Vulcann 6th Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 废话!!! More people take bus of course buses move slower lah. If not what, bus drivers paiseh or more courteous because of courtesy compaign so drive slower??? Need a $770k MOS to tell us that??? What I fear is that she is pretty happy with her observation highlighted in red & then MOT/LTA may implement more measures to accommodate these buses. That will definitely be at the expense of other road users... Geeeez, can they tackle the problem of overcrowding during to their flood gate policy first before having more restrictive measures for all other road users? The kind of money we pay these folks...really flush down the drain. From CNA: Buses move slower as daily ridership increases Posted: 17 January 2012 1659 hrs ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrmilktooth Supercharged January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 this shows that the smarts really are trying very hard to find "reasons" why there are so many issues they cant solve... another 1 i can think of being the hdb flats floor area per hsehold per pax is greater than before in the 80s.. !!.. dont think we are that daft.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Why are there MORE people taking buses? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 (edited) 废话!!! More people take bus of course buses move slower lah. If not what, bus drivers paiseh or more courteous because of courtesy compaign so drive slower??? Need a $770k MOS to tell us that??? What I fear is that she is pretty happy with her observation highlighted in red & then MOT/LTA may implement more measures to accommodate these buses. That will definitely be at the expense of other road users... Geeeez, can they tackle the problem of overcrowding during to their flood gate policy first before having more restrictive measures for all other road users? The kind of money we pay these folks...really flush down the drain. From CNA: Buses move slower as daily ridership increases Posted: 17 January 2012 1659 hrs Edited January 17, 2012 by Rayleigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 next they will come out with reason why the birth rate keep dropping every year..--> due to singaporean having lesser sex compare to our grandfather generation and to make things worst, the availability and affordability of condoms nowadays...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Some non-coherent reasoning: 1. How is bus moving slower has to do with increase ridership? (err... bus heavier and we know heavy thing moves slower..) 2. "full-day bus lane extensions have helped improve journey speeds along heavily-used areas by seven per cent on average". This is not solving the problem. This is pushing the problem to private car owner! Period. (well, ERP are there for a reason u know..) 3. All the while I thought it has been difficult to employ SGP bus driver? See source: http://sgforums.com/forums/1279/topics/352658 Does cross training help since there is already a not enough driver issue. (well, hiring foreighner is always cheaper u know...) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Takumi21 2nd Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Why are there MORE people taking buses? because trains break-down MORE often? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Razgriz Clutched January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 how does cross training bus driver help? they only got 2 hands, 2 legs.. u expect them after reach interchange, alight together with the passenger and hop on directly to another bus and drive another route? or stay on the bus, change its name and serve another route directly? why are we paying so much for these shits man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relacklabrudder 1st Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Some non-coherent reasoning: 1. How is bus moving slower has to do with increase ridership? 2. "full-day bus lane extensions have helped improve journey speeds along heavily-used areas by seven per cent on average". This is not solving the problem. This is pushing the problem to private car owner! Period. 3. All the while I thought it has been difficult to employ SGP bus driver? See source: http://sgforums.com/forums/1279/topics/352658 Does cross training help since there is already a not enough driver issue. More passengers alight and board take up time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 how does cross training bus driver help? they only got 2 hands, 2 legs.. u expect them after reach interchange, alight together with the passenger and hop on directly to another bus and drive another route? or stay on the bus, change its name and serve another route directly? why are we paying so much for these shits man! you guys voted the pap in with an overwhelming mandate of 60%....so please, please dun complain. No one hold you hostage at point blank and force you to vote them in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Train driver for different route? Is she serious? What is so difficult to memories just two or three fixed route? Not like they can use initiative to change route when faced with jams or detours. At most just program a GPS unit for each route, and issue to which ever Newbie driver on that route....I believe one day of going round and round the same route for few trips will burn into the memories!! Cost of GPS only $200 per set. Can used on many Newbie drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 17, 2012 Author Share January 17, 2012 Say a bus's average speed is 50kph. Increase in 7% of its speed is only 3.5kph, making it slightly faster at 53.5kph nia. And I do not think the turnaround time of these buses will improve that significantly as well. For a full-day bus lane taking out 25-33% (depending on 4- or 3-lane road) of the road space & forcing all other motorists to rely on the remaining lanes for travel, is this slight increase in speed justifiable? Knowing how expensive it is to construct roads, making a lane exclusively for a bus when the average increase in speed is only so marginal is not logically sound. Ain't no rocket scientist but no matter which angle I look this full-lane bus scheme is one of worst I have seen because the ends definitely does not justify the means. And we have not even touch on the effectiveness of the morning/evening bus lane scheme yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 17, 2012 Author Share January 17, 2012 Train driver for different route? Is she serious? What is so difficult to memories just two or three fixed route? Not like they can use initiative to change route when faced with jams or detours. At most just program a GPS unit for each route, and issue to which ever Newbie driver on that route....I believe one day of going round and round the same route for few trips will burn into the memories!! Cost of GPS only $200 per set. Can used on many Newbie drivers. Remember the recent AT driver losing his way yet refuse to heed the fruz passengers' advice & end up giving the whole lot a hr or so free ride to Hol-land? This char bo MOS better go back to her labour portfolio or better still back to her ex-job in the HR field lah. One route already blur F cannot tackle liao still wana cross train these ATs other routes? I think the $770k for her can be put to better use like donating to the public transport fund to be given to the poor & the needy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddielawson 1st Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 When you drive into a full-day bus lane, they will orkong you. This alone, to them, justify everything. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 17, 2012 Author Share January 17, 2012 When you drive into a full-day bus lane, they will orkong you. This alone, to them, justify everything. Ya for $130 a pop really does seem justifiable in their eyes... [sweatdrop] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 agreed. i think she is talking c--k and think that we are all idiots without common sense. : / Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 17, 2012 Author Share January 17, 2012 agreed. i think she is talking c--k and think that we are all idiots without common sense. : / What most are afraid is that with that proclamation that the full lane bus system work wonders according their myopic mindset, they might be up to something next.. Will not be surprised that MOT/LTA has been cooking something and then to deliver surprise "treats" to motorists soon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 17, 2012 Author Share January 17, 2012 another 1 i can think of being the hdb flats floor area per hsehold per pax is greater than before in the 80s.. !!.. dont think we are that daft.. I remember this proclamation. It was made by their char bo CEO recently ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...