Mustank Hypersonic January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 What does Tan Meng Wah for the Straits Time means? In any case, I dont see the usual disclaimer from ST saying: these are strictly the author's view. we have no part in this crap apart from printing this piece of shiit ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 What does Tan Meng Wah for the Straits Time means? In any case, I dont see the usual disclaimer from ST saying: these are strictly the author's view. we have no part in this crap apart from printing this piece of shiit it's just his opionion what, besides in china, most residential property is 60 year leasehold, why you so angry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khyber Neutral Newbie January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 it's just his opionion what, besides in china, most residential property is 60 year leasehold, why you so angry Why compare to the side that worse than us? Why you dont compare to Malaysia/Thai/Indo which most residential property are freehold. Fifty years for close to million dollar property???? You need to have living condition near heaven to make people commit to it man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 to home owners, its really not about 66yrs or 99 yrs its about 300K or 400K and 1K/mth or 1.5K/mth so if people think they can afford 1.5K a month, they will still bid in the higher range, regardless if its a 66 yr IMO la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Provided HDB sell us at half price for 50 yrs lease. 360K for 5 room become 180K, 250K for 4 room become 125K. Buyers don't have to take 30 yrs loan, just take 15 yrs and still enjoy 35 yrs of loan free. Problem is what happen after 50 yrs. The value become zero and owner got to find another hse? Assuming if buy the flat at 30, when u reach 80 yrs old u become homeless again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Provided HDB sell us at half price for 50 yrs lease. 360K for 5 room become 180K, 250K for 4 room become 125K. Buyers don't have to take 30 yrs loan, just take 15 yrs and still enjoy 35 yrs of loan free. Problem is what happen after 50 yrs. The value become zero and owner got to find another hse? Assuming if buy the flat at 30, when u reach 80 yrs old u become homeless again. Pay money to renew lease. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Why compare to the side that worse than us? Why you dont compare to Malaysia/Thai/Indo which most residential property are freehold. Fifty years for close to million dollar property???? You need to have living condition near heaven to make people commit to it man. dun be daft, obviously cut the leasehold so that it becomes more affordable for more, and why don't you give up your singaporea citizenship and be a thai citizen.....this cutting of lease is also not new....there is lease buyback for retires who need money Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subutai 3rd Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Nb... another smart alec. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Actually i foresee HDB going to have big headache in the next 10-20 yrs, a large portion of the aging flats will reach >60 yrs. What are they going to do with them? En-block, finding space in existing estate to relocate the resident...big headache! Unlikely they will adopt 50yrs lease, it will only snow ball their problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Pay money to renew lease. U expect aging ppl to cough out $$? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Yeah, nothing new, HK, CHINA pty are 30+30 or 50 years tenure. Besides, most of us changed cars in less than 1-2 years, some even few months, I guess pty is no exception, it gives a clearer distinction of knowing how long one need to live/ and move-on to next since we have BTO/DBSS or EC who has T&C on MOP, so much restriction to abide by . . . It will be a topic for good discussion though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 U expect aging ppl to cough out $$? Not I expect, gahmen expect. This purely technical and legal point of view. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route Clutched January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 drop the price of HDB i dont mind.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unidentified 1st Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 (edited) Actually i foresee HDB going to have big headache in the next 10-20 yrs, a large portion of the aging flats will reach >60 yrs. What are they going to do with them? En-block, finding space in existing estate to relocate the resident...big headache! Unlikely they will adopt 50yrs lease, it will only snow ball their problems. no wonder i see more and more 1rm hdb studio apartment being built..so it's for the old penniless and homeless.more good years ahead. when old,you are dumped to 1rm hdb and left to rot n die there. thank you for contributing to our nation building.. building multi millionaires in the parliament and their GCBs. Edited January 13, 2012 by Unidentified Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 it's just his opionion what, besides in china, most residential property is 60 year leasehold, why you so angry even private condos in HK have shorter lease than 99yrs.... our govt likes to take money from us 99 yrs in advance coz the land title lease is a kind of pre-paid rental for 99yrs or whatever duration is given. a shorter lease costs less to the buyer although the flip side is that there's no certainty what will happen when the lease expires. In general, HK land leases can be topped up on yearly basis upon expiry of the original lease. ie owners of older HK condos which have their orig lease expired are now paying yearly top-up and continue to stay in the condos. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 Actually i foresee HDB going to have big headache in the next 10-20 yrs, a large portion of the aging flats will reach >60 yrs. What are they going to do with them? En-block, finding space in existing estate to relocate the resident...big headache! Unlikely they will adopt 50yrs lease, it will only snow ball their problems. HDB is under MND. MBT 'got out' before hot issues like this face HDB/MND Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 even private condos in HK have shorter lease than 99yrs.... our govt likes to take money from us 99 yrs in advance coz the land title lease is a kind of pre-paid rental for 99yrs or whatever duration is given. a shorter lease costs less to the buyer although the flip side is that there's no certainty what will happen when the lease expires. In general, HK land leases can be topped up on yearly basis upon expiry of the original lease. ie owners of older HK condos which have their orig lease expired are now paying yearly top-up and continue to stay in the condos. Interesting information, perhaps we can learn from hk.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 13, 2012 Share January 13, 2012 (edited) do you think the price will be cut by half then? Seriously, I think at most 20+% only. In the end, we are still being "short-changed". IIRC, currently HedgeDeeBee already has those studio apartment. Think they are on 30-year leasehold only, but look at the price. Edited January 13, 2012 by Kangadrool ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...