Yixiang1 3rd Gear January 27, 2012 Share January 27, 2012 Just curious abt this. In local workshops, usually the mechanic is malaysian, so I wonder how much is their pay.. E.g. for 20min to 30min of mechanic's time to change engine oil, labour charge abt $20 to $30. For 45min to 1 hr job to change suspension, workshop charge abt $80. So based on this, the mechanic can earn the workshop abt $60-$80 per hour. If workshop business is good, do non-stop, 8 hours day = $480 to $640 a day. So I wonder how much of this is to pay for workshop overheads, e.g. rental, utilities, and how much is mechanic's pay... I guess it is quite low, given the strong S$... maybe like $10 to S$20 per hour for mechanic? Mechanic pay abt S$100 a day? S$2-3k a month? Up for discussion here. And pls give amount in S$ not RM ok... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear January 27, 2012 Share January 27, 2012 (edited) mechanics can earn between $2000-$3000+ depending on seniority. workshop rental can be hefty ranging between $6000-10000 not inclusive of the equipments they have to invest in. if workshop makes $500/day, for 6 days week = $12000 revenue per car per month. workshops can usually accommodate 3-4 cars so $36-48k if they are fully booked all the time. this is not including profits from part sales. less overheads i think a workshop during good times can turnover $10-20k in revenue per month after paying salaries. but that is if your workshop is booked fully. some workshops that do high end stuff like tuning, etc. can make more as the job is relatively quick and profits are extremely high. you have to remember, at the end of the day of course the tawkay of the workshop earns more. he put the money in, bought the equipment, he hire people, need to train people, he got risks, still need to pay rental when times are bad but the workers can just pack up and leave. so i think workshops are very competitive as a business already. Edited January 27, 2012 by Detach8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gt2929 1st Gear January 27, 2012 Share January 27, 2012 my brother in law pay his worker about 2k+ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear January 27, 2012 Share January 27, 2012 On 1/27/2012 at 5:21 AM, Detach8 said: mechanics can earn between $2000-$3000+ depending on seniority. workshop rental can be hefty ranging between $6000-10000 not inclusive of the equipments they have to invest in. if workshop makes $500/day, for 6 days week = $12000 revenue per car per month. workshops can usually accommodate 3-4 cars so $36-48k if they are fully booked all the time. this is not including profits from part sales. less overheads i think a workshop during good times can turnover $10-20k in revenue per month after paying salaries. but that is if your workshop is booked fully. some workshops that do high end stuff like tuning, etc. can make more as the job is relatively quick and profits are extremely high. you have to remember, at the end of the day of course the tawkay of the workshop earns more. he put the money in, bought the equipment, he hire people, need to train people, he got risks, still need to pay rental when times are bad but the workers can just pack up and leave. so i think workshops are very competitive as a business already. ya its a great insight.... high end tuning will cost...it goes up the ladder...and i think it will depend on who has money to throw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear January 27, 2012 Share January 27, 2012 On 1/27/2012 at 5:11 AM, Yixiang1 said: Just curious abt this. In local workshops, usually the mechanic is malaysian, so I wonder how much is their pay.. E.g. for 20min to 30min of mechanic's time to change engine oil, labour charge abt $20 to $30. For 45min to 1 hr job to change suspension, workshop charge abt $80. So based on this, the mechanic can earn the workshop abt $60-$80 per hour. If workshop business is good, do non-stop, 8 hours day = $480 to $640 a day. So I wonder how much of this is to pay for workshop overheads, e.g. rental, utilities, and how much is mechanic's pay... I guess it is quite low, given the strong S$... maybe like $10 to S$20 per hour for mechanic? Mechanic pay abt S$100 a day? S$2-3k a month? Up for discussion here. And pls give amount in S$ not RM ok... engine oil change takes less than 40 mins Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear January 27, 2012 Share January 27, 2012 I think entry level is S$1200-$1500, Average at $1500--$2000. Your estimate is for labour. workshop mark up on parts. and those chop carrot earnings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear January 31, 2012 Share January 31, 2012 $1200-$1500? Wat the mechanic do? change tyre izzit... i dun think the proper mechanic earns that little. that kind of money probably tyre shop or those accessories shop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungfu Clutched January 31, 2012 Share January 31, 2012 but come again mechanic.....esp in singapore also not easy.......singaporean quite demanding.........not like our neighbour can play dirty if they did a half pass 6 job Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged January 31, 2012 Share January 31, 2012 I wonder how much the mechanics are paid in Ferrari and Lamborghini authorized workshops? Premium servicing charges = premium salaries? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear January 31, 2012 Share January 31, 2012 you need to think of the foriegn worker levy for malaysian worker hor....now is damn super expensive, 2 experienced malaysian workers but with no SPM can already cost $900 every month liao. This on top of their salary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 31, 2012 Share January 31, 2012 (edited) Don't worry mechs earning too much; they deserve it even if it's 5K for the pro (hard work). Most don't unless those on commission basis. It's the boss who earn the most and through some dirty tricks also. Don't forget, they earn much more from sales of EO and parts + mods installation+ insurance claims, etc. There are also some hidden profits "stashed" away undeclared. Edited January 31, 2012 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear January 31, 2012 Share January 31, 2012 (edited) I guess Insurance claim i& mods is where most of the windfall comes from. It is also expensive due to SG high Rental rate. Its the same like why FW cost not so much, but you still pay so much to eat out. Its the huge rentals! Did price of stuff more expensive before the influx of Fws? When Ah Long said if no FW, Nasi Lemak will cost over $10, but he fail to mention, if they lower the rent, you can get same or even lower price food with needing low cost FWs. the benefit of low labot cost is offset by high rental cost, so who benefits, the landlords for the space, & the government who charge huge money for the plot of land. Its similar to Shanghai, the labour is a faction of even what we pay FWs, but you go Mac, the price is not much lower than SG, if at all, its all about the huge rentals of the lands. Edited January 31, 2012 by Kiadaw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cdior 1st Gear January 31, 2012 Share January 31, 2012 My fren is royce roll Mech 10k / month. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...