Tigerwoods Turbocharged January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 I thought that's Kim Jong Un? I doubt he even got 1 day BMT or OCS... He jump from Ah Boy to General in 1 year + Now that's a RECORD ! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Imo they rather have a cmi minister and continue pay him gd money than someone like CSM caliber, coz its very threatening to the familee to have someone like CSM caliber in their party. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 actually in a recent article i read, i felt sad that our government best effort to help the lowest income group on housing is to get them to share a flat while they benchmark themselves against the top 1000 earners... singapore (be it developing, developed or 3rd world) i am sure we have enough resources to help this small percentage of citizens, minimally with this housing off their mind, they can go help themselves with other necessity items like food and job. Low Income has to mortgage their HDB to bank and live in it. This is really called Living off from your house. Welfare should be given to the Poor yet they pay their rich handsome Pensions instetad + 26 months bonus... Glad they reduced it to what ?? 13 months ?? 10 Dollar to the poor can stretch for 3 days. but to the Rich its like less than 3 secs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 can i ask a question: does anyone mind if the people below you get better pay than you, say you are not a specialist and you manage, do you pay your finance specialist, sales specialist, HR specialist, operations specialist all higher than you? in this case, can there be a minister who are not special trained (most of them also not trained in of the ministry they were in), but the people below getting 2x, 3x higher than the minister? but the minister job like a COE understand the need of the market and able to manage internally as well. One can easily say, i manage them, i give direction, i instruct, etc..... just asking how many willing? Now you see why other countries do not privatise state-run organisations. Cos when they are privatised the employees/employers get corporate pay. How to sustain these salaries of the civil servants? Prices must go up. This is created in such a way ministers cannot be seen getting lower pay dan their subordinates. They can setup whatever committee to review their pay but end of the day they will still get paid millions. Sure they can say by privatising will prevent widespread corruption and retain or attract talent. But at whose expense? It's the ppl will suffer especially those in the lower income group. Really no point arguing what kinda pay they should be getting. It's all set and done. What they are doing now is just to humour the ignorant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Now you see why other countries do not privatise state-run organisations. Cos when they are privatised the employees/employers get corporate pay. How to sustain these salaries of the civil servants? Prices must go up. This is created in such a way ministers cannot be seen getting lower pay dan their subordinates. They can setup whatever committee to review their pay but end of the day they will still get paid millions. Sure they can say by privatising will prevent widespread corruption and retain or attract talent. But at whose expense? It's the ppl will suffer especially those in the lower income group. Really no point arguing what kinda pay they should be getting. It's all set and done. What they are doing now is just to humour the ignorant. Actually more than that. They are still deriding and looking down the electorate. In effect, taking us all for fools. But if there's a better snake oil company in Singapore, I have yet to find it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Subject: David Marshall In 1994 (when PAP ministers started enjoying their high pay schemes):Well said ........ David Marshall. David Marshall In 1994 (when PAP ministers started enjoying their high pay schemes): I've got nothing against money. I'd like to have money myself! I'd like to have a house and a garden and dogs and a car and a chauffeur but, look, I've got a flat. I've got a swimming pool attached to the flat. I've not even got a car but I use taxis. I have a dignified way of life without being wealthy. I don't see the necessity of owning a Mercedes-Benz and a swimming pool and a couple of mistresses. I think we've got our values all wrong. ... Did Marshall really say that?? Now we know one of the main reasons for high pay...! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 High ministerial pay is here to stay whether we like it or not. What we should be focusing on is to install mechanism to screw the underperforming ministers. Accountability is key. Like in private sector. Sadly, this is shrewdly left out by the papers and the committee recommendations. I think so too. Actually I agree with one of the articles I read. IMHO, few people actually mind that the ministerial pay is high, if only they can turn in good results! It's only when there are screws-ups glossed over quickly, say sorry, then still expect high salary - I think this is what really turns people off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 I belive what CSM try to tell everyone is that if pay is the key factor to deter a talent from coming forward to serve, then is the best to lost that talent. Since that talent is only thinking about pay, he won't have the right altitude to serve the public. A simple and easy answer to what PAP have been trying to defence on high pay remuneration. + 1 on this. Fully agree. We dont want someone who doesnt have the right attitude. If he only think of $$, then he will be corrupted one day..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 who is the chio bu on the left? She's my MP leh! A new face in CCK GRC... Met her once in a coffeeshop near my place, quite a friendly lady. Went around shaking hand with all the store holders in the coffeeshop after her meal there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 13:00 onwards for chinese CSM speech in chinese is freaking impressive! Kudos! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 i have half of my mind to write an email to this Teo, and PM Lee and WP, and tell Teo about his brillant speech......... Stay tuned........ We wish you could persuade them stop robbing our children, like in USA and EU (look at their economies). CPF = Confirmed Proven Failure Board need the citizens to continuously bailing them out like EU... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 i've watched CSM's speech twice yesterday and going to watch it again now after sending the link to my colleagues..and YES! it's that good. CSM is really good... honestly met him twice in person at the Hainanese market in hougang Ave 3... he was really very very popular among all the residents there... he was down to earth and he really was a ppl man...(be it real or fake, he has won many over) sad to say, Cynthia Phua and Lim Hwee Hua were the exact opposite... they spoke like they were your boss, talking instructions to their followers... forgotten that we are the ones paying them... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 CSM is really good... honestly met him twice in person at the Hainanese market in hougang Ave 3... he was really very very popular among all the residents there... he was down to earth and he really was a ppl man...(be it real or fake, he has won many over) sad to say, Cynthia Phua and Lim Hwee Hua were the exact opposite... they spoke like they were your boss, talking instructions to their followers... forgotten that we are the ones paying them... How to compare a Rolls with a MIC car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 (edited) CSM is really good... honestly met him twice in person at the Hainanese market in hougang Ave 3... he was really very very popular among all the residents there... he was down to earth and he really was a ppl man...(be it real or fake, he has won many over) sad to say, Cynthia Phua and Lim Hwee Hua were the exact opposite... they spoke like they were your boss, talking instructions to their followers... forgotten that we are the ones paying them... At least I can see that Cynthia Phua is sincere to serve the people . She is not those type that tell her poorer voters to go eat at Peach Garden in order to appreciate what is value for money . I eat at some cheap Kopi Thiam at JB , service and quality of food is really value for money leh Edited January 17, 2012 by Jasonjst Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Sadly since the ruling party whip will not be lifted, this ministerial salary motion will pass despite what CSM & the other like-minded MPs argues given the overwhelming dominance they have in the parliament. Whatever it is, it is a good start as the limited number of oppo MPs have done what we have expected of them that is to provide some check & balance to the ruling party. Previously under the old system, our two valiant pioneers had not much say whatsoever and were easily brushed aside by them. The climate was very much different then.... [:(] The new team has done a helluva job so far so good job!!! Some bros will still express doubts the effect of a few oppo MPs but this is a start. We have to start some where right? Do not forget that we are hampered by the 60.1% of our fellow citizens who still want them for whatever reasons they have so we just have to be patient. If these lightning folks continue to behave like they used to be & still in Lalaland, let them.... We will see who has the last laugh. If any oppo MPs or their comrades are reading this, please be informed that you guys are doing a superb job so continue to question or raise doubts in the parliament if you deem any new motion or bill detrimental to the well being of Singaporeans. You will have our support. [wave] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Sadly since the ruling party whip will not be lifted, this ministerial salary motion will pass despite what CSM & the other like-minded MPs argues given the overwhelming dominance they have in the parliament. Whatever it is, it is a good start as the limited number of oppo MPs have done what we have expected of them that is to provide some check & balance to the ruling party. Previously under the old system, our two valiant pioneers had not much say whatsoever and were easily brushed aside by them. The climate was very much different then.... [:(] The new team has done a helluva job so far so good job!!! Some bros will still express doubts the effect of a few oppo MPs but this is a start. We have to start some where right? Do not forget that we are hampered by the 60.1% of our fellow citizens who still want them for whatever reasons they have so we just have to be patient. If these lightning folks continue to behave like they used to be & still in Lalaland, let them.... We will see who has the last laugh. If any oppo MPs or their comrades are reading this, please be informed that you guys are doing a superb job so continue to question or raise doubts in the parliament if you deem any new motion or bill detrimental to the well being of Singaporeans. You will have our support. [wave] Big thumbs up on this one - it's amusing to hear that the govt has already announced they will accept the proposal as it stands, yet they are having a debate. If like that, what's the point of the debate? An exercise in PR only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Big thumbs up on this one - it's amusing to hear that the govt has already announced they will accept the proposal as it stands, yet they are having a debate. If like that, what's the point of the debate? An exercise in PR only Bro we called it 做戏 or putting up a charade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Bro we called it 做戏 or putting up a charade 做戏 for 60.1%.... These grp of audience like to be 戏弄 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...