Vinceng Turbocharged January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Encountered an accident on way back from KL. Accident occured after Yong Peng. The Mitsubishi Grandis lady driver apparently fell asleep behind the wheels, drifting towards the centre divider, before smashing into it, and in her reflex, she counter steered left back to her lane, hit a Malaysian lorry before landing on its passenger side. The elderly lady front passenger was bleeding profusely on her head, as the lady driver (beside red car, making phone call), her maid and children made their way out of the MPV, uninjured. Motorists quickly stopped to render assistance. Luckily, a doctor happened to be travelling in the opposite direction and rendered help. The 15 men could not turn the MPV back on its wheels despite emptying the car of all its contents. The doctor and a few men then entered the MPV via its rear boot door and pulled the injured passenger out. The 15 men finally turned the MPV back on his 4 wheels after repeated attempts thereafter. There was a lot of liquid leaking out from the car engine. Thankfully, the MPV did not catch fire. Its front was totally smashed. The 2 front airbags must have helped, but this also emphasised the importance of side air bags, which could have protected the passenger's head when the MPV landed on its side. Must say the Grandis is a tough car. Malaysian Police arrived within 15 minutes and ambulance within 20 minutes. Impressive an defficient considering that the accident on the NS highway is a distance form the nearest town. Motorists travelling up North on long distance trip, please have enough rest and do stop at the several rest points along the way of you feel tired, or arrange to have a buddy driver to take over the wheels. Drive safe. You only live once. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 I would advise no matter whether you are driving long distance or short distance, and whether your car is a tough car or not. Do not attempt to drive at all if your are tired, sleepy and without sufficient rest. Falling asleep behind the wheels not only endanger yourself and the passengers in your car, it is also endanger to other road users. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Thats why I always speed on nshw ... speeding keep me awake and alert... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 @13177: Agree with you brother... @blackyv: yes for some people, speeding does help to keep a person awake.. my German friend told me that in Germany the speed they drive is super mad but you hardly hear people dozing off beind the wheel cos when you drive at 200 tendancy to sleep is not high unless you are throughly exhausted.... same logic applies like if jam on highway and crawl at 40km/h i also feel sleepy.. but do be careful at all times, cos you speed may also endanger other road user, not your skill problem but could be they kayu... @Vinceng: Is this article on newspaper or you helped? thanks for the article... feel sorry for those injuried but glad no super serious injuries... nice to see so many pple helped out, good spirit.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 surprised not to see ppl snatching things and run away leaving those injured inside unattended... police reached no ask for kopi lui 1st??? ambulance driver come no ask for ciggy??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 surprised not to see ppl snatching things and run away leaving those injured inside unattended... police reached no ask for kopi lui 1st??? ambulance driver come no ask for ciggy??? Malaysian people are generally more friendly and helpful batch, so it's no suprise they would rander help instead of snatch things and run away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Malaysian people are generally more friendly and helpful batch, so it's no suprise they would rander help instead of snatch things and run away. they help because the car was blocking the whole damn road and if it is not move to the side, nobody can pass. Yes, Malaysians are helpful but I am not so sure about the snatching and run away part Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Thats why I always speed on nshw ... speeding keep me awake and alert... Varying the driving speed can help to minimize the boring aspect of long distance driving but it is still better to take a rest at the many petrol kiosk along the NSHW. I will get out of the car and rest my bottom every hour because sitting for one hour is very numb on the bottom And I dont like to drive or ride with groups because all my group members like to "push on" even when they are tired saying that it it a waste of time, sigh ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Timely reminder, especially more people will going up North during the coming festive season. Really, don't see the point of not taking a short breaks. I find, part of the 'fun' of a driving trip is the stop-over breaks, having a drink and some snacks/food, etc. It's holiday after all..take it leisurely...no need to rush. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear January 14, 2012 Share January 14, 2012 People like her need to stay off the road and turn in their license. Never treat the NSH like the PIE or ordinary expressways. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turboguy 5th Gear January 14, 2012 Share January 14, 2012 Thats why I always speed on nshw ... speeding keep me awake and alert... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 they help because the car was blocking the whole damn road and if it is not move to the side, nobody can pass. Yes, Malaysians are helpful but I am not so sure about the snatching and run away part [laugh] Got logic, got logic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 u mention that there is a passenger sitting next to the driver.. wondering what is he/she thinking when notice the car drifting...or have anyone notice the drfting in the first place... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qms Neutral Newbie January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 u mention that there is a passenger sitting next to the driver.. wondering what is he/she thinking when notice the car drifting...or have anyone notice the drfting in the first place... Passengers are usually the first ones that fall asleep...bcoz they expect to be in the "good hands" of the driver. If the driver also fall asleep, well.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 surprised not to see ppl snatching things and run away leaving those injured inside unattended... police reached no ask for kopi lui 1st??? ambulance driver come no ask for ciggy??? is a sinkie mentality but most of the time, dare not do it. malaysians are very helpful. there are few bad apples, no different from any other country. my dad once had his car overturned down a slope between temerloh and jerantut. car went round and round dunno how many turns. he was carrying rm2000 in rm50 bills and it was all over the hill slope. the pple who came to help, they actually picked up all the bills (amazingly, all recovered) and returned to the police station, who returned to my dad. this was back in early 80s so can u imagine how much amount that was? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 @13177: Agree with you brother... @blackyv: yes for some people, speeding does help to keep a person awake.. my German friend told me that in Germany the speed they drive is super mad but you hardly hear people dozing off beind the wheel cos when you drive at 200 tendancy to sleep is not high unless you are throughly exhausted.... same logic applies like if jam on highway and crawl at 40km/h i also feel sleepy.. but do be careful at all times, cos you speed may also endanger other road user, not your skill problem but could be they kayu... @Vinceng: Is this article on newspaper or you helped? thanks for the article... feel sorry for those injuried but glad no super serious injuries... nice to see so many pple helped out, good spirit.... You tell to TP whenever they catch you speeding ... Truth is, speed dont kill... It is kuku driving that does.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 is a sinkie mentality but most of the time, dare not do it. malaysians are very helpful. there are few bad apples, no different from any other country. my dad once had his car overturned down a slope between temerloh and jerantut. car went round and round dunno how many turns. he was carrying rm2000 in rm50 bills and it was all over the hill slope. the pple who came to help, they actually picked up all the bills (amazingly, all recovered) and returned to the police station, who returned to my dad. this was back in early 80s so can u imagine how much amount that was? Have we ever call MYS as FT when they come to Singapore??? They are our friend... Only a few rotten apples and these rotten apples can be anywhere... Some Singaporean are shameless & dogmatic... Singaporean became target list of MYS robbers got reasons... Go to MYS/JB shopping, shout cheap cheap here, cheap cheap there... Not target list meh???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holdenutessv Turbocharged January 17, 2012 Share January 17, 2012 Good thing that they helped. See, not all Malaysians are bad. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...