VW interior quality vs jap/koreans

Expertz

Sometimes it depends how you define reliable in a car? Some people might think if the car can take them to point A to point B without breaking down is reliable. Some might think if the car dont have things spoilt or major parts replacement is reliable. So i guess each people have different understanding on reliability.

you heng lah. not everyday Sunday hor. :D

bro I also sold my car within 4days, very fast

seems like selling yourself is much better and faster, try it to believe it

somemore you can undercut other agents and still get better than miserable trade in prices, as no middle man to erode value, give it a thought :)

Only the uninformed buy Conti car and expect it to be more reliable than Japanese or even Korean rides.

even german engineered audis and mercedes have faults so i won't consider reliability a major factor, i think luck plays a part

but for a 130k jetta sports or a 140k scirocco, the interior quality isn't even on par with a 99k kia koup

not like i'm expecting much, just give me the same 140k quality i feel in a honda accord!

terribly disappointed, going down to a car dealer today to buy a 2nd hand japanese

at least i'll feel more luxurious in a 2nd hand japanese than a brand new VW

even german engineered audis and mercedes have faults so i won't consider reliability a major factor, i think luck plays a part

but for a 130k jetta sports or a 140k scirocco, the interior quality isn't even on par with a 99k kia koup

not like i'm expecting much, just give me the same 140k quality i feel in a honda accord!

terribly disappointed, going down to a car dealer today to buy a 2nd hand japanese

can't compare to a kia koup? i don't mean to be blunt but i doubt your taste for design and refinement

the koup interior is complicated, unfocused and full of hard shiny plastics. the font on buttons looks like crap. at least the jetta does not have a hard smooth plastic surface - even if it's hard plastic it's textured.

just fyi i do not drive a jetta and i do not feel obliged to defend it but the way some people compare vw to kia koup's interior.. oh please... you tickle my toes. even the gearstick looks like a botak head. look at where the "answer call" button is on the steering. who the heck puts a button there?!

please, please.... kids... stop defending your korean rides. they may be catching up, but they're not there yet. i give them the due respect for catching up so quickly though.

26297045.jpeg

2011-volkswagen-jetta-interior-car-fashion.jpg

Edited by Detach8

Seriously I don't find the Kia coup interior anything spectacular. The light up ring at the speakers on doors is hideous in the Kia coup.

Sometimes it depends how you define reliable in a car? Some people might think if the car can take them to point A to point B without breaking down is reliable. Some might think if the car dont have things spoilt or major parts replacement is reliable. So i guess each people have different understanding on reliability.

reliability is relative, just like "expensive"... very hot thread in this forum. y u buy expensive car... why not ask y u buy unreliable car :P

JDM/KDM cars unlike conti cars have little sensors and all that whacko technology to keep the car in check. people say conti is unreliable. but look at it this way, for example a conti ride would prompt you to top up 1L of engine oil, and then owner complain oil leak. in a KDM/JDM you would have ran your engine dry until it blew up.

for the savvy, conti rides can be just as reliable if you know how to maintain your ride. there will be small issues here and there. i've owned JDM (March, Latio, Mazda2), KDM (Verna) and Conti rides... all of them have their own stupid problems. Anybody here drives a Picanto? The auto tranny will start to kaput from 80,000kms onwards... talk about KDM reliability. P.S. BTW Picanto was voted the most reliable car or something in Europe...

but vw service centre really not expanding fast enough to match its sales.. book service today and it will be earliest i think end of March. lol

Yah..VW really need to buck up on it's after sales.. good example of good after sales.. look at toyota and suzuki.. mass market cars and good AD servicing with various service centers (7 in total) all over the island.. it is the commitment of the AD to it's customers.. VW is just too profit driven.. take over distributorship.. sell cars to VW SG at frenship price.. sell cars at margins similar or higher then brands using AD yet only one service center to the large numbers of cars sold

Wtd to chg my 10mth old civic 1.8A to Civic 2012 and turned off after drive and family visit due to lousy interior & square frontier. Went to VW for Jetta several times and NG interior and good at exterior so decided not to change. Passat is good but too ex to chg over. Civic may facelift in 2013.

Your civic only 10 month old and you want to change car? [:/]

reliability is relative, just like "expensive"... very hot thread in this forum. y u buy expensive car... why not ask y u buy unreliable car :P

JDM/KDM cars unlike conti cars have little sensors and all that whacko technology to keep the car in check. people say conti is unreliable. but look at it this way, for example a conti ride would prompt you to top up 1L of engine oil, and then owner complain oil leak. in a KDM/JDM you would have ran your engine dry until it blew up.

for the savvy, conti rides can be just as reliable if you know how to maintain your ride. there will be small issues here and there. i've owned JDM (March, Latio, Mazda2), KDM (Verna) and Conti rides... all of them have their own stupid problems. Anybody here drives a Picanto? The auto tranny will start to kaput from 80,000kms onwards... talk about KDM reliability. P.S. BTW Picanto was voted the most reliable car or something in Europe...

Sometimes also depends on your luck. Same make/model also can have different stupid problems, and doesnt happen on every car. Example my friend's altis, one of the power window is spoilt, but another friend no such problem, and both cars also about the same year.

for the idiot who said can't compare scirocco interior with koup interior. i dont mind driving out to prove you wrong.

i had both cars in the family at one point of time and koup is all HARD plastics. scirocco is soft plastics for wherever your eyes will mostly gaze upon and hard plastics for areas you dont get to see or touch often.

heck, even my sporty flat bottom leather steering wheel feels more shiok than koup's steering wheel.

the koup's leathered seats (probably local fitted) is crappy, after a mere 6 months.. all saggy and stretched. hard plastic rattling even at cruising speeds.. so unacceptable.

Yah..VW really need to buck up on it's after sales.. good example of good after sales.. look at toyota and suzuki.. mass market cars and good AD servicing with various service centers (7 in total) all over the island.. it is the commitment of the AD to it's customers.. VW is just too profit driven.. take over distributorship.. sell cars to VW SG at frenship price.. sell cars at margins similar or higher then brands using AD yet only one service center to the large numbers of cars sold

PML servicing need booking only 1 week or 2 weeks in advance and considering how many BMWs are on our roads, VW singapore is a pathetic failure.

anyway, if your vw has got not much issue.. actually the interaction with the crappy service centre can be kept to a minimum (only for servicing).

mine puts a smile on my face everyday even after 1 year+ of ownership. battery recently died and vw road assistance arrived after 1 hour to change and FOC [cool]

for the idiot who said can't compare scirocco interior with koup interior. i dont mind driving out to prove you wrong.

i had both cars in the family at one point of time and koup is all HARD plastics. scirocco is soft plastics for wherever your eyes will mostly gaze upon and hard plastics for areas you dont get to see or touch often.

heck, even my sporty flat bottom leather steering wheel feels more shiok than koup's steering wheel.

the koup's leathered seats (probably local fitted) is crappy, after a mere 6 months.. all saggy and stretched. hard plastic rattling even at cruising speeds.. so unacceptable.

good one, sometimes these kids just need some ass kickin

your def of luxurious is really questionable. May i know what 2nd hand jap cars you sat in? cheers :D

Beei likes this [thumbsup]

Ha u're right.. if just normal svcing.. prob can scrap through with one service center.. afterall for a population of 159k Toyotas(as at YE2011) w 7 service center.. approx 22.7k Toyotas per center compared to 13+k of VW to one svc center.. guess it's the Germans misplaced confidence in their product.. or SG too small a market for them to seriously bother

Edited by Ril3k

Seriously, one must really own both makes before. drive around in for 2-3 years then they will know which interior is good, ride, handling etc. I owned a korean make in my family now for almost 1 year ( kia forte) and all i can say is that the interior really doesnt age as well as previous jap and my entry conti (which i just sold off) . So I can only comment on the makes i had owned, drove before. As for kia coup, it's hard plastics all over and no way Sirocco is worse . Expertz must have heard from his friends and not sat in one before?

can't compare to a kia koup? i don't mean to be blunt but i doubt your taste for design and refinement

the koup interior is complicated, unfocused and full of hard shiny plastics. the font on buttons looks like crap. at least the jetta does not have a hard smooth plastic surface - even if it's hard plastic it's textured.

just fyi i do not drive a jetta and i do not feel obliged to defend it but the way some people compare vw to kia koup's interior.. oh please... you tickle my toes. even the gearstick looks like a botak head. look at where the "answer call" button is on the steering. who the heck puts a button there?!

please, please.... kids... stop defending your korean rides. they may be catching up, but they're not there yet. i give them the due respect for catching up so quickly though.

Maybe someone is trying to justify why he buy Civic or Koup, this thread feel simialr to the thread asking people why buy expensive car.

"That day I went to see the new BMW 5er, which I am interested to buy, & the interior, th eleather looks cheap, the quality feel flimsy, then I went to Kah motor. I think the interior of the 5er not better than the Civic I saw, which you have to be nitpick to fault. So in the end I bought the Civic. " [:p]