Most Bizarre: Fined for stock number plate and window tint

Ahtong

A strange case I found in VW forum:

Hi guys,

I find it extremely ridiculous to be fined by LTA for the above.

Place of Offence: Home / Basement Carpark

Time of Offence: Morning

Car: Fully stock

Excerpt from Traffic Offence letter:

qrkdgp.jpg

Front view of car:

34jbo9e.jpg

Side view of car:

24zdmc3.jpg

Vehicle number plate (Front):

mt3yn7.jpg

Vehicle number plate (Back):

fz4v45.jpg

called LTA hotline and requested for explanation on this issue but their replies were dissatisfactory so far. So far, I was attended to by 3 persons in total.

The first person advised me on the hotline that it could be because my number plate not LTA compliance. I told him its an original number plate given by VW - how could it be not LTA compliant? He escalated this issue higher and shortly I got a call from another person.

The second guy told me that this is an issue on VW side and I should settle with VW. He also told me that it could be because my number plate is not fully compliant with the White/Yellow requirement (Hello? in the first place, my number plate is black based and not yellow or white!).

Again, I told him this is the standard number plate that VW issued and if it is not compliance, does that means all the vcs cars are not compliant? He replied, saying he will check with his superior.

VCS sold 10,000 cars in SG liao leh... bo ko leng right?

Last afternoon, I got a call again from the third person (the superior?), he told me that my number plate was indeed YELLOW. I asked, if he has any photos as evidence as I told him that's impossible and I even double verified with him my VRN. And.. he told me yes, he is seeing yellow on the photos.

Next, I questioned him about the fine on tinted windows as well, as I told him that my car is fully stock. And I was told that my windows (factory oem) may not be LTA compliant. I told him how could that be since the car is directly from VCS?

He told me he will send the same guy down to verify. I requested for an immediate appointment on last evening (Fri) or Sat morning, and he is supposed to get back to me by last evening. Till now, no news yet.

I'm starting to wonder what kind of camera they are using... ? Or do they even have the photos on their hand? If my number plate appears yellow to them, I wonder how does my CW Roc will look in the photos!!

Please share your views.

Then in another thread, it was discovered that some black plates show up as yellow when the pic is taken.

2ezh36d.png4qh5pi.jpg

Wan Pao says owner never buy 7878, so did not win the second prize, which many wanpao reader won untill the underground lottery gang only willing to pay out 40% of the winnings value each.

Smelly LTA and Smelly underground 4D gang!!

Edited by SimonTan

I assume the owner parked his vehicle at a private condominium's basement carpark.

Why would LTA be doing checks there anyway? Are they even allowed to enter the premises?

Another possibility is that a member of the public who is also a resident of the private condominium lodged a fraudulent complaint against the vehicle's owner with warped images as evidence?

Ma Hou Pao.

How to convince LTA that the owner DID not change back to black licence plate and remove the dark tinting.

I thought innocent until proven guilty....visually how to check the dark tint....must use the light-meter right?

The problem has been resolved.

So... the story goes on.

The LTA officer came down at noon today. According to the superior (third person I spoke to), he sent the same officer down.

We had a short conversation before he started on his official procedures.

I was surprised that he was aware that my VRN came up on 4D First Prize. He told me that they received a complaint, so they had to come down.

Then, he took out his meter and camera to check and photograph the windows. He told me it was different from what he saw that day, probably due to a different parking lot in the same carpark. He also told me that he THINKS what he saw today was black.

The officer also told me that when he came that day, he took photo of my car number plate, the front number plate was yellow in colour. He affirmed strongly that my number plate was really yellow.... what's wrong with their eyes?!?!

He also showed me the photos he took on his last visit. I requested to see the photo of my YELLOW number plate.. but all he could tell me was that the yellow number plate photo wasn't inside the camera (but the rest of the photos are)...

Wtf man .... :wacko:

On 1/11/2012 at 6:47 AM, Jman888 said:

just drive down to LTA/TP HQ and get the biggest guy there to confirm the offence :D

Maybe, Mr Liu T. Y. can answer why????

Afterall, he is from the Transport Ministry. [sly]

Bro ah tong

I urge you to complain even still through the above channels. This is what i would do if such an incident has occured to me.

It is clear that this officer is lying and wasting everyone's time especially for someone important like you.

If he is unable to substantiate his claims then he should in no way wave them around and cause needless distress to any owner.

This is an utter lack of professionalism and a clear incidence of negligence in the conduct of his duty as an enforcement officer.

On 1/11/2012 at 8:56 AM, Picnic06 said:

Maybe, Mr Liu T. Y. can answer why????

Afterall, he is from the Transport Ministry. [sly]

dun any small small thing also call the MIW :angry: :angry:

teach him a lesson here

Deputy Director, InvestigationsMdm Diane CHOW Yin

65535455 diane_chow@lta.gov.sg

Director, Enforcement & InvestigationsTAN Hiok Seng, PPA(G)

65535305 hiok_seng_tan@lta.gov.sg

Cc to lta feedback email

Uncle, read! ah tong not the owner, only quoted from other forum -_-

On 1/11/2012 at 9:01 AM, Cerano said:

Bro ah tong

I urge you to complain even still through the above channels. This is what i would do if such an incident has occured to me.

It is clear that this officer is lying and wasting everyone's time especially for someone important like you.

If he is unable to substantiate his claims then he should in no way wave them around and cause needless distress to any owner.

This is an utter lack of professionalism and a clear incidence of negligence in the conduct of his duty as an enforcement officer.

Pai seh didnt read

Bro ah tong pls forward my above posts to the vagsg thread. This joker must be taught a lesson.

Black and yellow is very different. Cant be he go and take photos of every black plate vehicle he see right?

' timestamp= said:

4198009[/url]']

y cant LTA just show the owner the foto they took which reflected the yellow plate?

More important is why did the officer aim that car specifically to start with given that its clear the tint is not very dark u still can see through.

Cant be he photograph every black car plate