Jiannshan Clutched January 15, 2012 Author Share January 15, 2012 To bros who suggested other brands. Here is my take. Again, im not a car guru, so im giving my tots based on my personal preference in looks or drive only. Bmw 3 - i dun like the cockpit Audi - my colleague driving. Dun wan to be same as her Is250 - my badass cousin driving tis with some ah beng modifications. Dun wan same car as him. Saab - didnt try Volvo - outlook dont appeal to me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiannshan Clutched January 15, 2012 Author Share January 15, 2012 U r thinking the old mark x Nope. The new one. I know its cheaper than the mercs but i quite like the drive, same goes to the c class. Tats y im wondering if i should pay more for mercs ;) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 Dear bros n sister, Hapi new year to all! Im kinda caught in a dilemma at the moment. My current ride is currently a 1.4l golf which i bought less than a year ago. Im intending to hand it to my wife or sell it away if she dun wan it n im thinking of getting either 1 of the above. I noe tat it is not a fair comparison but i have filtered down to just these 2 cars i like at the moment. Was wondering should i pay more for a c class or should i just go for the cheaper but maybe faster mark x? My buddy was telling me ' go for the c class la. mark x so uncle n not as classy as the c class. ( no offence to all mark x bros here ) :) Need some bros or sis here with experience in both cars above to give me some comments to make my choice. Intending to change before march tis yr. Thks all in advance n huat ah!! FYI the new C200 advance with technology is faster than the Mark X 2.5 v6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 audi A4 maybe good for u or new C200 also swee one... y dont u consider saab 9-5??? funny leh, Saab before toh tiew already spares hard to find compared to other makes and finding a good workshop hard also. Now toh tiew liao, situation gonna get worse, you want to tekan noob is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 funny leh, Saab before toh tiew already spares hard to find compared to other makes and finding a good workshop hard also. Now toh tiew liao, situation gonna get worse, you want to tekan noob is it? Hahaha play hard die hard, saab model so nice, play with saab cars la, then die with saab too lol just joking, i always remind my older gen and my young gen to avoid this weird endangered brand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 To bros who suggested other brands. Here is my take. Again, im not a car guru, so im giving my tots based on my personal preference in looks or drive only. Bmw 3 - i dun like the cockpit Audi - my colleague driving. Dun wan to be same as her Is250 - my badass cousin driving tis with some ah beng modifications. Dun wan same car as him. Saab - didnt try Volvo - outlook dont appeal to me. lol so u r going for a rare car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 anyway yeah can go for the c class Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 If i got so much money, i would be looking at the s350 le. ;p Thats a good idea. If you die die dun have to buy new then how about a second hand bigger Merc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 lexus>toyo merc>lexus so merc>toyo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 Go for C200. It is better than Mark X in all the departments! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cdior 1st Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 Buy EVO. Smoke Ur bada$$ cousin everytime u see him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 Buy EVO. Smoke Ur bada$$ cousin everytime u see him. Or buy a HSV. Smoke your tyres everywhere. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gohwilson Neutral Newbie January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 I happen to have the privilege to have both cars running in my family. I am driving the current Mark X GRX130 and my sister drives the W204 C180 Kompressor. Its not the latest CGI engine. In terms of power, My Mark X is more powerful than my sis's C180 because of its V6 engine. However, if you are considering the latest C200 CGI. It should be better than the C180K as the new engine is turbo charged. Both cars deliver power differently. Mark X is more linear as it is Naturally Aspirated. The C200 is turbo charge so power is less linear. In terms of handling and road holding, Mark X still has some way to go compared with the C200. C200 has agility control and with all German cars. High speed stability is better. But for refinement and comfort, Mark X is slightly better as the suspension is softer and the Lexus IS250 engine is so much quieter than the C200 engine. Fuel consumption for the new Mark X is surprisingly good. I manage on average 10-11km/l depending on how you drive it and also you are on highway or urban most of the time. The new Mark X has a different ECU setting compared to the older model and is around 10hp less than the older model to meet better emissions and also better fuel economy. It has a ECO button and also a ECO led and bar on the dash to let you see how economically you are driving. It definitely helps in terms of economy. My sis C180 averages around 10-11km/l also. But that is the C180K engine. I do not know if the C200 CGI is better or worse in terms of fuel economy. Mark X has a 6 Speed Electronic Control Transmission. The new C200 CGI will come with 7 speed 7-Gtronic transmission. In terms of equipment and specs, the new Mark X is not as bare as some of the others suggested. It depends on which model you choose. There is the GF package and there is the G package. For both package you get 9 airbags including 1 knee airbag as standard, C200 has 8 airbags. The G model also includes HID headlamps, driver and passenger electric seats w/o mem (C200 has memory), dual zone climate control, keyless entry and keyless start, leather steering wheel and gearknob, trip computer, optiron meters, VSC and traction control, 4 x one touch electric windows, electric folding mirrors, mood lighting interior, lighting on the footwells, audio controls on steering wheel. However, from factory all Mark X comes only in fabric seats. The leather seats will have to be locally fitted and the rims are only 16 inch. C200 does not have HID and keyless entry and keyless start and have 1 airbag less and does not have mood lighting and only 2 x one touch electric windows. But it does have cruise control, auto dimming mirrors. As for reliability, I have driven my Mark X for 65000km and it has no faults to speak of other than I changed brake pads and also the battery. My sis C180 has visited the agent to solve some steering rack issues and also some minor gearbox software issues as well. In terms of reliability Toyota and Lexus tops JD Power Survey time and time again, Mercedes has dropped to the bottom 10. It is climbing back up as they spend more money to solve their reliability problems. Hope the above helps, if you need more info, glad to help you. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 No bro. Coz im not really tat into cars. Duno anything bout omv etc. haha. As long as it is aesthetically appealing to me n it drives comfortably, im fine;) Yup, test drive both and see which one you feel comfortable with.... what other say are just their opinions, biased or unbiased is really beside the point, its your money and you are the one who will be using it.... so go ahead and test drive both models (or a few others as well if you like) and also do the sums using your own criteria, not the experts/laymen's here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 funny leh, Saab before toh tiew already spares hard to find compared to other makes and finding a good workshop hard also. Now toh tiew liao, situation gonna get worse, you want to tekan noob is it? forums = jungles Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Escksu Clutched January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 It depends on what you want. V6 power or just the badge? If badge, then go for C class. If V6, then Mark X. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limxiaoming 2nd Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 Wah very detailed... Thanks for the detailed analysis! TS should be able to take down a point or 2 from your write-up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 forums = jungles tio trapped inside. my ideal would be the W204 C300. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...