Adwin Neutral Newbie January 11, 2012 Share January 11, 2012 Recently, wifey complain that our car has become more bouncy. I attribute that to me pumping the car tyres to a higher pressure. However she insist that the car suspension is not good already. My question is how to know if the suspension has EOL already? Is there any test i can do to determine? or only the workshop guys will know? Thanks in advance for any inputs. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanchiam 1st Gear January 11, 2012 Share January 11, 2012 if suspension no good, it should be stuck and unable to bounce, correct me if i am wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear January 11, 2012 Share January 11, 2012 what i heard is u push down your car. if the car goes up and stop, suspension still good. if more movement then that, suspension gone liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear January 11, 2012 Share January 11, 2012 The right term should be the shock absorbers, suspension refers to the entire thing that are suspense from the body, from the arms, struts, wheels, springs and etc. Ok, how to know if the shocks are gone? Ride over the humps, if the car bounce a few times, means shocks gone. Because under normal operating condition, the shocks should control the bounce to only once or twice and stops. If you turn a corner like you normally would and felt that the car is floating, means shocks gone also. Hope it helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimplyTWL 1st Gear January 11, 2012 Share January 11, 2012 If shock absorber jammed, or visible leaks or when go over humps, the car bounce like nobody business means absorber very likely gone.. The stock spring can last a very long time, in fact may also last the whole lifetime of the car.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 11, 2012 Share January 11, 2012 If shock absorbers gone, if dont change will there be any danger or problem? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobochevy Neutral Newbie January 12, 2012 Share January 12, 2012 Hi guy, i want to know what making my car one side lower n the other side higher by one finger? Check my tyre pressure already but ok.. Izzit my suspension? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 12, 2012 Share January 12, 2012 If got visible leakage means it's more or less gone... Gas-filled ones see no leakage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 12, 2012 Share January 12, 2012 If shock absorbers gone, if dont change will there be any danger or problem? Your/driver's life at stake Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear January 12, 2012 Share January 12, 2012 If shock absorbers gone, if dont change will there be any danger or problem? Yes. Different manufacturers for different makes of vehicles would recommend certain mileage or years (whichever is earlier) for change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear January 12, 2012 Share January 12, 2012 If car starts scrapping road humps means gone. Another is if you or passengers starts having headache aka groggy after a spin means shock absorber gone too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 12, 2012 Share January 12, 2012 Usually there will be a seal to keep the lube in place. No? Leaking means u see the lube oil, not the gas from the absorber. Puzzled by your mention of lube oil. I believe many/most shock absorbers are gas-filled these days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 12, 2012 Share January 12, 2012 (edited) If car starts scrapping road humps means gone. Another is if you or passengers starts having headache aka groggy after a spin means shock absorber gone too. + car rattles over uneven roads (bone-shaker) Seen in Johore last year, a tall van infront travelling on 2-wheels at a time. The road was uneven. so only 2 wheels was on the road as that van travelled on 2 nearside wheels, rocked over to the 2 offside wheels, and repeat the cycle all along the uneven road. Edited January 12, 2012 by Good-Carbuyer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear January 12, 2012 Share January 12, 2012 (edited) Bro.....may i ask. If the car going over humps, gives a "hmmm" sound from the front. Means what ? Its some sort of compression sound from front tyre area. i only know my sonata Front left side upper and lower arm needs to be replaced, as advised by a Harmony/Ah Huat. Is that what is causing the sound ? And it's quite loud by the way. Edited January 12, 2012 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged January 12, 2012 Share January 12, 2012 Hi guy, i want to know what making my car one side lower n the other side higher by one finger? Check my tyre pressure already but ok.. Izzit my suspension? Has it alway been like that from day 1? If so, likely it was designed with such known 'problem'. Some car designed primarily for left-hand drive may placed a little more weight to the right, factoring in that the weight of driver will counter the 'imbalance'. But such things are usually done cos of limitation of engine bay space. Otherwise, either your spring (likely) or shocks is gone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear January 12, 2012 Share January 12, 2012 Puzzled by your mention of lube oil. I believe many/most shock absorbers are gas-filled these days. ehhh most shock absorbers are still hydraulics based one lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 12, 2012 Share January 12, 2012 Bro.....may i ask. If the car going over humps, gives a "hmmm" sound from the front. Means what ? Its some sort of compression sound from front tyre area. i only know my sonata Front left side upper and lower arm needs to be replaced, as advised by a Harmony/Ah Huat. Is that what is causing the sound ? And it's quite loud by the way. Can observe after the replacement done? I have not yet had such encounter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluetree Neutral Newbie January 12, 2012 Share January 12, 2012 I remember ever driving toyato soluna (can't really remember the correct spelling) quite a long time ago, the car was very bouncy after going over hump. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...