Rogersk8ter 1st Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Be warned of Zen windows tinting at 282 macpherson rd, read on before u decide.Done up my front 3 pcs windows film at Zen abt 2 months ago, when done found green chemical stains on the dashboard due to removing of previous film, jimmy applied some oil for me to cover the stain, apparently, the cloth wasn't placed properly and resulted in lots of stains on dashboard.. I hope some kind souls help me understand this as well..... do one need to use chemical to remove film? sorry i no exp in this. and when there is chemical stain on the dash, normal for one to apply some oil(what oil is this?) to cover the stain. not trying to nit pick but really dun understand for me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 I think "amplifier" = "compressor". LOL, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swiftee Clutched January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 I think T.S is referring to compressor too. Amplifer for audio leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Czchome Neutral Newbie January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 I think air con amplifier is like air con ECU unit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 14, 2012 Share January 14, 2012 Thought school holiday over? Looks like a cut and paste story It is easy to point figure when you did something before a another thing break down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 14, 2012 Share January 14, 2012 so water leak from dashboard all the to the engine bay to reach the "amplifier"......water really flows Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMmaomao 6th Gear January 14, 2012 Share January 14, 2012 Ts kpkb about their lousy workmanship of installing the flim which lead to his watever aircon breaks down, in the end still tell the boss to compensate 300 plus installing a set of solar film???? si mi lan... Seriously TS, wat's the purpose of u posting this thread? to be flame? or gain attention? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
987 1st Gear January 14, 2012 Share January 14, 2012 (edited) Your hard to read posting mentioned that you repaired it with parts from scrapyard but it die again when u are in KL. so what was replaced and what was not? seems like your car is dying in the first place.. and i find it funny that you would sell a car just because there's no air con. there could be a chance that moisture from the process of removal and installation (more likely the installation) of the solar film, cause electrical items in the car to fry. but have to agree that why he has to sell away the car just because the air-con kaput. not that serious enough that one has to sell the car because aircon do not work. aside to ts, a great deal of motor parts can be ordered thru ebay. Edited January 14, 2012 by 987 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qaz20 3rd Gear January 16, 2012 Author Share January 16, 2012 Let me try to answer your questions.Aircon amplifier is a PCB board that handles all the Aircon control. Without it,all the control in the front panel cannot work. I'm driving a mark x. Why I sell car because of Aircon? This Aircon thing alone is killing me, and I dun know what other electrical problem is going to surface from this car after this incident. Why tinting can cause this to happen?Tinting uses water, and too much water could have gotten into places that it shouldn't have been.If u think it's not possible, then try tinting your car without putting any cloth on your dash. U may choose to believe my story or not, like I say, I can vouch for it. All that I mentioned in this post is the truth. U can Ho at your own risk.This may be a popular shop, good friendly service and attitude, lots of forumer supported them. And I'm also recommended by friend. What I'm trying to highlight here is the way things are being handled when something goes wrong.So u can choose to go and take the risk. Or maybe I'm just plain unlucky that it happened to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qaz20 3rd Gear January 16, 2012 Author Share January 16, 2012 Why sell car due to Aircon kaput?Think abt this, if your auto transmission is not smooth and u think it's almost failing, and u managed to get it fixed. Will u still feel safe driving the car? Worried that one day the transmission will die on u. Will u change car? My case is, I'm not sure what else is going to come, and lots of parts are not available instantly locally for PI cars especially electrical PCB boards that seldom fail, I really dun feel safe driving it anymore. Feels really sad as this is my first car that I bought new. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qaz20 3rd Gear January 16, 2012 Author Share January 16, 2012 Anyway, just my luck.. Just sharing my bad experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vooth 2nd Gear January 16, 2012 Share January 16, 2012 I pity the next owner of the Mark X.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear January 16, 2012 Share January 16, 2012 (edited) Just curious how old is your Mark X ? For me I never buy PI car for the past 15 cars i had owned, rather get pre-owned used cars originated from AD. Both my current used car, all from agent. I did my car with them last sep. Luckily no need to remove film coz no film in the 1st place. Overall ok experience except that the tint in front is not as dark as my the other car. Should have paid a bit more for the "branded" tints that is slightly darker in front yet pass LTA spec Edited January 16, 2012 by Amazon777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beyondaction Neutral Newbie January 16, 2012 Share January 16, 2012 Hi there, it is really unfortunate that such an incident happened to you. I had my solar films installed by Zen as well on my Oct 05 Alfa and I have no issues at all. Probably this is an one off case which may not be totally Zen's fault. If other film installers are using the same methods to remove and install films, does it occur to you that this might happen as well? I understand your emotions, and I would have felt the same way if I'm in your shoes. I guess it is up to anyone's opinion whose fault it is at the end of the day. Hope you are feeling better after venting your frustrations through this forum. Have a good day and happy CNY ahead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Escksu Clutched January 16, 2012 Share January 16, 2012 Yo, how much you selling the Mark X? I wan to buy. Aircon kaput nevermind for me. I hardly use aircon anyway. I can get it repaired easily. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 16, 2012 Share January 16, 2012 The TS story make sense except he wants the installer to do the tinting on his NEW car. Not worried new car aircon will also kaput? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear January 16, 2012 Share January 16, 2012 Your hard to read posting mentioned that you repaired it with parts from scrapyard but it die again when u are in KL. so what was replaced and what was not? seems like your car is dying in the first place.. and i find it funny that you would sell a car just because there's no air con. That's not funny! I sold my first car because the air-con died on me after i sent for servicing. And the car was barely 3 yrs old... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigbadguy 1st Gear January 16, 2012 Share January 16, 2012 Could it be just a case of fuse blow due to water and short circuit? I ever have some customer which after doing LED fuse blow. the fuse for radio, dash board meter, head light, are the common ones to blow due accidental short. I even have friend coming to me telling me workshop propose them to replace whole car wiring due to power over load and causing the head light to be burn, The workshop even put in a lower rating fuse to prove to him it will short zzzz. I just replace a correct rating fuse for him and everything is up and ready. Headlight working normally again with no issues for years. Some work shop just wanna rip you off by changing the whole unit when its only a small fuse blow. Whats the use of a fuse if a short circuit can spoil your electrical system, ;) And for those that are not electrically sound will sure kanna con in changing. This is my guess only, Maybe that workshop has already done a check and its really the aircon spoil :( ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...