Dualie Clutched January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 Driving a Megane. Typical car load is 2 adults and 3 kids. More than enough car for my needs. However, on most weekends, will bring my parents and sometime sister. Abt 3-5 times per month.. During these outing, my kids will be sitting on my parents' laps. This arrangement use to be fine. However, my kids are growing up. Older 2 kids are over 20kg. My parents are getting old. I'll imagine it to be rather uncomfortable to have a 20+kg restless kid moving on your lap. Especially so when travelling in Megane, which is not exactly spacious. As a filial son, I'll want to get a bigger car so that all can travel in comfort. From a financial point of view, I will be selling a fully paid up car and taking loan again. I plan to drive till scrap and now still left 5 years. Really hate the idea of taking loan again. Just want to know any forummers face the same thing and what did you do? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leech Clutched January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 Bro, heard of this thing called a taxi? Not economical and environmental friendly to drive a MPV around on all the other weekdays when you are not fetching your folks. As a filial son you coud always pre-book Mercedes cab for your folks on weekends. No point driving a huge piece of metal around otherwise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shinigaimi Neutral Newbie January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 I also face the same problem with u 2 years ago, sold my ride & got a mini Mpv. enjoying the ride now! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 Buy your parent a car. Problem solved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 On 1/23/2012 at 2:40 PM, Dualie said: Driving a Megane. Typical car load is 2 adults and 3 kids. More than enough car for my needs. However, on most weekends, will bring my parents and sometime sister. Abt 3-5 times per month.. During these outing, my kids will be sitting on my parents' laps. This arrangement use to be fine. However, my kids are growing up. Older 2 kids are over 20kg. My parents are getting old. I'll imagine it to be rather uncomfortable to have a 20+kg restless kid moving on your lap. Especially so when travelling in Megane, which is not exactly spacious. As a filial son, I'll want to get a bigger car so that all can travel in comfort. From a financial point of view, I will be selling a fully paid up car and taking loan again. I plan to drive till scrap and now still left 5 years. Really hate the idea of taking loan again. Just want to know any forummers face the same thing and what did you do? Well it depends on what kinda car you're looking for. In this case i'm guessing you want an MPV? You can go for either a toyota wish or a honda stream. And yes you would most probably have to take up a loan again. Financially it doesn't make sense to top up 20k for 2 extra people to ride in comfort. You'd have to ask yourself if you plan on doing this on a regular basis. Since you don't wish to take a loan again it would be a better idea to give your parents money to take a cab. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 Yep. I also think should just get your parents a car. Get a small second hand car then might not cost alot more than upgrading to an MPV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 On 1/23/2012 at 2:40 PM, Dualie said: Driving a Megane. Typical car load is 2 adults and 3 kids. More than enough car for my needs. However, on most weekends, will bring my parents and sometime sister. Abt 3-5 times per month.. During these outing, my kids will be sitting on my parents' laps. This arrangement use to be fine. However, my kids are growing up. Older 2 kids are over 20kg. My parents are getting old. I'll imagine it to be rather uncomfortable to have a 20+kg restless kid moving on your lap. Especially so when travelling in Megane, which is not exactly spacious. As a filial son, I'll want to get a bigger car so that all can travel in comfort. From a financial point of view, I will be selling a fully paid up car and taking loan again. I plan to drive till scrap and now still left 5 years. Really hate the idea of taking loan again. Just want to know any forummers face the same thing and what did you do? you have to ask what kind of salary you are earning? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dualie Clutched January 23, 2012 Author Share January 23, 2012 Thanks for the replies. My parents don't drive. My driving expenses is subsidise by my company car allowance $1k. Annual 80k salary. Thanks for the reminder abt the taxi options. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 On 1/23/2012 at 3:34 PM, Dualie said: Thanks for the replies. My parents don't drive. My driving expenses is subsidise by my company car allowance $1k. Annual 80k salary. Thanks for the reminder abt the taxi options. forget about the taxi option, i think you are able to afford what your heart desires Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longg8 Clutched January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 On 1/23/2012 at 3:48 PM, Picanto said: forget about the taxi option, i think you are able to afford what your heart desires siao bo...5.6k after CPF with 3 kids and parents.... enough uh? :angry: dont over spend please. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 I won't get a new car for that purpose.. I believe in 80/20 rule; Buying a new car to cover the 20% "non-ordinary" car usage on weekend is not financially wise for a low middle income earner like me... Options may be: 1 - Let bigger built son sit in-front instead of wife 2 - Grand parents sit on top of sons.. The best way to approach this problem is to ask yourself "if I got no spare money, how would i solve the problem?" Solving problem with money often kills the creativity in us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C-K 2nd Gear January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 If you dun wanna be in debt, just buy a used car la bro.. You should have enough cash to topup if you go for a 2nd hand wish or picnic (~4 to 5 years old) and dun mind driving jap car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dualie Clutched January 23, 2012 Author Share January 23, 2012 What's a 80/20 rule? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 i guess it is not a good idea to let your parents take a cab. what we want are everyone sitting inside the same vehicle, able to chit chat, etc. a fun family outing instead of taking two separate transportation. there are a few options for your situation. 1) if you have enough savings, go for MPV like Estima. 2) if you have tight budget, go for smaller MPV like Wish or Stream. i guess your wife is also earning? with the combined income, i reckon you can afford a MPV. frankly speaking, you can't fetch a good resale price for a Megane and I guess you are driving the older version of Megane. i agreed with you that your Megane is no longer meeting your desired requirement. do some mathematics and ask yourself what you actually desired and most importantly, what you can afford comfortably. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 get a mini mpv. face the same problem like u, but i need a wagon for my work too. So i get a mini mpv Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 Get a OPC MPV such as a Trajet only for the weekends. 20plus K nia..That way you can keep yur beloved megane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear January 24, 2012 Share January 24, 2012 Buy a mini bus, my neighbor did that Can use for business and pleasure Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achee 4th Gear January 24, 2012 Share January 24, 2012 (edited) Why not follow our gahmen advice and use BMW? Bus MRT Walk Edited January 24, 2012 by Achee ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...