Scb11980 1st Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 everything in Singapore needs money sometimes pai sai or pee pee also kena empty pocket for coins There are limits to what we can do, says Case chief 13 Jan 2012 Straits Times AS A consumer movement, the Consumers Association of Singapore (Case) provides help to consumers within the limits of our resources as a non-governmental organisation ('Fitness club's Catch-22 policy for under-21 applicants' by Ms Josephine Lau; Forum Online, Jan 5). Let me explain what we do, and why we do it. We run a hotline and provide counter services to those who need our advice on consumer-related matters. These services are free. Last year, we attended to 18,178 such queries. Some consumers want us to resolve their disputes with businesses. We are a membership-based body, hence the consumers need to join us to give us the legal basis to represent them. When we take on a case, we will set aside time and resources to understand the dispute, write to the business, and try to negotiate a settlement. The membership fee covers part of the costs. And while we have a strong track record of successful claims of more than $3.5 million for the past few years, we cannot guarantee favourable settlements in all instances. It is not possible for us to do so. There are also those who want us to write to the businesses, but they do not need our help to see through their cases. These include cases under the Fair Trading Act where consumers can make their own claims. For these, we will, as a one-time effort, interview the consumer to understand the nature of the dispute and write to the business stating the grounds of the consumer's claim. For this service, we charge an administrative fee of $10 to cover our costs. We provided help to 2,666 such consumers last year. Yeo Guat Kwang President Case ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Finally they admit they are just barking dogs, bark loud but no bite. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Finally they admit they are just barking dogs, bark loud but no bite. don't like that la, at least there is some achievement "we have a strong track record of successful claims of more than $3.5 million" but I don't know what's unsuccessful amount Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 don't like that la, at least there is some achievement "we have a strong track record of successful claims of more than $3.5 million" but I don't know what's unsuccessful amount And they only mentioned 'past few years'. Being sheepish about figures here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 What took you so long to realize this? (Everything need money) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 this is papaya yeo is as useless too former teacher turned politician i dun have good impression of him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 (edited) We run a hotline and provide counter services to those who need our advice on consumer-related matters. These services are free. Last year, And while we have a strong track record of successful claims of more than $3.5 million for the past few years, we cannot guarantee favourable settlements in all instances. It is not possible for us to do so. For these, we will, as a one-time effort, interview the consumer to understand the nature of the dispute and write to the business stating the grounds of the consumer's claim. For this service, we charge an administrative fee of $10 to cover our costs. We provided help to 2,666 such consumers last year. Yeo Guat Kwang President Case first say free, than say $10? where can i go to complain about CASE in such case... recovered 3.5mill? show proof.... never heard of anyone successfully claim back any $ before Edited January 13, 2012 by Tom_kkh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 He is trying to imply, Don't Call Them ...... they aso LPPL, can't do much ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark 5th Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 A tooth-less tiger cannot bite. There is no political will or motivation to create a real consumer watchdog. Case is there just to fulfill the minimum requirement in case we say our gahmen did nothing. This shows how our gahmen cares for the people (or rather the lack of it). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tuna_seng Clutched January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Yeo Guat Kwang is the MP with 64 other jobs. He is a very busy man! Cannot help you! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 everything in Singapore needs money sometimes pai sai or pee pee also kena empty pocket for coins What is pai sai? Is it line up the sh*t? WTF?! Who does that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 He is trying to imply, Don't Call Them ...... they aso LPPL, can't do much ... here power to act or maintain fairness is controlled by we-know-who, if they feel consumers are not as important as businesses, sorry relative to other developed countries, sgp's consumers' rights has not been born yet, sad but true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rubberstamp Neutral Newbie January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 A tooth-less tiger cannot bite. There is no political will or motivation to create a real consumer watchdog. Case is there just to fulfill the minimum requirement in case we say our gahmen did nothing. This shows how our gahmen cares for the people (or rather the lack of it). to be very honest, i think i will still s--t in my pants if i am placed in a cage with a hungry but toothless tiger. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 to be very honest, i think i will still s--t in my pants if i am placed in a cage with a hungry but toothless tiger. why ? ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 *Yawn* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 You mean you will work for free? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Finally they admit they are just barking dogs, bark loud but no bite. Come on lah! What do you expect them to do with 10 bucks as admin fee? Engage your own lawyer to fight your case if you must. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark 5th Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 to be very honest, i think i will still s--t in my pants if i am placed in a cage with a hungry but toothless tiger. In that CASE, they are not even toothless tiger, maybe sick cat (pun intended) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...