Per Trip Auto Insurance for Breakdown

Surf2004

I drive to Malaysia once a year. Is there a per trip car breakdown insurance such that it'll include towing back to Singapore in case of breakdown and also roadside assistance like tyre puncture and flat battery ? One trip per year doesn't justify for the AAS membership.

TIA !

Never heard of such type of insurance before leh? Only ones are the travel insurance whereby its for a one-off overseas tour that type.

But if really there's such type of insurance, I would like to know too.

I drive to Malaysia once a year. Is there a per trip car breakdown insurance such that it'll include towing back to Singapore in case of breakdown and also roadside assistance like tyre puncture and flat battery ? One trip per year doesn't justify for the AAS membership.

TIA !

Try checking your car insurance policy. Some policy provide assistance when overseas, of course charges apply.

TIA !

If its tow back to SG...remember to have your log card with the tow driver...if not will have hellva time clearing customs.

If you drive a 4WD....tow one time already make back the membership liao.

If you engage external towing service and tow from KL to SIN....the price you pay is enough for you to pay for lifetime membership in AAS. It is not going to be cheap...you may want to send the car to a workshop there and repair instead.

Preventive measure is still your best bet....go for a checkup a week before your trip up north to ensure that all is well. A friend of mine service his car 1 week ahead and one night before he drove up...he discovered that his engine oil leak until jialat jialat....lucky I found a workshop who work late at nite to help rectify the fault.

eTiQa (Maybank) has a Drive to Malaysia insurance cover.

Most of the benefits I see are "Assistance or Referral" basis only, meaning to say, costs are still on insured account.

Vehicle repatriation is limited to $500 max only, which imo is far off from actual amount in total it is going to cost you.

some credit cards offer breakdown services for their cardholders. The other option is travel insurance..Alternatively you can get motor insurance that covers break down even when aboard. If I remember correctly, I think dbs motor insurance has that option..