jpg

Screenshot_2024-05-14-20-27-14-78_965bbf4d18d205f782c6b8409c5773a4.thumb.jpg.a5ed5a3cf79754ab47b3f77f772e308e.jpg

On 5/14/2024 at 8:33 PM, Tianmo said:

KNN, don't say basement ponding only, up high at level 4A also can enjoy fishing after the evening rain. 

WTF, I going to send these photos to the new PM tomorrow as his welcome gift. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Screenshot_2024-05-14-20-27-06-41_965bbf4d18d205f782c6b8409c5773a4.thumb.jpg.770e869ab51ca66b08e9c06d0c1422bb.jpg

Screenshot_2024-05-14-20-27-14-78_965bbf4d18d205f782c6b8409c5773a4.thumb.jpg.a5ed5a3cf79754ab47b3f77f772e308e.jpg

Any guppy fish swimming there .

On 5/14/2024 at 8:33 PM, Tianmo said:

This is common lo, at least the ponding would not become as bad as basement carpark where your car would go swimming.

My place MSCP top level also become mini ponding whenever it rain heavily. Feedback to TC many times and yet still the same until i give up liao.