VW interior quality vs jap/koreans

Expertz

Just my 2 cents ....

I am not prepared to pay the high premium for a VW. The premium (Margin) that VW get is pretty close to the luxury brands like Merc, BMW or Audi.

On top of that, the poor after sales service .....

Bro, which car is not well respected in their home country ?

Just blame on small domestic market, high ARF and local car dealers for bringing in low cost options.

[laugh] [laugh]Proton

Hmm...sincerely congratulating you for getting a problem free golf.seems like not many are as lucky as you.

I think part of the problem is the expectations of many new VW owners. There is the mindset of 'buy Conti car so must be better / more reliable / better service than Jap or Korean car'. Honestly, as many have mentioned here, VW is a mass brand. The cars are also mass priced these days, so why are the expectations so different from other mass brands? There are some issues with the car that if it had been a Honda, people would just accept it. But because it's a VW, they expect more and make more noise. Just my 2c :D

It's not well respected in the home country meh ? Among the top 10 cars in the home country, got 4 cars from Proton.

I think proton cars not very popular in malaysia now. You can see not many proton cars on the road, esp the new cars.

It's not well respected in the home country meh ? Among the top 10 cars in the home country, got 4 cars from Proton.

cos of protection from the gahment...

extra tax for imported car and low cost for proton (abeit domestic QC)

not sure bumi got extra kick back

but peeps i know rather walk than step into a proton (domestic stock) [:p]

have owned & drove Vios, civic & VW polo

Currently driving Roc & \\\3

The things to consider beside interior are also the handling, high speed stability & safety (Ncap) which mass conti & alas conti cars models can provide.

I dun swear by any brand. If they can provide the above thingys i will consider them. [drivingcar]

have owned & drove Vios, civic & VW polo

Currently driving Roc & \\\3

The things to consider beside interior are also the handling, high speed stability & safety (Ncap) which mass conti & alas conti cars models can provide.

I dun swear by any brand. If they can provide the above thingys i will consider them. [drivingcar]

Agree with what Troy has mentioned.

No doubt the Japs are falling behind in several areas but the Koreans are catching up in terms of technology, design and reliability. Durability still a question though.

Just my two cents...

I think proton cars not very popular in malaysia now. You can see not many proton cars on the road, esp the new cars.

The power of branding. Proton has been cheap, cheap and cheap.

If one buys a Persona and another a Vios, people will perceive the one with Vios is more successful and rich.

VW has been more ex than Honda in the 90's and early 2000. Most will perceive VW more atas than Honda when it might not necessary has better value than Honda.

Those who dump Honda for VW, perhaps regretted... with the poor reliability and after sales service.

The power of branding. Proton has been cheap, cheap and cheap.

If one buys a Persona and another a Vios, people will perceive the one with Vios is more successful and rich.

VW has been more ex than Honda in the 90's and early 2000. Most will perceive VW more atas than Honda when it might not necessary has better value than Honda.

Those who dump Honda for VW, perhaps regretted... with the poor reliability and after sales service.

I guess many people has dump jap cars for VW.

Everything else being equal, I doubt we'll see a quarter of the Protons on the road.

at this price bracket, most talk about FC, running costs and comfort. and probably abit of interior car features and performance. the thing is, Jetta manage to do the first three very well with its smaller engine but turbocharged + Direct shift gearbox (DSG) + lower road tax and also comfort is backed up by leather upholstery and bigger interior space. Jetta also tries to serve its occupants well in terms of interior car features (traction control, cruise control, touch screen head unit with 6 CD/DVD and navigation + many others) and performance is rightly justified with its sports version (twincharged 160bhp 240nm giving you century sprint of 8.3seconds).

if you are a more performance oriented person and would like a bit of punch in your everyday family sedan, tell me which 1.6 1.8 or 2L family sedan offerings from Jap can beat the jetta sports? unless you mean CTR. actually, at this price bracket, it's not like we are comparing S500 vs 750i interior space, comfort and features or the performance of ferrari 458italia vs mcclaren MP4-12C. so just give & take la.

people can argue until the cow comes home but at the end of the day, if price difference is not significant, and with the above offerings by the Jetta, you still choose civic or altis or any other jap or korean family car, i'd say its your choice lah. no right or wrong. no need to put down another car brand in order to make yours feel good (especially when its not true).

but vw service centre really not expanding fast enough to match its sales.. book service today and it will be earliest i think end of March. lol