SDP:Why the delay in reporting news of such magnitude?

Relacklabrudder

But I still feel that doesn't mean a truly free press is gonna be better. Then again it may not be worse either.

Got say like no say....

Hint: "it makes no difference"

Edited by CKP

It's their style - shoot and smirk. Different from WP who hold back and don't take opportunistic pot shots. Even now WP did not comment on the CPIB probe as they know things are still in play.

that is why most ppl dont like them. same as their manfesto. filled with populist ideal that are in practical on the long run.

Maybe there are lots more other cover-ups we dont know? :o and the 'habit' of covering up doesnt not happen overnight... 45yrs have passed... :o

If they don't want to wait for the press, did what 邱毅 does in Taiwan, dig out the case before the media :D

Maybe 邱毅 can be imported as a FT to train up a few locals to blow whistle :D

A relatively 'clean' can be created by:-

1. Clear & comprehensive anti-corruption rules/law

2. Strong and thorough detection & enforcement of the rules/law

3. Hard and meaningful punishments for offenders plus impartial legal system

4. Political will to do 1 to 3 above

5. Decent (but no need world's highest) pays

Not sure whether our miw only uses #5 and the rest are only given lip-service??

Edited by KARTer

Yes bro but no sane newspaper editor / law department would let them publish a "rumour" that a CEO had offered to step down ya... think about it... would you publish this at such a sensitive time?

So in your eyes SDP has made a valid argument?

Or what? If it's your job on the line... you make that call... an offer to step down that the CEO can deny anytime... with the salary review weighing on your readership...

I tell you what you'll do... you'll wait a bloody month or so until said CEO confirms stepping down, tio boh?

How is it a rumour when the CEO tendered her resignation and how is it a rumour when the 2 big shots are really under investigations?

Newspaper reports about cases that are under investigation all the time. Remember TT Durai? You read about him after he is convicted or before?

Hmm that's the impression you get?

Because then in that case they sure need a better copywriter on their press releases.

But you'd still have to realise that a media that reports on all these events as-soon-as is a combative hostile press and won't get much news first-hand.

I didn't like today's report that said inflation hit the rich the most, either. But then I'm wise to the ST's tricks and don't see it as new news.

They will delay news. They will obfuscate reality. But I still feel that doesn't mean a truly free press is gonna be better. Then again it may not be worse either.

We may be living too long with a 'distorting/misleading' press, worse than not having free press [:(]

Selective news reporting, doctored or not, is just as bad.

Edited by KARTer

Hmm that's the impression you get?

Because then in that case they sure need a better copywriter on their press releases.

But you'd still have to realise that a media that reports on all these events as-soon-as is a combative hostile press and won't get much news first-hand.

I didn't like today's report that said inflation hit the rich the most, either. But then I'm wise to the ST's tricks and don't see it as new news.

They will delay news. They will obfuscate reality. But I still feel that doesn't mean a truly free press is gonna be better. Then again it may not be worse either.

Those who hold back on reporting news as it happens (be it confirmed or rumoured, both can be stated/classified in the report itself) for the sake of their own rice bowl are depriving the readers knowledge they deserve. If it's a rumour, it can be reported but state so.

Straits Times is ISD lah...

It's never their agenda to provide readers with first hand news.

read the ownership part

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_Press_Holdings

On this, SDP shd use a bit of its brain,

investigation is on going. It is not helpful to make public until the case is wrapped up.

So the Romainan hit and run should not be reported until the case is wrapped up? Court case still ongoing leh

Yes bro but no sane newspaper editor / law department would let them publish a "rumour" that a CEO had offered to step down ya... think about it... would you publish this at such a sensitive time?

So in your eyes SDP has made a valid argument?

Or what? If it's your job on the line... you make that call... an offer to step down that the CEO can deny anytime... with the salary review weighing on your readership...

I tell you what you'll do... you'll wait a bloody month or so until said CEO confirms stepping down, tio boh?

i m not a supporter of SDP, but in this case their questions are valid for reasons given by other bros here.... why are you so protective/defensive of the delay tactics used by the miw? the reasons you gave dont make sense.

btw, if the chiefs/heads are corrupted, the rots in the organisation has started from top level... the ill effects may not be obvious immediately (fire engines still start), but when we see it later, its too late. The germs of corruption spread within the organisation quietly but surely when the head 'leads the way'. It's naive to believe/assume that everything is A-Ok....

Report a bit later better than not reported.... anyhow, at least the reports that come out are not from some tabloids with wild speculations.... i mean, we all know how the common folks like speculated news way more than staid ST news.

To be fair to the concerned, if news were reported without verification and confirmation just like that.... we will become like another UK or HK. Tabloid and trashy news would flood our media.... why waste our time on such things..... better use your time to work and make more money.

Oh welll.... but i guess most people are KPO by nature and like drama none the less. I am just relieved that there is a greater system in work beneath all these. Yeah sure....people complain why not this why not that, why not earlier, why so late..... fact is, these cases do ultimately get busted, which is most important. The mob out there will never be satisfied, even if media were to report the very next minute, someone somewhere will be saying why was it not prevented in the first place.

Iron rice bowl jobs used to be all about "covering your own backside"....den came all the critics and slammers that such culture is so KS and detrimental to creativity, flexibility, and what not. So down it goes and naturally you expect things to get saucy since the black sheeps can now hide behind a cloak of invisibility. Just getting by actually really screwing things up in the name of creativity and flexibility. Then at the end of it all....you realised all these years of "covering backside" actually and probably prevented much of all these unnecessary mishaps and downtime we are all complaining about these days....

So... the cycle of the progressing society continues......... no one will ever be pleased.

i m not a supporter of SDP, but in this case their questions are valid for reasons given by other bros here.... why are you so protective/defensive of the delay tactics used by the miw? the reasons you gave dont make sense.

btw, if the chiefs/heads are corrupted, the rots in the organisation has started from top level... the ill effects may not be obvious immediately (fire engines still start), but when we see it later, its too late. The germs of corruption spread within the organisation quietly but surely when the head 'leads the way'. It's naive to believe/assume that everything is A-Ok....

some like their news scrubbed?

ask them to go close shop la.1 months+ ago news come and leeport.

I guess if there are more newspaper then we will get better news coverage cos its all about readership.

And reader like the juicer and latest news.