Vulcann 6th Gear January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 (edited) He just have to say something since now they are just tearing away what he vigourously fought for & got what he & his cabinet colleagues wanted back then. Too bad we did not get to see him in action in the parliament doing that... From CNA: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1177624/1/.html Lee Kuan Yew defends competitive ministerial salaries By Imelda Saad | Posted: 18 January 2012 2136 hrs Edited January 18, 2012 by Vulcann ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relacklabrudder 1st Gear January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 Qn: was LKY salary as entry politician peg to top earners in Singapore when he join politics? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 He just have to say something since now they are just tearing away what he vigourously fought for & got what he & his cabinet colleagues wanted back then. Too bad we did not get to see him in action in the parliament doing that... From CNA: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1177624/1/.html Lee Kuan Yew defends competitive ministerial salaries By Imelda Saad | Posted: 18 January 2012 2136 hrs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 there can only be one THE ONE worth that $$ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 Pay these crown so much to lose billions in failed investment, flood, terrorist disappearance etc... and hear them defend themselves with "you misunderstood me", "it is taken out of context", "let's move on"... Give me a break.. greedy say greedy lah.. at least, I respect your honesty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 Hmmm...so when LKY says "sacrifice children's future" in reference to lesser salary he is saying that unless got money cannot succeed in Singapore? I thought we were a meritocracy? But unless got money to send kids to international uni, then so sorry, cannot win? this type of reasoning is like using a blanket to cover everything. you don't really address the arguments, you just use a big, wide piece of blanket to cover everything underneath it. means you do not really have the arguments to counter, you just use a grandiose reason to defend every chink in the policy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 this type of reasoning is like using a blanket to cover everything. you don't really address the arguments, you just use a big, wide piece of blanket to cover everything underneath it. means you do not really have the arguments to counter, you just use a grandiose reason to defend every chink in the policy It's the condescending style of arguing one's case typical of our gahmen, MPs and company senior management. "we got to be proactive", "we should think long-term", "you got to see the bigger picture" Even a simple question to MBT like the cost of HDB cannot be answered directly and in simple terms! Lim peh also can be minister like that.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 It's the condescending style of arguing one's case typical of our gahmen, MPs and company senior management. "we got to be proactive", "we should think long-term", "you got to see the bigger picture" Even a simple question to MBT like the cost of HDB cannot be answered directly and in simple terms! Lim peh also can be minister like that.. yep, this type of style of returning an argument shows this person has high an almighty attitude and is not interested/confident to engage on the pertinent points of the argument. like "if you don't go along this route, your mothers and daughters will become maids in other countries" even son also has to use the same style liao when yesterday he say we cannot afford to take risk by giving the job to the lowest bidder. there is no direct link of the arguments against to the outcome they use to scare us, yet they do not see the need to make more meaningful examples. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 yep, this type of style of returning an argument shows this person has high an almighty attitude and is not interested/confident to engage on the pertinent points of the argument. like "if you don't go along this route, your mothers and daughters will become maids in other countries" even son also has to use the same style liao when yesterday he say we cannot afford to take risk by giving the job to the lowest bidder. there is no direct link of the arguments against to the outcome they use to scare us, yet they do not see the need to make more meaningful examples. Haven't we heard enough from these crowns? "top-notch government", "can singapore afford not to pay minister high salary?", "if we don't pay them high-enough, Singapore will suffer".. One word from me - GONG LAN JIAO WAY ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 Haven't we heard enough from these crowns? "top-notch government", "can singapore afford not to pay minister high salary?", "if we don't pay them high-enough, Singapore will suffer".. One word from me - GONG LAN JIAO WAY ! i am sad that our leaders use such a low pose style to win the debate. it shows they are bereft of ideas or stubbornly sticking to a line of argument they cannot even defend properly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 those who graduated fr the local unis, pls go n bang ur head against the wall.....becos the founding father of sg has implied tat "good uni" means muz go overseas, hence need the $$$ ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 i am sad that our leaders use such a low pose style to win the debate. it shows they are bereft of ideas or stubbornly sticking to a line of argument they cannot even defend properly. On the bright side, all these c0ck and bull argument may change the mind of the DAFT 60.1% in GE2016. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qms Neutral Newbie January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 Old man sing the same old song. Obviously, the last election result is hurting them. Otherwise why the salary review now ? We should take a nationwide poll and see how many feel they are paid enough or they are grossly overpaid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 Ok ok...take whatever you want lah...after all you won 81 seats and 60% votes...,what can we say? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zak7182 Neutral Newbie January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 Pay these crown so much to lose billions in failed investment, flood, terrorist disappearance etc... and hear them defend themselves with "you misunderstood me", "it is taken out of context", "let's move on"... Give me a break.. greedy say greedy lah.. at least, I respect your honesty Were they honest since the very beginning?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 Kong LJ lah....sound like broken record, and threaten again........oh well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 "Every family wants to provide the best for their children, to go to a good university. We were pragmatic and also paid competitive salaries in order to have a continuous stream of high calibre people to become MPs, and then ministers. They put their careers at risk and undergo an uncertain and unpredictable election process," he said. [/color] Don't really know what kind of career risk one would face when he/she is already a politician in Singapore. An escape route was always planned for the chosen ones. Also, our elections have always been certain and predictable with PAP dominating all the way until now. Unless he considers the recent election a nightmare, then he is sending a message to politicians overseas that they are grossly underpaid and I believe the boat will rock even more in future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falcon1668 Neutral Newbie January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 Haven't we heard enough from these crowns? "top-notch government", "can singapore afford not to pay minister high salary?", "if we don't pay them high-enough, Singapore will suffer".. One word from me - GONG LAN JIAO WAY ! LAN JIAO LONG & familee mai gong LAN JIAO WAY ai gong simi? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...