Babyt 4th Gear January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 OT, I was on this flight when the fat man beside me stink of strong cigarette smell on his body....and i cant change seat cos its full flight. was gasping for fresh air for the entire flight. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 Flew from Chicago to Heathrow, and met a 70-year old lady who worked at RAF Seletar Airfield 50 years ago. Friendly Chinese servants, non-stop partying and drinking, cheap street food and beautiful sunsets was her unforgettable experience of Malaya (Singapore and Malaysia). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 OT, I was on this flight when the fat man beside me stink of strong cigarette smell on his body....and i cant change seat cos its full flight. was gasping for fresh air for the entire flight. Could have just bought a bottle of perfume onboard the aircraft and spray on the person beside you ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 So far, most of my business trip are short haul <2hr kind.. For long haul flight, it's almost always overnight flight, so 90% of the passengers will be sleeping while the other 10% are engrossed in in-flight entertainment.. But i'd love to talk to people though.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 i understand airline rule asks passengers to straighten the seat during meal time.... so this is not a problem as the stewardess will politely ask passengers to do it it is not if you fly on American flight...I asked the air stewardess to get the passengers to straighten his seat during meal and she farking tell me that he has the right to recline his seat...CB!.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 Many years back was flying back to Singapore was buying magazines inside the terminal, met a mother and her daughter paying for chewing gum. they were arguing whether it was illegal to bring chewing gum to Singapore so I told them that you could eat it, just cannot sell it after that found out that the daughter was coming over to Singapore to study. when we boarded the plane, we arranged to swap seats so that we sat together during the flight she was 18 at that time, innocent and very sweet we exchanged contacts and we dated for awhile in Singapore. She was really pretty but not my kind at that time, so I set her up with my friend. soon she started modelling and appearing in magazines, and eventually appeared in a HK movie with Leon Lai! that was a highlight for me in terms of strangers beside me on a plane. wow... most happening story leow! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 I used to. Now I just jack in my noise-cancelling headphones and enjoy the movie marathon. My ''bose'' noise cancelation is my best partner for travel....especially my US trip... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 talking to strangers can be fun and interesting...and time also passes by faster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheepo 3rd Gear January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 Quite boring on most flights especially when you have engineers or management-type people sitting next to you. But I did have a few interesting in-flight neighbours including one ang moh who runs some kind of security/protection company in South Africa and one old American missionary who spoke very good mandarin. Once I was freaked out by a china woman (mid 30s) who kept asking for my contact in Singapore. Managed to escape upon disembarking and giving her a false number ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 (edited) i understand airline rule asks passengers to straighten the seat during meal time.... so this is not a problem as the stewardess will politely ask passengers to do it Depends on what Airline.. Budget air, the seat pitch is damn pathetic, so it will be quite jialat for the passenger behind.. I flew with SQ from Seoul on my last business trip. It was a midnight flight and i was damn farking tired (cos i flew out from China on a 8am flight and spent the entire day walking around Seoul before returning to the Incheon). The moment the seatbelts signs are off, i recline my seats and asked the stewardess not to wake me up for meal (knn, midnight flight "breakfast" is at 4am). Took those eye cover and plug in my noise cancelling earphones. Slept all the way thru until the stewardess woke me up in preparation for landing. SQ's seat pitch on economy is quite good. Even the front seats recline all the way, the rear passengers still have decent legroom and space for meals. All through the flight, no one disturb me or anything. Edited January 30, 2012 by Shull Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 i only talk to two types of pple.... 1) Old uncle or aunty.... 2) Pretty girl.... for (2)....i think you all will never ask me why...for (1)....don't ask me why..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 Out of curiosity, do you usually talk to the stranger beside you on a plane? I was flying back from Sydney once from a business trip and chatted with this girl beside me. Asian but Aussie transiting to Singapore to go to Japan. Found her to be extremely intelligent and fun to chat with. Any other interesting encounters? You can share interesting airport encounters too. Already married, better not start any fire.... small chat can cause sparks too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 i understand airline rule asks passengers to straighten the seat during meal time.... so this is not a problem as the stewardess will politely ask passengers to do it Some passenger dont take any meal and sleep entire journey, so this is when problem arise if he incline his seat during meal time. And he will get pissed off having to get disturbed, and some might kick up a fuss. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 yes....until now i still cannot understand why they serve breakfast at 4am for a 5-6hrs flight that leave midnight....12am fly...up in the air...drink some water...sleep.....wake up 4am mean can only sleep maybe 3hrs.....then u eat....then want sleep...cannot sleep liao...then blur blur get off at 6am !!! maybe some will prefer to eat...but for me is sleeping...with exception of midnight flight to japan...somehow inflight japanese meal is very nice....i don't know why....other than this...even normal lunch or dinner...i ask for instant noodle...if you all happen to see a wierd guy that eat cup noodle during meal time...there will be a likelyhood its me.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 Out of curiosity, do you usually talk to the stranger beside you on a plane? I was flying back from Sydney once from a business trip and chatted with this girl beside me. Asian but Aussie transiting to Singapore to go to Japan. Found her to be extremely intelligent and fun to chat with. Any other interesting encounters? You can share interesting airport encounters too. Get her no. bo? that is xian zar bo lay.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 yes....until now i still cannot understand why they serve breakfast at 4am for a 5-6hrs flight that leave midnight....12am fly...up in the air...drink some water...sleep.....wake up 4am mean can only sleep maybe 3hrs.....then u eat....then want sleep...cannot sleep liao...then blur blur get off at 6am !!! maybe some will prefer to eat...but for me is sleeping...with exception of midnight flight to japan...somehow inflight japanese meal is very nice....i don't know why....other than this...even normal lunch or dinner...i ask for instant noodle...if you all happen to see a wierd guy that eat cup noodle during meal time...there will be a likelyhood its me.... Exactly what i had in mind too.. Who the fark are in their right mind to eat breakfast at 4am after 4hr sleep? Other than Army boys doing guard duties, i can hardly think of anyone else.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 I kena cornered twice. Once on a flight Ex-SIN to LHR. This woman started chatting me up on the pretext of not knowing how to use "Krisworld". Turned out she was an insurance agent and the next 45 mins or so before meal service, she was telling me the importance of financial planning and why I should buy an additional policy from her.... really irritating and "never say die" persistence. Another instance was this attractive gal telling me to believe in "Him" and how "He" made such an impact in her life... she invited me to join her "fellowship".... Of course I declined politely. These days, I just keep my mouth shut Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 ya...best drink some beer...then sleep all the way until touch down...then go eat some kaya toast with half boil egg...or some wanton mee at hawker center...ha ha ha... too much encounter of these kind of dead hour flight...I am sure most in their right mind won't care about the breakfast... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...