Evillusion Supersonic January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 LHL won't be Prime Minister today if not for the fact he is Lao Lee's son. I don't see him being the caliber to lead a nation. lao li is going to up loli ver soon [bigcry] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec79 6th Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 What a joke from the committee Took so long to derive the solution for pay cut only for wp to discover flaw in it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec79 6th Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Nw we can see who really have the calibre to answer our need Not every capable person is suitable for any job Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlstch Neutral Newbie January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 I belive what CSM try to tell everyone is that if pay is the key factor to deter a talent from coming forward to serve, then is the best to lost that talent. Since that talent is only thinking about pay, he won't have the right altitude to serve the public. A simple and easy answer to what PAP have been trying to defence on high pay remuneration. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ssbcc 1st Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 how dare you insult our GREAT LEADER LEE JR!! he is,and still holds the world record for fastest chao recruit to GENERAL! I thought that's Kim Jong Un? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 I thought that's Kim Jong Un? I dun think he has been a recruit to begin with Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 His Chinese parliament talk on salary without dub.... Tok Kong! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ssbcc 1st Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 I dun think he has been a recruit to begin with Oh I forgot, he was already general when he enlisted! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrc Neutral Newbie January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 We would have lost a great man serving us had he considered running for Taiwan elections instead... hahaha with his calibre... i would think he would win hands down... think if we throw him one on one against any MIW member, he might get the votes man... i've watched CSM's speech twice yesterday and going to watch it again now after sending the link to my colleagues..and YES! it's that good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigbadguy 1st Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Seriously hope the rate of those 60.1% Singaporean waking up is faster then the rate of FT that is coming in, If the balance is tilt towards the FT, we can safety say Singapore will never have another party winning the election ever =( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Very sucky for the PAP to always compare singaporeans std of living against other countries when there is problem like flooding, mass influx of FTs and SMRT issues. But when it comes to their own pay, suddenly we are barred from drawing examples from other countries. I can see that Lee Hsien Loong is trying hard to change some things but against some of the old boys on the team like this teo chee Xx something, he has a tough job in front of him. Good luck. And for ministers, they also get to have the MP allowance because UK's Westminster system also have this. Like the 26.5mths of bonus they are getting in a good year previously, not many citizens know this. When it is to their benefit yes they will have it but when not sorry not applicable as it is a "localized issue". Really speak volumes... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littleknown Clutched January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 High ministerial pay is here to stay whether we like it or not. What we should be focusing on is to install mechanism to screw the underperforming ministers. Accountability is key. Like in private sector. Sadly, this is shrewdly left out by the papers and the committee recommendations. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 High ministerial pay is here to stay whether we like it or not. What we should be focusing on is to install mechanism to screw the underperforming ministers. Accountability is key. Like in private sector. Sadly, this is shrewdly left out by the papers and the committee recommendations. Opps the 60% like it very much, most likely this group will continue to love them in 2016. All they need is to ask who like to eat Peah Garden Chye Tau Kuo , Kee Chew ? 59.9% will Kee Chew one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dice 3rd Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 (edited) Subject: David Marshall In 1994 (when PAP ministers started enjoying their high pay schemes):Well said ........ David Marshall. David Marshall In 1994 (when PAP ministers started enjoying their high pay schemes): I've got nothing against money. I'd like to have money myself! I'd like to have a house and a garden and dogs and a car and a chauffeur but, look, I've got a flat. I've got a swimming pool attached to the flat. I've not even got a car but I use taxis. I have a dignified way of life without being wealthy. I don't see the necessity of owning a Mercedes-Benz and a swimming pool and a couple of mistresses. I think we've got our values all wrong. You know $ 96,000 a month for a Prime Minister and $ 60,000 a month for a minister. What the hell do you do with all that money? You can't eat it! What do you do with it? Your children don't need all that money. My children have had the best of education. In fact, I'm very proud of them. One of them is a senior registrar to two major hospitals in Oxford . Another of them is a consultant in European law to the Securities and Investment Board in the United Kingdom . They've had their education. There are no complaints. I never earned $60,000 a month or $90,000 a month. When I was Chief Minister, I earned $8,000 a month. Look, what is happening today is we are encouraged to and are becoming worshippers of the Golden Calf. We have lost sight of the joy and excitement of public service, helping our fellow men. The joy and excitement of seeking and understanding the miracle of the living, the duty and the grandeur. We have lost taste for heroic action in the service of our people. We have become good bourgeois seeking comfort, security. It's like seeking a crystal coffin and being fed by intravenous injections through pipes in the crystal coffin; crystal coffins stuck with certificates of your pragmatic abilities. It's time we start to clean up Singapore politics and get rid of the greedy self-serving politicians. actually in a recent article i read, i felt sad that our government best effort to help the lowest income group on housing is to get them to share a flat while they benchmark themselves against the top 1000 earners... singapore (be it developing, developed or 3rd world) i am sure we have enough resources to help this small percentage of citizens, minimally with this housing off their mind, they can go help themselves with other necessity items like food and job. Edited January 17, 2012 by Dice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigbadguy 1st Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 High ministerial pay is here to stay whether we like it or not. What we should be focusing on is to install mechanism to screw the underperforming ministers. Accountability is key. Like in private sector. Sadly, this is shrewdly left out by the papers and the committee recommendations. I undertand what you are driving at and its a very good recommendation as it will push the minister to aim for higher performance. But IMO even if they have underperforming ministers, they will not declare it out and pay him/her as usual. You would not want to rock the boat by letting others know ur ministers is not performing. As this will affect thier next GE result and candidate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 actually in a recent article i read, i felt sad that our government best effort to help the lowest income group on housing is to get them to share a flat while they benchmark themselves against the top 1000 earners... singapore (be it developing, developed or 3rd world) i am sure we have enough resources to help this small percentage of citizens, minimally with this housing off their mind, they can go help themselves with other necessity items like food and job. you know what is the problem?? like the HDB income ceiling. those who just fall short of the mark will KPKB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 we must thank Aljunied GRC residents for sending WP into Parliament Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Mr CSM, patriot and hero of all Singaporeans. Whether you believe in him or not, it does not matter. He believes in YOU, Singapore!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...