Merging Lanes

there are many SG drivers thinking by cutting one car, they can save alot of time...they dun like to queue...but i think more like ego thing...but jio them with my finger they hum chee...pui!!!!

Having been driving in SG for many years, I find that have to be aggressive in changing lane, if not, forever will not be able to change lane in busy road, with expectional random of car will purposly slow down to give way ( this I respect them ). I also do queue for exit but sometimes the entrance and exit is too close and I once I turn in and want to exit to the exit infront already had pack full of car queing and I thus no choice but to squeeze in.

Edited by Yewheng

Actually change lane fast and quick and without too much lost in speed that do not need driver behind to brake hard is more safe as compared to driver that is not agressive and keep want to find huge gap on the next lane than change lane, usually these driver are the one that is quite slow and speed difference actually can be quite big and make the driver behind brake hard just to accommodate for the driver lane change.

Sometimes it is not that driver do not want to give way, but if the speed difference is too great, by braking hard just to give way to the driver who want to lane change quite is dangerous and it may cause chain collision behind. There are also driver who misjudge speed of car and thought the car beside speed up to prevent him/her to lane change but actually he/she is the one that slow down just to lane change which make the driver more difficult to give way to him/her as the driver will have to brake even harder to let him/her to lane change.

So lane change also need to pick up some speed to at least match the car speed that intend to change to and it will be much easier to change lane. If the speed difference is too much difference, better stay in lane and change lane when there is chances of meeting little difference in car speed.

Edited by Yewheng

I do the positioning that you're talking about all the time. This is what happens:

Vehicles on two lanes approach a merge.

I take stock of who is in front, beside, behind me, and decide who I want to slot in behind.

Approach the target car, the aim is to be beside him, but still behind him (without overlap)

I hold this position as we drive over the merging arrows (signal if there's a tailgater behind the target car)

The vehicles behind me have seen that I have picked my merge position (even at the expense of not taking up space in front of me)

This seems to "influence" the other drivers to "take numbers" and begin to form up alternately to enter the merge zone smoothly

I do this on a daily basis coming in from Braddell Road onto Lornie Road. But don't get too hung up if someone is uncooperative. At the end of the day, it only costs you seconds to give way if someone wants to force the issue to merge ahead of you.

Macrosszero - Yours & Spicky posts are educational for those who have forgotten the basic highway code and/or are unsure regarding required action at merging lanes.

While the rule of the thumb is to allow queuing vehicles to move alternately into the single merged lane for a smooth flow of traffic, discretion is necessary when one encounters inconsiderate or inexperienced drivers.

This is what I will usually do:

a) As I approach towards the end of the 2 lanes, I will signal left or right to indicate my intention while moving towards the rear of the front car.

b) I will avoid overtaking the car in front even if there is a space allowing me to do so since doing so may compel him to move nearer to either side of the curb.

c) If the rear vehicle rushes to go ahead of me, I may allow him if there is sufficient space for him to allow me to move behind him safely.

d) Once I'm in the merged lane i.e. a single lane, I will cancel my signal maintain my position in the middle of the lane and disallow any other vehicle to 'push' me to either side of the curb.

Sometimes, if I have to complement my signal by lifting my hand to the rear driver to give way, I will do so.

Thus far, this practice has enabled me to merge smoothly in merging lanes. I hope more drivers in Singapore will practice safe and courteous driving for the sake of a more pleasant drive on our roads.

Hi

I am ahead of the car behind me. So it came to merge lane so i signal left and prepared to move in. but the car behind me instead of giving way wanted to speed up. so i had to brake. n even come to a full stop to let him go first.

Guess this has happened to many here? [laugh]

It happened to me twice recently. Both times involved taxis!

i encountered once when i am already ahead in the merging lane, and the car which was 45% degree beside me horned me. WTF? <_<

He expect me to slow down and wait for him speed up and overtake me?

Drive type r big Fxxx? LOL

its a norm..happened too many times to even bother..the interesting stuff is that after the vehicle speed up to overtake..in front is either heavy traffic or jam..and that vehicle have to jam brake..this kind of crazy people aplenty [hur]

Ya, i also encountered many times. Guess they just like the feeling of overtaking some vehicles. Make them feel "powerful" [laugh]

i think the worst kind is those who drive slow then when u want over take they speed up.

after they "block" u off, go back to old speed.

repeat again when u try to overtake...

merging lane very easy to block one..

Edited by Mllcg

Hi

I am ahead of the car behind me. So it came to merge lane so i signal left and prepared to move in. but the car behind me instead of giving way wanted to speed up. so i had to brake. n even come to a full stop to let him go first.

[confused] I am puzzled. If you were ahead in Lane 1, and Lane 2 traffic has to give, way. Why did you signalled left? You may be aware that left signal of yours can be interpreted as you were slowing down for under-taking by Lane 2 traffic.

You should maintain your straight ahead driving without signalling left (also used for slowing down signal).

something i like to ask esp newer drivers.

when u were learning to drive (L-Plate), and there is a car in front of u and signal to switch lane.

does ur driving instructor ask u to go straight w/o giving way to the car in front?

i like to know cos when i took my driving lesson (my time was still in Queenstown driving center - yes that long ago),

my driving instructor will jump at me if i didnt slow down and give way to cars changing lanes.

after so many years of driving i find drivers dont like to give way as long they think they hv the right of way in this last 10 years and more so recently. it cld be due to higher car population or higher pace today.

my tot is tt may be now driving schools teaches one no need to give way as long as u hv the right of way.

Singapore culture, we signal, people will speed up most of the time. Happens to me for the first 3 years of my driving.

But if you understand how the car movement works and know your car well, the positioning of the car when changing lanes .. merging lanes .. etc. will prevent the other driver from speeding up because his car will not have space to move front UNLESS he hits your rear. Anyone knows of this positioning technique too ?

watch some racing series...you will learn how to defend and make your car bigger...hahaha, but as a matter of fact, there is really something to learn from them.

something i like to ask esp newer drivers.

when u were learning to drive (L-Plate), and there is a car in front of u and signal to switch lane.

does ur driving instructor ask u to go straight w/o giving way to the car in front?

i like to know cos when i took my driving lesson (my time was still in Queenstown driving center - yes that long ago),

my driving instructor will jump at me if i didnt slow down and give way to cars changing lanes.

after so many years of driving i find drivers dont like to give way as long they think they hv the right of way in this last 10 years and more so recently. it cld be due to higher car population or higher pace today.

my tot is tt may be now driving schools teaches one no need to give way as long as u hv the right of way.

For me my instructor won't ask me to slow down just to let the guy in if he is beside me when he signal. But if he is a distance infront and he signal already then have to let him in.

I kena a few times, mostly taxis. It's easy to avoid accidents if you are aware of the cars surrounding you. If I see a car on the next lane (which trailing, say, half a car length from my car), I'll observe if it speeds up. If so, I'll just let it pass and slowly shift my car back to centre as by that time the road would be too narrow to allow two cars to pass safely.

If I am ahead, I sometimes speed up a bit to widen the gap between my car and his. It's give and take. I guess I am the lucky one as most of the time, I see cars taking turns to move into merging lane (whoever in front goes first).

For me my instructor won't ask me to slow down just to let the guy in if he is beside me when he signal. But if he is a distance infront and he signal already then have to let him in.

That's the right way. If he's a distance ahead, by all means, slow down and let him in... but if beside, sorry, no way.

Haiz old topic.

Encounter this kind of situation everyday. And yes, when I signal my intention to merge into the lane, some a-----e will chionging all the way from the back to the front to squeeze to gain that one car length advantage. I have to break hard to avoid brushing the vehicle.

Some folks love the thrill of squeezing. Like as if they are rushing to hell.

If the situation allows, I will 'merge' (drive on the line) right from the start. Giving little space for those a-----e to come up to squeeze.

Hi

If u check out such drivers, you realise they share rather similar physical traits. Usually obese, or ----, or -------, or all of these traits. Guess something in life makes them more bitter, and needing that slight upper hand when they can find it.

I think those who force to eat other lane is just plain stupid, especially if the driver is guys.

Why ? Merging lanes pretty much work like zipper, basically each car must take turn to form one lane (in case both lanes have cars).

However, with kiasu and kiasi, this simple thing also many people dont understand. everyday I always see this problem on the Bendemeer slip road to CTE(CIty) that merge with one from PIE, the road marking show clearly, 2 lanes at the left merge first, and then after become one lane it merge with the rightmost lane before go in to CTE, but many people from the middle lan always try to cut on the right lane.

[confused] I am puzzled. If you were ahead in Lane 1, and Lane 2 traffic has to give, way. Why did you signalled left? You may be aware that left signal of yours can be interpreted as you were slowing down for under-taking by Lane 2 traffic.

You should maintain your straight ahead driving without signalling left (also used for slowing down signal).

You are supposed to signal left if you are on the right side of the merging lane. This is taught in driving school. If on the left then signal right.