Good padlock for my HDB flat iron gate.

Bluetree

Maybe you dio marked by police, that's why :-(

Why you so mischievous one? :-0

Haha born like that, What to do?

Tested and proven. My stall key broke and no spare key. Workshop guys took their cutter, use all their strength but only manage to scratch the surface. Few fit guys take turns, no use. It only open up when they use electric cutter. laugh.gif

Does seems a long time since I've heard about HDB house break in. Kinda stupid to break in a HDB flat, easily spotted.

i bought Chairo .... was $65 when i bought it ...

SCDF decided to cut my gate instead after they gave up trying to cut through the lock !!

Err..any idea abloy where can buy? Went home fix all these shops but all carry duro nia

Edited by Ahseng

Your house is armskote's room or ammo dump? [laugh]

Reasonable brand like Duro or Yale is more than good enough. The weakest link is the metal gate, not lock.

In fact, you should get a lock that's "easy" to open. Why? My bro used cheap China made Tri-circle brand lock and after long period of use, the ball bearing jammed...... Used cutter to cut until.... [bigcry][bigcry]

Not say cannot use cheap lock; just need to replace periodically to prevent internal mechanical failure.

I bought a resale flat. It comes aluminium gate. For more than 2 years since day one, I never bother to change the door lock. Neither do I pad lock the gate when I go out or sleep. Sometimes I even leave the gate wide open. Anyway, what's the use of the pad lock, when my flat don't even have window grills and sometimes I do even close the windows because rain doesn't come in unless very heavy rain.

My previous flat best. The ex-owner installed cast iron gate and window grills the whole flat including toilets. However, there was no grill at the sliding doors to an open.balcony and the flat is on the third floor only. I accepted it without doing anything.

I salute my aunty. She lives on the ground floor. The gate is never pad-locked. Worst is the door is closed but never locked as the lock is spoilt. Whether she pad lock when sleeping or going out, I don't know.

Whenever I visit her, I just need to open the gate and push the door open.

oh, cos my mentality is since about same price then get the one that's the harder material one lor. More worth ma. Hahhaha

Your house is armskote's room or ammo dump? [laugh]

Reasonable brand like Duro or Yale is more than good enough. The weakest link is the metal gate, not lock.

In fact, you should get a lock that's "easy" to open. Why? My bro used cheap China made Tri-circle brand lock and after long period of use, the ball bearing jammed...... Used cutter to cut until.... [bigcry][bigcry]

Not say cannot use cheap lock; just need to replace periodically to prevent internal mechanical failure.

No simple ammo dump

Is this one [sly][grin]

vx-gas-the-rock.jpg

I salute my aunty. She lives on the ground floor. The gate is never pad-locked. Worst is the door is closed but never locked as the lock is spoilt. Whether she pad lock when sleeping or going out, I don't know.

Whenever I visit her, I just need to open the gate and push the door open.

Super long no see you [laugh]

actually whats the advantage over using a padlock over just locking the metal gate?

kiasi ?? :huh:

i use to have padlock, until the upgrading project when they change the gate, i stop using and just lock the gate.

actually whats the advantage over using a padlock over just locking the metal gate?

To me it's a temp deterrant. If whoever wants to break-in all the person needs is a handheld drill. Locks are made of Brass. As for metal gate just remove the hinge covers you will be able to lift the entire gate with the padlock still attached and dump it aside. Door is made of wood and locks also made of brass. Just drill your way thru can liao. No need to buy so expensive one.

Now got what bluetooth activated door lock can be open and close just by a touch around the keyhole area. Don't even need keys now.

My family has used ABLOY. Don't know why, but we sleep better at night.

One night my daughter came home late, she didn't lock the metal gate, the wooden door was not close completely (not to mention lock it). Only realized the next morning. Lucky my neighborhood is quite safe [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

To me it's a temp deterrant. If whoever wants to break-in all the person needs is a handheld drill. Locks are made of Brass. As for metal gate just remove the hinge covers you will be able to lift the entire gate with the padlock still attached and dump it aside. Door is made of wood and locks also made of brass. Just drill your way thru can liao. No need to buy so expensive one.

Now got what bluetooth activated door lock can be open and close just by a touch around the keyhole area. Don't even need keys now.

How to remove the hinge covers of the gate if it is padlocked? My gate has the hinges inside. Cannot access the hinges unless the gate is open.

Don't be cheated by those uncle who demostrate how easy it is to knock open the gate hinges and lift up the entire gate and then ask you change to a new, more secure hinges... the problem is they can only lift up the gate with the gate open... challenge them to remove it while the gate is closed.... your bloody door frame is blocking the gate and the bottom hinge is welded securely onto the door frame so how on earth can someone lift up the whole gate while it is still closed?