Yewheng Twincharged January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 you so naive and really believe 28mil is correct??? Of all things if, minister anyhow give figure in parliament, it will cause serious implications. Not only world-wide will lost trust in Singapore, even the top down to bottom will also kanna. Of all things, I seriously do not believe minister will be that daring enough to anyhow give figure in parliament. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 this ministar really CMI ... now school holidays over public transport is back to sardine condition ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung7 Neutral Newbie January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 They don't answer the questions because they DO NOT have an answer for them... so they give an answer that seems to justify whatever is questioned.. if the 28mil is true, then the other way of looking at it is that these transport operators have been getting an extra $28mil revenue every year.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 I find the answer by the minister bizarre leh.... The question is why the concession is not extended to poly students and not how much it cost the public transport operators? duh.................... sigh.................... did you even know what question LBW asked in parliment??? Have ANYONE actually bothered to find out what question our minister was replying to??????? before opening their mouth????? I did. to save all the lazy people's time.... here it is. ------------------------------------------------------ Below is the parliamentary response, in full: STUDENT TRAVEL CONCESSION ON TRAINS AND BUSES Er Dr Lee Bee Wah: To ask the Minister for Transport (a) what is the percentage of passengers who are currently enjoying student travel concession on trains and buses compared with five years ago; and (b) if the Ministry can provide a projected amount of the additional cost to transport operators if polytechnic students are given full student travel concession instead of the tertiary concession. Mr Lui Tuck Yew: 10% of our average daily passenger ridership enjoyed student travel concession on trains and buses in 2011. This is about 2% lower than in 2007 but the percentage had actually gone down due to an increase in ridership. On the estimated additional cost to the operators if polytechnic students are given full student travel concessions, it will cost the operators about $28 million per year based on today Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 Tuck Yew ah Tuck Yew, pls answer to the question directly and not deviate from it....so what it costs transport operators more, they have sought for many fare increases from PTC and got the approval liao, what you mean by it will cost more??? if it really cost more, it shows that the management from transport operators, PTC, LTA and MOT are incapable, ineffective and inefficient in managing cost and serving the public. Travel concessions for poly students will cost transport operators S$28m (http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1177393/1/.html) SINGAPORE : Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew has said it will cost transport operators an additional S$28 million per year if polytechnic students are given travel concessions. He was replying to a parliamentary question tabled by Nee Soon GRC MP, Lee Bee Hwa. Over the past few years, polytechnic students have been lobbying for travel concessions which their counterparts in junior colleges enjoy. Mr Lui said 10 per cent of the average daily passenger ridership enjoyed student travel concession on trains and buses in 2011. This is about 2 per cent lower than in 2007. He however added that the percentage had actually gone down due to an increase in ridership. you no balls to post in his facebook or blog? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 if the minister is genuine about helping poly students and yet wants limit the loses the bus companies may suffer, he can always cap the concession to say $2-3 per students per day and allow about only 300 days of such concession in a year..... (poly students dont go to school 365 days a year) if there's a will, there's a way to contain the so-called losses... I think 28 million a year is possible. $28million / 365 days = $76,712 I do not know what is the population of poly student, but poly student also pay in adult rate. So assuming average a poly student pays about $3 for train and bus ride per day, that would work out to be about 25k poly students. Which is a possible figure. P.S The above is just a example, I do not know the figure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 what's wrong? before the gantry, you haven't paid right? so JAM lah..... after gantry, you paid liao right? so no more JAM lah.... hahahaha.. in sinkapore you gotto pay for everything that works hor (& many that do not work too .. ... ) dun ask me how they do it, it is just like those highway toll plaza at other countries..... just to share something i observe. the farking ERP suppose to reduce congestion right? but every farking morning when i go to work, there will be heavy jam on the expressway. then strangely after driving pass the ERP, the traffic is smooth..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 Vote all these crap ministers out in GE2016.. May not solve the problem but I rather pay the astronomical salary to someone less screwed up and more sincere in responding to public. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relacklabrudder 1st Gear January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 Why minister so concern about the profit of a private company? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leech Clutched January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 Bro, undergrads also dun wear school uniform but got concession.. I recall using bus stamps years ago. Assume still same? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alexxx Clutched January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 everyone agrees that 28mil seems like an amount pluck from the air..but lets assume its the right number... what we need to understand is that SMRT is a PUBLIC transport company. they made 150mil (plus minus forgot the exact figure) last year? can someone explain to me what is PUBLIC Transport??? Isnt PUBLIC transport meant to be affortable? shouldnt the company in charge of this act in the best interest of the PUBLIC?? they make 150mil per year..less 28mil..still 122mil!!! that in itself is already too much for a company providing public transport. Public transport can be assume to be like daily necessity for everyone..like food and housing. we will leaving the housing issue for another post.. but imagine.. all the rice seller in SG increase price to $100 per kg and tell u coz they are not making money..everyone will be badly affected.. transport is similiar right??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falcon1668 Neutral Newbie January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 Of all things if, minister anyhow give figure in parliament, it will cause serious implications. Not only world-wide will lost trust in Singapore, even the top down to bottom will also kanna. Of all things, I seriously do not believe minister will be that daring enough to anyhow give figure in parliament. Why not? If kena discovered they give wrong figure, they still have the classic Honest Mistake Act to fall on ........ even if any ministar were to kill anyone on the road while driving, it's still an honest mistake ........ to sumarise - they can get away with anything they do including murder Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andylkkg 4th Gear January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 Tuck Yew ah Tuck Yew, pls answer to the question directly and not deviate from it....so what it costs transport operators more, they have sought for many fare increases from PTC and got the approval liao, what you mean by it will cost more??? if it really cost more, it shows that the management from transport operators, PTC, LTA and MOT are incapable, ineffective and inefficient in managing cost and serving the public. Travel concessions for poly students will cost transport operators S$28m (http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1177393/1/.html) SINGAPORE : Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew has said it will cost transport operators an additional S$28 million per year if polytechnic students are given travel concessions. He was replying to a parliamentary question tabled by Nee Soon GRC MP, Lee Bee Hwa. Over the past few years, polytechnic students have been lobbying for travel concessions which their counterparts in junior colleges enjoy. Mr Lui said 10 per cent of the average daily passenger ridership enjoyed student travel concession on trains and buses in 2011. This is about 2 per cent lower than in 2007. He however added that the percentage had actually gone down due to an increase in ridership. This don't answer the question speech, I do not know what else to say too..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jkcs Neutral Newbie January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 Vote all these crap ministers out in GE2016.. May not solve the problem but I rather pay the astronomical salary to someone less screwed up and more sincere in responding to public. no, should be vote out p@p in the next GE or hope they loses AMK GRC.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 There are 80,000+ poly enrolment in 2010 (part time plus full time). Assuming 10% are part timers and 70% of remaining will apply for concession, $28m a year means each student will be subsidized $44 a month. So the $28m figure seems reasonable. But my first impression is that govt is discriminating against poly students, cos i cant think of any other defendable reasoning why we should not offer the concession to poly students... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondauto 1st Gear January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 our voices are not being heard........wtf. PAP should give more concessions to Poly or JC S'porean students transport fares. Our future depends on these local students - LOCAL TALENT. WTF WTF WTF....MIW really zzzzzzzzzz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 u need to understand all those jokers sitting at the top of these GLCs are all PAPPIES related one way or the other.how well can they think to solve the problem? just like erecting ERP gantries,road A traffic is bad,i ERECT 1 erp here.some drivers will then switch to alternate road thus making alternate road heavy traffic.ok the traffic at the alternate road also bad now,they ERECT another gantry there. now both road also got ERP.SHIOK.no words can express my admiration for these millionaires. To put it plainly, they not merely plugging the leak, not solving the ' ponding ' problem, whenever there's a jam, up a gantry to suck more blood money fm motorists, the list can go on, and we aint stupid to follow blindly. I do not think whey understand traffic congestion problem and how on earth this FT came here studying free. THe future of Sp lies in the hands of the younger generation X, and they is being targeted at such a young age, How sad ! When the right time come, the GenX will have more hatred against Govt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bancer Clutched January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 isint the intention to be fair to these group of students in comparison to JC students? why is he telling us the cost? every question he also view in $$, then use the $$ collected from ERP to do something instead of just saying it's not revenue generating mechanisim. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...